We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views, friendly staff”
Review of Fernhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fernhill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Attended a wedding here over the weekend and stayed overnight. We had a room overlooking the bay and could have sat watching the sea for hours. The views across the bay are spectacular
Room had a nice balcony but it rained most of the time !.
Hotel was warm, friendly and very comfortable. Plenty of parking. Free wireless. Staff very friendly and allowed early access to rooms to change for wedding.
The reception breakfast (40-50 people) was excellent, one of the best wedding meals we have had. Everything was red hot, nicely presented and delicious. Breakfast was fine - wasn't a big selection of fruits / yoghurts but hot breakfast was cooked well and not at all greasy. Staff again v attentive.
We saw the honeymoon suite which has a huge bay window overlooking the bay and a bathroom big enough for a party. We have stayed in many hotel across the world with great views and this is up with the best.

Room Tip: pay the extra for views across the bay or if feeling flush take the suite!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colonel-Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
There are newer reviews for Fernhill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed for 3 nights, a very welcoming staff and excellent food. Th situation of the hotel with its wonderful view over the town, harbour and out to sea is magnificent from the lounge,and maybe from the bedrooms.
However we were accomodated in the garden annexe rooms, and in an upstairs ,room 17, it was not very large, and the eaves protrude, so one had to be careful not get a nasty bump on the head ,as one of our party did. If I go again would certainly not have one of these rooms, the downstairs was OK, BUT NO VIEW.
Otherwise al was good.

Room Tip: Don,t have an upstairs annexe room
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WILLIAM W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We booked a single night at this hotel to break our journey home from Ireland. We were greeted cordially and offered a welcome sherry – not something we experience very often. The standard sea view room was above our expectations and offered a good view down onto the harbour and seafront. It would be true to say the room was a little shabby, but not especially so considering the price. The restaurant staff seemed a little stretched but the food served was fine and came at a nice speed for enjoyable eating. Chances are we’d stay here for two nights the next time we’re in the area as it is quite good overall and well situated.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed at the Fernhill to celebrate our 37th wedding anniversary. The previous reviews reflect what we experienced of the hotel, but you need to go there to understand why we all have enjoyed the experience so much. The staff, the food, the decor, etc. have all been celebrated in many reviews, but for us it was the arrival, the large plate glass window overlooking the small fishing port and the peace that brought it all together. We both have busy lives and for us the opportunity to relax in such great surroundings, with the quality of service, food, and rooms we enjoyed made the holiday all that more relaxing. Thank you to everyone who worked to make our stay so enjoyable, in particular the sweet served on our first night with the 'happy anniversary' welcome , thank you!

Room Tip: ask for a front facing room you won't regret it, the view is wonderful
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ricthevic1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

We booked a last minute 2 day stay at an amazing rate. We have been before as the Fernhill ticks all our boxes. Service is impeccable and the food amazing for the price... And we are fussy.... Beautifully presented and top quality food. Staff so friendly and professional. Views from the hotel and the front facing rooms are a treat. A lovely , peaceful and revitalising stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinLizzie5269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel on 8th - 11th Sept 2013 and cannot fault it. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was amazing. We played golf at Dunskey, Stranraer and Cally Palace and all were superb courses and again all welcoming and helpful. We would highly recommend this hotel and it was worth the drive from Bedfordshire.

Room Tip: Room 12 overlooks harbour which is a beautiful view and you could sit and watch the sea for hours
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed at the Fernhill for 2 nights on DB&B basis with husband and friends. This was our third time staying at the Fernhill over the last few years.The food has always been excellent, all the staff are very friendly and helpful. The view from the hotel over the harbor is absolutely lovely. Our rooms were in the older part of the hotel which are very tired and in need of some urgent upgrading. In recent visits we stayed in the newer part of the hotel where the rooms are a lot better. Apart from that, the rooms are very clean, lots of hot water with large soft fluffy towels.

Room Tip: Rooms in newer part of the hotel more modern!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
0.2 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
530 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
258 reviews
5.7 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
109 reviews
17.4 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhill Hotel

Address: Portpatrick DG9 8TD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Price Range: £112 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HRS, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Fernhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernhill Hotel Portpatrick, Scotland
Fernhill Portpatrick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing