We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable with all you could wish for.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ocean Wynds

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
alanQ7260...
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable with all you could wish for.”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Situated above the main village on Heugh Road, large well maintained garden at front and totally private enclosed garden at rear.
The owner is extremely helpful and goes out of her way to make your stay comfortable.
Car parking is off road and private.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2017
Thank you it was lovely to meet you both and that the weather was good to you. Have a good summer and hope to meet you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazziep63
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding accommodation.”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
3
people found this review helpful

I spent a long weekend with 3 friends in July. The house was very well located for all our needs. The owner Katie was lovely and looked after us very well. The garden was huge and yes we could had played games but that was not what we were there for. Taxis were cheap but you would not need one as the main part of the town was in walking distance if you you not want to drive. I would highly recommended this house if you want to go to that part of Scotland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pilateski...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Back again”
Reviewed 30 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed here last year and enjoyed it so much , came back with all the family this time.
We were a group of nine and there was plenty room for all .
The garden big enough for playing games , such as rounders.
Ocean Wynds is just a short walk from the village.
We are all going back next year !!
Katie the owner is very helpful and nothing is too much trouble.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borders f...
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Stayed in Ocean Wynds with family and older parents, the accommodation is immaculately presented. It is very clean, very modern, and very accessible for elderly and children. Two amazing bathrooms, so no queues in mornings for showers etc. Super sized large garden facing access road, in which my son loved playing football, playing tennis, and generally exploring. Also a lovely private garden in front of sunroom, very enjoyable to sit and enjoy the sunshine, flora and fauna. Plenty of kitchen cupboards, huge fridge and freezer, large range size cooker, washing machine and tumble dryer, so everything you will need for your stay. This is indeed the best of five previous accommodation we have hired in Portpatrick and shall definitely return, owner Katie was available anytime too, very reassuring.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful house.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sempleand...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Trully enjoyable 3 day break”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Ocean Wynds is by far one of the best self-catering accommodations we have stayed in, the place was immaculate upon our arrival, the gardens beautifully kept with seating areas both back and front. The beds were all made-up with clean white linen and towels. The lounge, kitchen, dining area and conservatory are very comfortably furnished, particularly the reclining chairs and sofa in the lounge. Katie the owner is very friendly and approachable, nothing appeared to be too much bother if anything was required. As a family we would definitely consider going back to Ocean Wynds, with perhaps more of the extended family!! Portpatrick itself is picturesque and good for walking, eating out, golfing or exploring by car both the North and South Rhins.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern bungalow with all mode cons and space tomove around.
Liked least: Walking up the hill after eating out after a little light libation!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pilateski...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A very relaxing week !”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here with my son , daughter in law and their two daughters. The gardens are excellent for a 9 and 6 year old with plenty of energy !!
The house was ideal , plenty of room and the family bathroom , well room for a party in the large bath !!!
I would certainly recommend this house for a family holiday house.
The owner Katie was extremely helpful, we couldn't have asked for better attention.
I would certainly go back the this property .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The general flow of the house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BARNEY280...
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top marks for a great stay”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Katie made us welcome from the start and the facilities were superb - only one downside my wife wants a new bath at home as she was spoiled by the size of the bath at Ocean Wynds

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing