We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Cheap”
Review of Fernhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fernhill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2006

A very nice hotel with fantastic staff and great food and views.

However, I think the room was overpriced by about £20 - £25 especially given the time of year and the fact that the hotel, on the evening I was there, was virtually empty.

Would love to say again but would not pay the same room rate.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Platz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2006

Being our first visit to Fernhill, we were overwhelmed by the
splendid views of the village and the bay, from the conservatory.
The cusine was out of this world, served to us by attentive staff in a very pleasant manner, in surroundings fit for royalty.
There is no doubt in our minds that we will be making a return visit in the near future and would highly recommend that you add this hotel to your list of favourites.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LJMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2006

Have just returned from the Fernhill today (Sun 11/6/06) after a 2 night stay. This was a special occasion, our 25th wedding anniversary, and I originally wanted a special hotel - spa etc. for the break. We left the bookings too late for the hotels of our choice in this catagory, but what good luck! The Fernhill may not have the spa or pool, but if this was a failing it was well compensated for by the quality of accommodation, food and the welcoming and friendly staff. The hotel was smaller then I expected (as an earlier review may have suggested), but non the worse for that (not what the earlier review suggested). Perfect for a luxury stay in Portpatrick without being too formal and stilted. We really felt welcome and it made the occasion feel special. Thankyou to all the staff.

We definately hope to return in the future for the occasional getaway night of luxury.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2006

I only stayed one night here as I was so very disappointed. I was under the impression that the Hotel was in seculded grounds which wasn't quite true. I thought that the hotel was very average, the food OK .I didn't want to stay and moved on

The staff were very friendly and helpful however. For me a bit of a let down after what I'd read.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DM3R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2005

hotel in forgotten part of scotland - the south west. stunning view from reception lounge over bay and fishing port. offered glass of sherry on arrival - time to sit and enjoy view and make use of daily newspapers and local information leaftlets. escorted to lovely room, view over the sea, very comfortable. dining facilities also lovely. food exquisite - kindest regards to the chef. all staff welcoming and attentive. would just suggest waiting staff take a little more time for conversation - would understand if place was busy, but was not. overall, very enjoyable experience, and would recommend to others. glad we visited!

1  Thank nancy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
worcester
11
Reviewed 29 October 2005

We have just returned from a three day stay at the Fernhill with our two children. Just the right mix of efficency and informality. The food was excellent, and the service helpful and friendly. We had a double room with adjoining room for the children in the annexe to the main hotel. Views lovely from our room and from the dining room and conservatory. A steep walk down to the little harbour. Lovely walks around, putting, tennis and plenty of sea! We weren't sure whether it would be good swimming in summer around here - if it is - then it would be hard to find a nicer spot.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2005

To celebrate my Mother's 80th birthday. my brother, his family and I headed south and west to Portpatrick on the extreme edge of Scotland.
A lovely village clean and welcoming. - the glass of sherry on arrival was most welcome after a tussle with a traffic jam on the M74!
The Fernhill was accomodating, friendly and provided excellent service.
A super meal, fresh ingredients - emphasis on locally caught fish. game etc.
The main part of the hotel is an old building, well appointed, with wonderful views, a minor problem was the lack of a lift for elderly people with reduced mobility, but there are gound floor bedrooms.
The children were catered for very well, with a childrens' dinner sitting in the early evening if desired.
An excellent and restful stay. Quiet and appreciated by our Mother who had a very good time.
Recommended

4  Thank aesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
0.2 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
556 reviews
1.9 mi away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
289 reviews
5.7 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
272 reviews
11.4 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
17.4 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhill Hotel

Address: Portpatrick DG9 8TD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Price Range: £98 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fernhill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Atrapalo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Fernhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernhill Hotel Portpatrick, Scotland
Fernhill Portpatrick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing