We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In my daughters words "the best holiday home ever!"”

Muirhead Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portpatrick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Muirhead Guest House
Ranked #11 of 14 Portpatrick B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“In my daughters words "the best holiday home ever!"”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My parents, daughter & I spent 2 wonderful nights on our trip down memory lane! My parents & I hadn't been to Portpatrick for 30 years!
The Muirhead was like home from home! Spotlessly clean & Keith made us feel SO at home! I have to say, in all the places I have eaten breakfast, this was the best breakfast EVER! We even went out for breakfast to a very posh restaurant yesterday for my fathers 80th birthday & we all agreed it wasn't as good as Keith's!!!
I would recommend to anyone & would love to go back soon!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcnabs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

had a great four nights at muirhead guest house in portpatrick.
keith the owner was great and he made a fabulous breakfast every morning
all the rooms were lovely and we had the upstairs room that overlooks the putting green and harbour

Room Tip: upstairs room overlooking putting green
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The reviews on here persuaded us to try out Muirhead and we were not disappointed. We booked for our friends wedding and had a lovely room overlooking the putting green, immaculate with a very helpful host, Keith, also offering a wonderful breakfast. Great location only 1 minutes walk to the seafront where the Crown pub was also a great choice for food and drink. Definitely recommend as our friends and family booked all the rooms for the same weekend too.

Room Tip: The room overlooking the putting green was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ned08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights and thought it was one of the best B & B's we have visited. Spotless, spacious accommodation with such a relaxed atmosphere. Keith made us very welcome and provided wonderful breakfasts and local information. We had a lovely room overlooking the putting green. Muirhead is in a quiet part of Portpatrick but is close to all the local amenities with an excellent eating place nearby .Keith has made this Guest House a real treat and we would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PeteandDawn_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nanny53
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We have just spent a lovely week at Keith's B & B. The accommodation is excellent and we had a lovely room upstairs overlooking the putting green. Keith strives and succeeds in providing everything you might need to make your stay a good one and his breakfasts are yummy! Muirhead B & B is in a quiet part of beautiful Portpatrick, with easy access to lots of pubs and restaurants which are all worth visiting and sampling their food. We highly recommend anyone to stay at Muirhead B & B. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanny53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Friendly owner in Keith who made us feel welcome and comfortable. A great location opposite the putting green and easy walking distance of one of the best seafood meals I have had. Good sized room on ground floor with all the facilities. Clean and airy. Great breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We spent two nights here in the Muirhead Guest House. The room was beautiful and bright with an amazing view. Pubs are dotted along the harbour, the people are so friendly, and the whole place is just breathtakingly beautiful.
The guest house, run by Keith, is spotless and relaxing. And the man himself is lovely and made us feel completely welcome. So much so that we booked to go back in a few weeks time before we'd even left!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portpatrick hotels
0.1 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
321 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dunskey Guest House
Dunskey Guest House
#5 of 14 in Portpatrick
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Knockniemoak B&B
Knockniemoak B&B
#3 of 14 in Portpatrick
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muirhead Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muirhead Guest House

Property: Muirhead Guest House
Address: 5 Blair Terrace, Portpatrick DG9 8SY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Portpatrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Muirhead Guest House Portpatrick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing