We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel, amazing value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Portpatrick Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My brother and I had two single rooms in the Portpatrick for an overnight stay on Sunday 10th Nov. The hotel is at the top of a hill with amazing views over the harbour and towards Ireland. It was a blustery night but we had a great time, with good bar food and very helpful staff (our waiter was from Valencia) and was also manning the reception as it wasn't busy that night.
Excellent value for money, great breakfast - smoked salmon and scrambled eggs plus Scottish porridge. Highly recommend and would imagine it's amazing in the summer.

Room Tip: Single room 221 was overlooking the harbour and 223 was just overlooking the sea. Both ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirls B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thanks for that review. It was a very quiet night and it was Carlos you met. He is our assistant manager. The village comes to life in the summer months and when you can see the views, they are amazing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Just returned from a weekend stay at this hotel. The entrance hall and public areas are well decorated and welcoming. The dining room is bright and spacious. Food was good and staff very polite. We paid extra for a sea view, and although the view of the harbour was impressive, the window was small. It was also draughty, had a cracked pane of glass and in need of a coat of paint. The bathroom was cold (only towel heater), the window frame marked with damp and also in need of painting. On a positive note the bedroom itself (115) was clean and the beds comfortable. Overall it was a nice, relaxing break made better by lovely weather. We would be happy to return to this hotel once it was fully upgraded as it's in a superb location.

Room Tip: Not worth extra money for sea view in Room 115 and bathroom very cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you very much for the review. I am glad you enjoyed your short break here at Portpatrick. We try our best to keep on top of the maintenance the hotel and the issues you raised will be dealt with as soon as possible. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

we are just back from Portpatrick hotel. was a great wee relaxing weekend away. our room was a sea view. very nicely decorated. the only fault we had was the windows are draughty. but it didn.t spoil the weekend the views made up for it. the food was very nice ,The staff are very well mannered and polite. we will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AyrshireHipnose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

It was very nice of you to take time and write the review. I will pass on your comments to all concerned. We will look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Just returned from a 5 day coach break. Whilst we have stayed at many Bay Hotels this was our first visit to a Coast and Country Hotel. We were impressed with the public areas which were all well refurbished. Our Room (113) was a superior double with sea view. The bedroom was of a high standard with a large window overlooking the harbour. The bathroom was quite small but of a high standard of decor. The food quality was good and the time slot allocation for dinner made it more relaxed and meant the service was better than most bay hotels where many people converge on the restaurant when it opens. The coach trips out were very enjoyable despite mixed weather and the driver ( Simon) was very informative.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you very much for the review. It was kind of you to take time to write such a positive one about the hotel and what we do. I will thank you for Simon as well, as I know he reads these reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We went to this hotel for a three night weekend break and I could not find any fault. The hotel is spotless bright and airy. The staff are all fantastic nothing is too much bother. The bar is very reasonable and well stocked. Service at meals is first class and food is good although choice is a bit limited. Our room was excellent and close to lift as requested. All in all a great hotel.
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank coatbrigjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you so much for posting a lovely review. I am really glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Portpatrick with no stat nav look for the war memorial and turn right and straight up the hill and the hotel is on the left.Arriving on a very wet Friday afternoon the hotel entrance was very warm and we had a nice welcome from a friendly man I found out his name later to be Melvin who gave us our room key,Melvin certainly loved his job and talking to the guests.Our evening meal was 1st class I started with a starter of blue stilton cheese pear on a rocket salad with toasted walnuts.The main course I had was duck port and wild mushrooms pudding with a very nice crispy savoury crust.A good nights sleep in room 204 which was very clean and beds good and unbelievably quiet inthis room but also in the hotel itself. I had a full breakfast with 2 eggs very good evening meal the food we had was very very good and different also our waitress Hazil was very good and she worked hard.The hotel has a nice lounge area and separate T.V. room.Sat night entertainment was very good.Breakfast Sunday again very good with Douwe Egberts continental coffee also with 2 independent toasters which are excellent to do your own toast as and when needed so it is nice and hot ,All the hotels should have them to save on the waste of bread over 12 months Sunday evening a superb dinner I could not fault the food I had in this hotel I wish it was nearer than the 217 miles one way.the only thing that lets the hotel down is the London / Paris bar prices and wine that can be bought for £5.00.

Room Tip: 203 and 204
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 549dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for the review. Its always nice to hear from guests when they have enjoyed their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My girlfriend and I were with the Caledonian Coach party that came down on Friday the 18th October-20th October. We were both really pleasantly surprised at the way the hotel had been redecorated since we last visited the hotel a good few years ago when we both came up from the village were we where staying to have a meal. Our room was just right for us, nice sea view though the weather was bad we still enjoyed it. Nice to be able to sit down at meal times and get served or dinner and breakfast( last couple of trips recently were buffet), staff were excellent,food good and all round a great few days break. Was nice to come back to Portpatrick and relax in a nice hotel. Will be back. Big thank you to the girl in the bar who was really friendly and charming.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theedge360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

I am glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Portpatrick Hotel. Hopefully we will see you again soon. I will pass your comments to the bar staff as I’m not quite which one you mean. Thanks again for writing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
0.2 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
375 reviews
11.5 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mount Stewart Hotel
Mount Stewart Hotel
#5 of 14 in Portpatrick
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portpatrick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portpatrick Hotel

Address: Heugh Road, Portpatrick DG9 8TQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Price Range: £73 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Portpatrick Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portpatrick is a small fishing village set in a peaceful and unspoilt corner of Southern Scotland. The Portpatrick Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore this delightful area. The Portpatrick Hotel is a spectacular property standing on Galloway’s clifftops in nine acres of grounds, overlooking the village and its secluded harbour. The area is a haven for lovers of sports and the outdoors, with its own tennis court and 9-hole golf course. You’ll also find a variety of wonderful opportunities for birdwatching and fishing. From the hotel you can enjoy day trips to nearby Stranraer, magnificent historical sites and gardens, or even a trip by ferry to Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Portpatrick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portpatrick Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing