We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This house is amazing”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cairnhapple house

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MARY M
Blantyre Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This house is amazing”
Reviewed 24 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The pictures of this house don't do it justice, the rooms are a lot larger than they appear in the photographs, it is my dream house. When the weather is good, there is no reason to leave the house because there is plenty of room for kids of all ages to run about and play. it is well provided with outdoor and indoor games to play. We were there with my 5 grandchildren with ages ranging from 5 to 19 and they all loved it, the only problem is there is no mobile phone reception and my Granddaughter had to wait till we got in the car to keep in touch with her friends (which I don't think is a bad thing). My son in law never wanted to leave, as he is a keen fisherman and there is lots of good fishing sights in the area (so he tells me). For myself I would have been happy just to stay in the house for the full week we were there. This is a great relaxing home from home with good shops and restaurants in Stranraer and Port Patrick

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house it'self
Liked least: no phone
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout and decor of the home
Liked least: No pets allowed, but this is understandable when you consider the immaculate interior of the home.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and it's location.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMHamilto...
Hamilton
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 12 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Stayed with extended family of 6 adults and 4 children for the weekend and found the house to be a real gem. The quality and condition of the property were first class, with the furnishings very good and thoughtfully put together.

The owner has done an excellent job in creating a house that is well designed and would be fine to stay in for a weekend, or longer if you wished. The welcome was warm and instantly made us feel at ease.

The house had more than enough space for us, with the open plan kitchen and dining room downstairs, along with the tv & dvd player in the lounge. Also on the ground floor there was a double bedroom, twin room and bathroom and the laundry room/porch.
Upstairs you have another tv and sitting area, with one spacious double bedroom, another very spacious double with a twin room and bathroom behind it.

At the house itself, there is no mobile signal that we were able to get, it was a few minutes in the car before we got one. Is this a drawback? Well not really, as it is good to have a few hours away from the emails, isn't that what part of going away from work is meant to be about!

The weather was on our side, so we spent one day at Portpatrick, visiting Dunskey Gardens in the afternoon, and they were about 10 minutes drive from the house. The other day, we went down to SandHead with its golden beaches, this was less than 20 minutes drive. Both days offered us the chance to relax and unwind, taking in some stunning views.

In summary, as a professional in the tourism industry of some years, I would have no hesitation to recommending this house to family, friends, business colleagues or yourself and would look to return myself.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion_Mc...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic house in a beautiful picturesque part of the world”
Reviewed 11 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Stayed in this fantastic house in July 2011 with a large family group. 6 adults and 4 children (Aged 5 to 10). The owner Graham was really friendly and helpful and the house was spottlessly clean and very well equipped with everything you could need. The location was very quite with no mobile phone reception which added to the peace and relaxation. 10 minutes drive away is the lovely village of Portpatrick which has rocky beaches for the kids to explore and a number of great pubs for bar lunches. Dunskey Gardens is also within 10 minutes drive which has lovley walks and a hedge maze where you can loose the children! A short drive will take you to Glenluce bay and Sandhead beach where we spent a lovely day. Will definately stay here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing