We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Portpatrick Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Portpatrick Hotel last weekend. It has a wonderful location overlooking the harbour with steps down. The staff are friendly and efficient, especially Hazel, one of the waitresses who does a wonderful job. The food was good, especially the breakfast which was freshly cooked and piping hot.
The scenery around Portpatrick is stunning, especially the Mull of Galloway. It's a little bit off the beaten track, so not many people are there in winter.
This is our second visit and I recommend this hotel for a peaceful and relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: The front rooms have a wonderful view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolMooney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you very much for the recommendation. We are very fortunate to be in such a lovely location. I will pass your comments onto the staff, hopefully we will see you again soon and thanks again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

stayed here Monday to Friday in March 2014. Had to swap the first room allocated to us as we felt it was a single room with a double bed in it and had no shower. no problem the very helpful staff offered us a bigger room complete with shower. Be careful if you are tall as the rooms on the second floor are built into the roof and have sloping ceilings, I banged my head on numerous occasions. Having said that the Hotel rooms though dated are kept spotlessly clean and the hotel is in a wonderful location overlooking the harbour town of Portpatrick. The staff work tirelessly to make your stay comfortable and the food was excellent.

Room Tip: rooms on the first floor would suit taller people, views from the front are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for the review and the kind comments on the staff and food. The style and design of the listed building which was built in 1905, makes the lower ceilings on the second floor, difficult to eradicate. For the majority of our guests, this is not an issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at Portpatrick Hotel .The staff friendly hotel was very warm in the dining area. Advice don't stay in room 106 the bed was very noisey every time you moved or got out of the bed it made a loud noise hardly slept for 3 nights plus you are right at the top of the entertainment room. And at the back of the hotel of course you get the noise from kitchen deliveries the first night there woke up with the Rentokil van 12.00 till 3.00am. But the hotel was very nice would stay again but would pick the front of the hotel .Food breakfast very nice evening meal not much choice unless you fancy spicey food should be more down to earth food .

Room Tip: Avoid room 106
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for the review. I am sorry about the bed. We are in the process of replacing a large number of beds at present. Unfortunately our once-a-year extraction cleaning happened during your stay. The entertainment finishes no later than 10.30pm so I don’t really know why this kept you awake. I’m also not sure what is meant by “down to earth food” We have on offer between the “Table D’Hote” and “A La Carte” menus a choice of 13 main courses each night. These are choices that include items like fish and chips, roast beef, steak, poached salmon as well as a chef’s dish of the day. To be fair, the dish of the day could be a curry but they are normally quite mind. Thanks again for taking the time to write and I do hope this experience has not put you off re-visiting Portpatrick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have just spent an enjoyable 4 night stay at The Portpatrick Hotel. The food was very good, the staff friendly, helpful and efficient and the room was clean and comfortable.
Special mention to Hazel and Melvin who seemed to go the extra mile to ensure everyone was well looked after.
However there are 2 points which really need to be sorted out.
Firstly the hot water supply was very intermittent and for several hours there was no hot water at all. I drew this to the attention of members of staff daily and they acknowledged that this is an on-going issue. I heard several of our fellow guests complaining about this to members of staff. This really needs to be addressed and I feel it is unsatisfactory not to be able to have a hot shower or even a wash when the guest wants one.
Secondly the room we stayed in was a standard room but I do not feel that it was up to standard at all. Although clean and comfortable the general décor of the room and en suite was tired and shabby. Again I mentioned this to hotel staff and I heard fellow guests also complaining about this.
We would certainly stay at this hotel again but would enjoy our stay more if the above issues were rectified.
I have also emailed my comments to Shearlings.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for the kind comments on the hotel, food and staff. I will pass them on especially to Hazel and Melvin. We are about to begin a bedroom refurbishment on some rooms and are getting the hot water system checked by specialists. So hopefully when you return, the issues you had will no longer be there. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just returned from 3 nights staying at Portpatrick what a place to stay situation on top of the cliff overlooking the sea was superb the hotel was perfect warm and comfortable friendly welcoming helpful staff, the food and choice of menu was excellent and we had a lovely room 113 overlooking the sea , harbour and village it was warm clean with a good bathroom lots of hot water. Would recommend to our friends and would like to return.

Room Tip: room113 overlooking sea and harbour excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for the lovely review. I am so glad you enjoyed your short stay with us. Please do come again and recommending us to others would be greatly appreciated. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

A return trip to the Portpatrick Hotel for another weekend of music and great company. We were there from Friday / Sunday, two evenings of music in a great setting, the band played in a beautiful room which I assume doubles as a function room.
As we found last year lovely welcoming staff, super food on offer, breakfast excellent.
The view from our sea facing room was stunning, I am hoping we get another wee break there soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Everyone seemed to enjoy the weekend. The good news is we are doing it again next year on the 27th & 28th February 2015. Thanks for taking the time to write a review and hopefully we'll see you next year if not before.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Just come back from 5 day coach tour to Portpatrick hotel with my husband, friendly relaxed hotel, food was excellent, good choice on menu , like time slot for evening meal service excellent with lovely waiting staff, thank you Angela and Kayleigh, beautiful views of the village, stormy weather made for crashing waves, loved it! All staff were so friendly and made you feel so welcome, we needed a relaxing break and this hotel ticked all the boxes, thank you to everyone at hotel, would recommend hotel , also thank you to Kelly at the bar.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

It was very kind of you to take the time to write such a lovely review. I will pass on your comments to Angela, Kayleigh and Kelly. Thank you very much for also recommending us and hopefully it won’t be too long before we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
0.2 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
272 reviews
11.5 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
289 reviews
25.3 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
110 reviews
5.8 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portpatrick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portpatrick Hotel

Address: Heugh Road, Portpatrick DG9 8TQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Price Range: £42 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Portpatrick Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portpatrick is a small fishing village set in a peaceful and unspoilt corner of Southern Scotland. The Portpatrick Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore this delightful area. The Portpatrick Hotel is a spectacular property standing on Galloway’s clifftops in nine acres of grounds, overlooking the village and its secluded harbour. The area is a haven for lovers of sports and the outdoors, with its own tennis court and 9-hole golf course. You’ll also find a variety of wonderful opportunities for birdwatching and fishing. From the hotel you can enjoy day trips to nearby Stranraer, magnificent historical sites and gardens, or even a trip by ferry to Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Portpatrick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portpatrick Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing