We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The jewel in the................Crown (groan) lol”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crown Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The jewel in the................Crown (groan) lol”
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Just arrived home after A fantastic midweek break in this amazing place. We were made very welcome from the start, even though We just sat outside with a pint before booking in.
Tony was our first contact and made us feel at home from the start. The rooms are kinda cottagey and are full of little quirks like the horredous howl from one of the taps in the bathroom (no wonder people think this place is haunted he..he.)
It is like staying with Friends rather than being in a hotel So if you are the type of person who likes everyone to be subservant whilst you are being very rude then please don't stay here as it ruins the atmosphere for the rest of us normal human beings.

We sat next to a woman who had a face like thunder in the Dining room who was determined to NOT enjoy her self at all cost.
She ordered the ribeye steak and then made the waiter stand there whilst commenting at every mouthful saying "That bit was alright ....this bit is fatty etc. The waiter (Garry) was to polite to inform this Grand Lady (term used loosley) that is what a ribeye is all about!!! ..... If you read this you know who you are! For Gods sake, get a life woman.
The staff are brilliant every last one of them and if you address them with some respect and don't expect them to doff there cap at you every 2 minutes you will find this to be a magical place (One of the staff and her Husband even came out for a drink with us (on our invitation)
Our room overloked the sea and also the outside bar area. I thought that it would be noisey at night but, such is the tranquil nature of this place all those outside seemed to whisper so as not to upset the peace of the place.
The food is superb The bad comments by some people on here are made by compulsive whingers and should be treated with the contempt they deserve!
I decided to do a little fishing in the Bay and the Chef told me of the best spot and even provided me with some bait!
I would like to thank the following people for allowing us to share there little piece of Heaven: Tony (der management) Joyce, Gary, Jane, The 2 best chefs in Scotland, and all the rest of the staff who work in the background.

BRILLIANT!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevethedent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    56
    18
    19
    14
See reviews for
45
119
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
derry city
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

had disastrous stay at a shearings hotel in morecambe and couldnt wait to get home to ireland but we had one night left and we decided to go to portpatrick. it is such a pretty village, nice little shops and nice cliff walk, picture perfect. we decided we'd look at the rooms available in the 3 hotels on the seafront. the one beside the crown was so expensive we didnt bother looking at the rooms, the crown and the one down the street were the same price but the crown was much nicer. we loved the quaint room overlooking the sea and the huge bathroom, very clean, nice toiletries, we would have no hesitation staying here again, altho the bed was a wee bit lumpy, and would choose this hotel over the others. we had lunch and then dinner, food was great. the guy who served breakfast (i think hes craig) was really friendly without being intrusive. i had the haddock for breakfast and it was the nicest haddock i have ever tasted and we mostly eat fish at home. i was a bit naughty and asked for some haggis as well and he just laughed, he was happy to serve me some and it was really good haggis. i cant believe how people could stay here and not give it 5/5. anytime we have to go to visit relatives in northern england we will add an extra day to the trip so we can stay here

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquiohara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We was very lucky to get a room at such short notice.
Rooms was a tad small and 2 single bed's pushed together which wasn't so great.
Rooms a bit pricy, BUT fantastic view over the bay of Port Patrick.

Food fantastic, good selection of whiskey's, will go back again for a family summer holiday.
good full breakfast which helped the whisky hangover the next morning. ;)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo-Femma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Lucky to get cancellation and found this wee treasure.
Friendly manager or owner. Staff very helpfull and the food is 1st class. Better than any of the big chain hotels
Easter weekend so village and hotel was really busy with food and drinks but service was quick and meals freshly cooked.

Best breakfast and again fresh.
definately be back and thanks for lovely stay

Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank j2155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2011

I have just spent a few really enjoyable days at The Crown, I loved the full Scottish Breakfast and in the evenings the menu had an array of exciting seafood dishes to choose from, and the ones I sampled were tasty and fresh. The best thing about the place, the staff were always helpful nothing flustered them and they seemed to enjoy having us! I will be returning next year.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FarmerRod54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We spent four days staying at The Crown. We received a warm welcome, excellent service, good food and companionship. A warm open fire in the bar and good ambience.
The hotel looks out over the harbour; Portpatrick is a pretty place and has a lot of interesting countryside around to explore.
Well worth travelling along the length of the A75 to reach it.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardJones3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

We love Port Patrick and decided to stay over on the Friday on our way to a 50th Birthday Party in Ayr. We decided to stay at The Crown to keep the cost down but were very pleased with the value for money and service. The room was fantastic with a big bed, flat screen TV and coal fire available in the room. The evening meal was excellent, enjoyed in front of a roaring fire after a cold bracing walk along the coast. The view from the room over looked the Harbour and Lighthouse. We enjoyed a hearty breakfast before a last look round this beautiful Town. The staff were pleasant and helpful, we will certainly be back for a longer stay next time. Highly recommended. Just two points, book room 12 if available and try the Steak and Ale Pudding!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank punkrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
0.1 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
492 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
266 reviews
11.5 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
5.8 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stranraer
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Property: Crown Hotel
Address: 9 North Crescent, Portpatrick DG9 8SX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown is centrally situated in probably the most picturesque village in Dumfries & Galloway. Sitting yards from the water's edge, we offer unspoilt views across the Portpatrick Harbour and the Irish Sea. We have twelve individual en suite rooms, all well presented with tea/coffee facilities and over forty channels on our LCD TVs. AA awarded seafood & extensive bar menu in our Conservatory restaurant. Seafront terrace dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Portpatrick, Scotland
Crown Portpatrick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing