We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fernhill Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Crown Hotel(Portpatrick)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Knockinaam Lodge(Portpatrick)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glenapp Castle(Ballantrae)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Downshire Hotel(Portpatrick)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveller rating
239
83
25
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
239
83
25
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfirst classon arrivalnewer partdining roomold fashioneda bit tiredportpatrick harbourexcellent fooddinner menuroom was largegood sizeshort breakwarm welcomethis lovely hotelstaff were excellentnight stayirish sea
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 353 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel on 8th - 11th Sept 2013 and cannot fault it. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was amazing. We played golf at Dunskey, Stranraer and Cally Palace and all were superb courses and again all welcoming and helpful. We would highly recommend this hotel and it was worth the drive from Bedfordshire.

Room Tip: Room 12 overlooks harbour which is a beautiful view and you could sit and watch the sea for hours
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed at the Fernhill for 2 nights on DB&B basis with husband and friends. This was our third time staying at the Fernhill over the last few years.The food has always been excellent, all the staff are very friendly and helpful. The view from the hotel over the harbor is absolutely lovely. Our rooms were in the older part of the hotel which are very tired and in need of some urgent upgrading. In recent visits we stayed in the newer part of the hotel where the rooms are a lot better. Apart from that, the rooms are very clean, lots of hot water with large soft fluffy towels.

Room Tip: Rooms in newer part of the hotel more modern!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed at the Fernhill for 3 nights on a DB&B basis. The food was lovely and a good choice. Our bedroom overlooked the town with views of the harbour. The bedroom was lovely and clean and lots of hot water but I thought the bedroom looked a bit jaded and could do with an upgrade along with some of the public and bar areas. Staff friendly. Good for car parking which is always a bonus. Would return again if visiting the area.

Room Tip: Definitely a Harbour View Room
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErnieCOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Just back from a three for two break in beautiful Wigtownshire where the sun shone from morning to evening and the views were fantastic from the hotel and environs. Free Golf was part of the package and we took full advantage at three challenging courses.....great fun!
The Accomodation was very comfortable and the food from hearty Scottish breakfasts to excellent four course dinners was truly first class.....recommend the Lobster Feast, which although "extra" should not be missed. The wine list is comprehensive and reasonably priced and the bar area easily combines a quite drink or merry golfers!
The staff from front to back of house are obviously hand picked........top marks to them and to Fernhill. We will return.

Room Tip: Harbour and sea view is not to be missed.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJM-JBM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Just taken the family to the Fernhill for a 3 day break. Used the 3 for 2 offer. The view from reception of Portpatrick Hatbour are just stunning. We were pleasantly surprised by the rooms. The staff were so friendly - all locals. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melvinAyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews