We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rickwood House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Portpatrick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec City, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming and welcoming”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We've stayed at Rickwood Hotel and our experience was great. Maggie and Fred, our hosts, were welcoming and were always asking us how they could make our stay the best as possible. Our room, room 4, was the family room where we had a beautiful view of Portpatrick and the room was very very spacious. Moreover, it was very clean, the beds were comfortable and it was quiet. To conclude, it was ideal and we sure will recommend this hotel to friends and family!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4, which is the family room (second floor). Great view, large bed and little cot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john_cockburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fredfindlay, Owner at Rickwood House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Thanks for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your tour of Scotland.

Fred & Maggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
139
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kippen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We recently stayed here after reading some excellent reviews about the place. I have to say that we were not disappointed at all. Service couldn't have been better. Fred and Maggie were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The room was very clean and comfortable as was the whole place. Would definitely recommend it and I am sure we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgb-gargunnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred F, Owner at Rickwood House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and also that you enjoyed visiting the Mull of Galloway, the many gardens we have nearby and also the beautiful walks in our area. We do hope that you will return in the future. Thanks again, Fred & Maggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We have just recently come back form staying with Maggie and Fred in the Rickwood Hotel in Portpatrick, which was a lovely welcoming home from home. Our hosts were extremely friendly and welcoming and provided advice daily about places to visit or special events going on in the area. Breakfast was excellent with a daily extra choice to tempt the palate. The room was spacious, comfortable and very clean, and we had an excellent sea view from room 3. Overall location is super, up the hill overlooking the harbour and on the road to the golf course.
We recommend this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a lovely sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fredfindlay, Owner at Rickwood House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Thanks for your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, the views, our lovely coastal scenery and our beautiful village.

It was so nice to see you both again in August!

Maggie & Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

After reading other positive reviews we decided on staying here at the Rickwood Hotel. We were not disappointed at all from the moment we stepped foot in the place. We were sad to leave!! Fred and Maggie were great hosts, very friendly and helpful with good knowledge of the area. The room was perfect with great views and an airy feel and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was good and hearty with a wide choice to decide upon. We will defiantly stay here again. Thank you both Fred and Maggie for making our short stay a pleasurable one to remember. Oh one thing I forgot Maggies home made Shortbread is to die for

Room Tip: The Factor suite is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123Richie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fredfindlay, Owner at Rickwood House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Thanks for your lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the information we provide enhanced your stay.

Maggie & Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We recently stayed for 2 nights at the Rickwood. It was magic! We had a fantastic room which Fred and Maggie dutifully tidied everyday as we were extremely messy! Fred was the perfect host and served us a great breakfast both mornings. The Kiwi Special Breakfast was a big hit with Stanka. Highly recommended! Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borderssnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred F, Owner at Rickwood House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thanks for your review. Its good to know how much you both enjoyed your stay at Rickwood and our ever popular "Kiwi Special" breakfast. Hope you got some good photographs! Thanks again Fred & Maggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steelton, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

was fortunate enough to be able to secure a room the day i arrived, and must say my two night stay was most excellent. breakfast was very tasty and i enjoyed the little extra each morning (such as sliced haggis). the sitting room was warm and comfortable, and maggie and fred could not have been better hosts. the town itself was relaxing with many outdoor cafe's within walking distance. highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1_bernie_m_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred F, Owner at Rickwood House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thanks for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Rickwood. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your tour of Scotland best wishes Fred & Maggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverkip
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We recently returned to the Rickwood House Hotel and received a lovely warm welcome once again from Maggie and Fred. Both our room, and the hotel throughout, were as fresh and immaculately clean as we remembered from our previous trip. We'd booked the Factor's Room which had loads of space, a great view out to the sea and a large en-suite. Great to relax in after a day's walking/sightseeing. Breakfasts are excellent, varied, and plentiful. Fresh berries, smoked salmon and scrambled egg, full Scottish available amongst others. Maggie's Kiwi special is a treat! Presentation and service is faultless.
We booked dinner in advance at Fred and Maggie's which was a delicious three course meal using fresh local produce and beautifully done. We were able to order wine with the meal as the Hotel has a table licence. Fred's efficient service and good conversation added to a very enjoyable evening. Having coffee in the comfortable conservatory was a nice way to round it all off.
Another great stay and we're sure to be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred F, Owner at Rickwood House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hi Lynn thanks for your review. So glad you both enjoyed your 2nd visit to Rickwood. The Kiwi Special breakfast seems to be more popular than ever this year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portpatrick hotels
0.1 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
332 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunskey Guest House
Dunskey Guest House
#7 of 14 in Portpatrick
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Knockniemoak B&B
Knockniemoak B&B
#2 of 14 in Portpatrick
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rickwood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rickwood House Hotel

Property: Rickwood House Hotel
Address: Heugh Road, Portpatrick DG9 8TD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Portpatrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rickwood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning B&B with hot tub in Portpatrick,South West Scotland. * Adjacent to golf courses (18 & 9 hole) * Within walking distance of Portpatrick Harbour * Virtually on the cliff-top path at start of Southern Upland Way * Evening meals available by prior arrangement & drinks licence * Portpatrick is ideal base for touring the Rhins of Galloway * Near Scotland`s most southerly point - the Mull of Galloway * Outdoor Hot tub ( new for 2015) * More gardens within 30 mins by car than anywhere in Scotland * Dog & Pet friendly * Packed lunches, maps and help with walks available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Rickwood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rickwood House Hotel Portpatrick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing