We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Muirhead Guest House

Muirhead Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portpatrick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Muirhead Guest House
Ranked #11 of 14 Portpatrick B&B and Inns
scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We enjoyed our 2 day stay in Keith's room with a view over the pitch and putt to the sea and as far as Ireland on the horizon! The room was bright, light and spotlessly clean. The freshly cooked breakfast was far superior to the "spa" hotel we stayed at this weekend and overall was much better value for money!

Room Tip: Ask for the front bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louforart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

I think its all been said really in previous reviews.
We were at the Muirhead for 6 nights and had a very enjoyable stay.
Our room was spacious, spotless and overlooked the putting green and views of the sea.
The bed was very comfortable and I had the best nights sleep ever. The only thing lacking was an alarm clock, ( my partner used the alarm on his mobile phone but unfortunately he got a text message through at 3am!)
Tea, coffee and biscuits are provided in the room, and in the bathroom soap, shampoo and shower gel
The guest house is just around the corner from good places to eat and drink and there are lots of lovely walks in the surrounding area.

Room Tip: the room at the front of the house has a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pppapopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ormskirk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Stayed for 2 nights, location was great - yards from the harbour, the room was excellent - light and airy with plenty of space and included a couple of chairs, breakfast was good, we thoroughly recommend Muirhead.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

Just back from a weekend break in Portpatrick and stayed at the Muirhead .

Everything about this place was spot in . The welcome by Keith was warm and friendly ,the twin room was spotless ,as was bathroom with a very good shower.

Breakfast was plentiful with the usual cereal and full cooked breakfast which set you up for the day . I asked about smoked haddock and he said that this could be arranged for the next morning . Sure enough smoked haddock and poached eggs were cooked to perfection and makes a change from the egg, bacon sausage etc .

I would not hesitate to return to Muirhead for my next visit to Portpatrick .

All round an excellent find .

Liz and Claire ,Glasgow

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotslizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds,
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

My 17 year old son and I stayed here for two nights in October 2010,and would thoroughly recommend the Muirhead to anyone wishing for a relaxing stay with a fantastic breakfast !

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShadesVFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellshill
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

have just returned from a relaxing couple of days in Portpatrick. We stayed at the Muirhead Guest House because of the reviews we read on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. Keith keeps the place spotlessly clean and was very friendly and helpful. We had room 2, which is the bay windowed room which has lovely views over the putting green and views of the sea. It is a stones throw away from the harbour and pubs and restaurants. Keiths breakfasts keep you going for the full day I have to say. We had a lovely meal on the Saturday night in the Waterfront Hotel, a bit pricey but was well worth it. Then went next door to the Crown where there was live entertainment with Roxanne. She was great and got everyone involved playing tambourines, maraccas, bongos and it turned into a right good old sing song. A brilliant night. Will definitely be back to Portpatrick and will definitely be staying at the Muirhead Guest House. I only have 1 tiny wee complaint and that, for me, the pillows were a bit too hard for my liking, but that is just my opinion and it certainly wouldn't put me off returning. Keep up the good work Keith, your doing a grand job

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scarlet_woman53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

Once again Keith Benton who owns and runs this superior B&B in Portpatrick pulls out all the stops to make your stay a pleasnt one.Only has 3 rooms one downstairs and 2 upstairs,room with Bay window overlooking putting green is a delight,room bright and airy and refreshingly clean as are the other 2 rooms but no bay window,would not hesitate in recommending this B&B to anyone -

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shetland62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portpatrick hotels
0.1 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.9 mi away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blinkbonnie Guest House
Blinkbonnie Guest House
#8 of 14 in Portpatrick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dunskey Guest House
Dunskey Guest House
#6 of 14 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muirhead Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muirhead Guest House

Property: Muirhead Guest House
Address: 5 Blair Terrace, Portpatrick DG9 8SY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Portpatrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Muirhead Guest House Portpatrick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing