We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (615)
Filter reviews
615 results
Traveller rating
218
237
93
42
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
218
237
93
42
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshearings holidayshearings hotelssuperior roomself drivesea viewcliff topdining roomlovely hotelhalf boardcoast countrybuffet stylecoach partysingle roomevening mealgolf coursepublic areasstunning location
Filter
Updating list...
482 - 487 of 615 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We took a 4 night break here in mid November and were very pleased with our chice . The hotel has a spectacular location above the port , with bracing walks and excellent views. Our break [self-drive] booked with Coast and Country was terrific value, especially with £25 each in-house credit. would definitely repeat the experience.
Thanks to all staff who were friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2012

Thank you for the review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Just back from 2 nights here. Arrived at 5.30 and were welcomed by name!! Well we were the last 4 to arrive. Very friendly man reception but I think I got the wrong name..is it Norman or Melvin?? Room fine once was heater went on. Bathroom never heated up. Food fine- love my soup and not disappointed although never saw the freshly made croutons! Only 30 of us staying but you would have thought there were 300 the way the waitress acted.
Have stayed years ago and was impressed with new lounge and dining room. Now just do the bedrooms up and we will return.
Sat out on veranda in morning...lovely.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1206irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2012

Thank you for the review. It was Melvin you met. Sorry you never got your croutons. I’m sure it was an oversight by the waitress who, by the sounds of it, was being over enthusiastic to please. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Like most people we travel around a bit trying different places around the UK, we stayed at this hotel last year and were a little underwhelmed by the experience. On the first trip we encountered endless waits at the bar early evening to have pre dinner drinks as no one person seemed to be on the bar, the hotel itself was quite busy and the staff seemed to be everywhere but where the crowd was. The dining experience was 'ok' but once again not quite the a la carte we were anticipating. This is an old hotel and the plumbing and heating reflect that so many may consider this to add to its charm.
Not being quitters we decided it deserved another go and went this November 2012. Its a quiet time of year and the hotel had very few guests, so having to wait in reception untill after 3pm for our room to be ready wasn't the best start its not like we wern't expected.
Once again I'm afraid the poor reception staff seemed to be doubled up as the bar staff and theirs only so long you can stand listening to someone else telephone conversation whilst waiting for a drink. On the previous visit we commented the hotel lacked any atmosphere on this visit their was none at all, no evening entertainment on the Friday so we were forced into the wind and rain to find a local with something on. We did try the dining room but sadly for me its not of a standard I would expect for the price compared to other places.
I can only say of the staff they are very pleasant and helpfull I just wish their was more of them.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are a must but the windows rattle !
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cityblue366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Thank you very much for your review.
The check in time is clearly stated on booking forms. 3pm is to allow the departing rooms to be cleaned properly. If there are little or few rooms departing then we can allow guests in earlier, as we did on Monday.
We had very low occupancy levels at the weekend and hence the low staff levels and quiet atmosphere.
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

the hotel was clean the bedrooms were clean , but the meals was ok thy wasnot much of it if i was asked i would they was only very small meals but not for adults it was all just like ready meals for one and the veg was not cooked and not enough of anything in our party we had a lady who was diabetic and when asked for cheese and biscuits instead of a sweet was told she would have to pay extra and the evening entertainment for two nights only but the whole atmosphere was was rubbish we had to make our own and was the staff was not very pleased if if it had not been for the coach driver this would have been the worst holiday we have ever had with sherrings in the eight years we have been going with them inthe dinning room yo was taken to a different table every night you didnot have yor own each day you had to sit where you was told this wasrrubbish never again if this is the coast and country hotels nver again thank you

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leonard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

I am not sure you actually read your review back before you posted it but I will try and comment on it the best I can.
You gave value for money 1 star. For your coach travel, excursions out and 4 nights half board you paid £137.92 each. Also included in the holiday was £25 in-house credit which you could use to spend on any food and drink (including cheese from the A La Carte menu) within the hotel. In real terms you paid £122.92 for your holiday. I am not sure what you can normally get for £122 but I would say what you were given here was way more than 1 star value. Perhaps a reality check is required!
There are choices for diabetics on every menu. As most restaurants do, booking is required and when you arrive at the restaurant, you are shown to a table.
We advertise a peaceful relaxing hotel with “some” nights entertainment. Atmosphere is created by the guests themselves.
If you were looking for more entertainment, perhaps you should have booked one of our Bay Hotels.
Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

once again cannot fault the hotel and the staff Melvin in reception and May and all restaurant staff were a very helpfull and friendly lot of people if I had one very minor criticism it would be that the vegtables were a little undercooked but on the whole a very good five day break thanks to all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wylie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Thank you so much for the lovely review. I will pass on your comments to both Melvin and May. We hope its not too long before we see you again. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews