We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place to relax and enjoy the peace and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Dining area
Portpatrick
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paultaylo...
Meltham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect place to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet or explore The Rhins”
Reviewed 16 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

What an amazing little haven of peace and quiet this cottage is! Situated above a gully overlooking the sea and surrounded by farmland you can go outside and only hear cows, sheep and birds, it's so tranquil. Portpatrick is a five minute drive away and there are supermarkets in Stranraer around 15 minutes away by car so you're near enough to such places if you want them. The cottage is so well equipped, very comfortable and lovely and cosy. The sunroom is unbelievable! From there we've seen red deer, fox, hares, rabbits, buzzards, wheatears and many other species of bird, you can see Northern Ireland too. Shona is so kind and helpful, even ringing a few days before arrival to check whether we needed any help or advice. She had left us fresh milk, fresh flowers, biscuits and red wine too, amazing! Frankly we could have happily stayed at the cottage all week instead of going out exploring The Rhins, we'd still have been as happy as larks. We will be back for sure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefulness and comfort
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo_From_R...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful bungalow ”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

There were three of us who stayed at this bungalow and we had an excellent time. We felt like we were surrounded by sheep as its right on the edge of fields with a glorious view. We often went out to chat to the sheep!! There is everything you could want in the bungalow and nothing has been forgotten. There are towels, all the kitchen equipment, wifi, bed linen, iron, hairdryer, board games, landline as there is no 3G mobile signal.......And the list goes on!
It's a five minute drive to Portpatrick Harbour. Shona popped in soon after we arrived to make sure we had everything we needed. She had also left us some wine and milk in the fridge and fresh flowers in the lounge which was a lovely touch.
The bungalow was spotlessly clean and we all had a marvellous time. We wouldn't hesitate in booking with Shona again.
Thank you. Jo, June and Michael x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie H
Great Harwood, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect get away, no bad points at all!!!!”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

From the minute we arrived to the minute we left it was perfect. From the little touches of a very welcome bottle of wine, flowers, milk, coffee and shortbread biscuits,to the comfy and spotlessly clean beds, I can't fault anything. The kitchen was so well equipped that we wanted for nothing, comfy sitting areas, lovely bathroom and ensuite shower room, spectacular views and although it was blowing a gale outside, we were always lovely and warm. There were sky freesat tv,'s, DVD , cd and video players, enough for everybody. It was just lovely and if we venture up that way again, this will be our first choice for accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snowtoes2...
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent location fabulous bungalow couldn't have wished for anything more”
Reviewed 15 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This fabulous bungalow was spacious , clean , warm with fully equipped kitchen a real home from home experience
Shona the owner was so helpful & had thought of everything to ensure our stay was comfortable . We shall definitely return.
Lots of lovely places to visit spectacular scenery .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Perfect?”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
4
people found this review helpful

I've now stayed here with the family for the third year in a row - which I think says it all really. A lovely, peaceful, well-equipped cottage with a great view over the coast.

This year we saw hares, deer, foxes, buzzards (or were they red kites?) all from the conservatory window. Stunning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The scenery.
Liked least: There was nothing not to like!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msmjc2
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We loved the situation of this cosy bungalow looking out over the Irish Sea over a field of gambolling black lambs. Excellently equipped.
The surrounding countryside was so beautiful covered in golden gorse and swathes of deep,deep blue bluebells. Stunning sandy beaches nearby and glorious gardens to visit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen R
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent facilities, and much bigger inside than it looks!”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Very comfortable and warm, with plenty of space. Owner very friendly. Location and views great. would definitely stay again.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;