We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Portpatrick Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just returned from a four night break here. Spacious hotel with several lounge areas all refurbished in contemporary style. Single room (216 ) had all that I needed, great to awake each morning and look out onto the fabulous harbour view. The food was excellent with a good choice, loved the ' make your own toast ' machine at breakfast ensuring fresh toast.. Staff all very pleasant and helpful. Gardens well maintained and very colourful with masses of bedding plants. Enjoyed sitting out on the terrace in the evenings just admiring the view and breathing the fresh sea air. The walk down to the village is not as bad as I had imagined, plenty of the older guests managed it without difficulty, there are three benches to rest on down the steps. Portpatrick taxis charge £3 each way if you don't want to walk, ask at reception for the number. This is the perfect place to chill out. I will definitely stay here again !

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tillytops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you so much for the kind comments. We have had some fantastic weather recently which has made the views more beautiful than normal. Thanks again and hopefully we will see you sometime in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

We chose this hotel as a break for my 60th birthday (it was actually on the Wednesday of a Mon to Fri break). I cannot give a bad revue of the hotel which was clean & comfortable, the staff were pleasant and competent and the food was very good and the situation is very picturesque. But...oh dear.....NO ENTERTAINMENT at all.
It is a very steep walk down into a beautiful little quaint fishing village which has a couple of pubs and restaurants but as it is £8/£10 for a taxi back up the hill to the hotel (the taxi has to come from Stranraer - 6 miles away) it adds up to a rather expensive night out. I am sure it wouldn't be too expensive for Shearings (the owners of the hotel) to provide entertainment a couple of evenings a week, even if it was just a quiz or something. So I can honestly say it was a VERY quiet birthday and not exactly what we had envisaged.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are excellent at summer/good weather but avoid at winter/cold weather as windows VERY...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodyclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for the review. We do not have entertainment on during the summer months as we found it was normally unused. On most nights the entertainer was singing to just one or two guests while we had around 90 guests staying. Most preferred doing their own thing. I think you miss informed regarding taxis. There is a local taxi which charges £2 – £3 to go up and down to the village. He is available at all times except Sunday night and all day Monday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed for 5 nights with my wife as part of a Shearings coach holiday. Hotel is located up on headland overlooking harbour and is in a superb location with a verandah to relax out on. We were well pleased with everything about it as the comfort, cleanliness and service were all of a high standard. Food was good both at breakfast and dinner with a reasonable choice over our stay. Portpatrick is a lovely little place with its traditional fishing harbour, albeit few shops, but with many restaurants and pubs. It is particularly popular at weekends. However, if the weather was poor you would be restricted to the hotel's comforts, for although there are many very scenic coastal walks and interesting gardens to visit, there is little close that can be enjoyed if it turned wet. The position of hotel on headland may also prove a difficulty for anyone less agile, albeit it provides easy access to start of most popular trek along cliff path. In trying to find negatives about the Portpatrick Hotel, these are limited to the need for exterior to soon be repainted, breakfast should start earlier than 8.00am to avoid regular queueing at this time and a wifi code being made available for guests use. We had a most enjoyable stay at Portpatrick and well recommend this hotel. For those on the coach tours, the two day trips are both very good.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking rear appeared to be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write. I’m afraid to say that it would matter how early we started breakfast, there would be a queue. Some people just need to be in as soon as it opens. Even when they are not going anywhere for the whole day. It’s one human nature I will never understand. There is no code for the Wi-Fi. Guests have to sign in and create an account. Their user name is their email address and their password is the one they have chosen during account set-up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Having stayed several times before, in rooms, first time to the Apartments,at front of hotel.
Only one complaint arrived and no receptionist, dual job with bar staff , disaster, ignored and walked passed ,for at least five minutes,no apology,given key,and sent on our way.
For this reason we did not go into hotel at all for five days we were there, shame as this is our favourite hotel in the country, or was, now we have to rethink. Phil the manager took the complaint serious, and Melvin was great on booking as always.
We will return we are sure,as its a staffing problem, not necessary a staff problem, come on employ two people to do the jobs properly.e agree with all previous reviews,so you know we must have been dissapointed,on this occasion..

Room Tip: Apartments are clean basic but adequate and with private entrance which is great, wonderful sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thanks for your comments. I was disappointed to hear about your welcome, it was far from normal. I do hope this has not put you off returning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We phoned this hotel at lunchtime on the day we wanted to stay . Melvin was very good on the phone , and went out of his way to offer us a brilliant deal on a sea view . The weather was gorgeous that day so that`s why we went down . Our en-suite room was spotless throughout , and the view is amazing ( see pic ) . We had a great breakfast in probably the grandest breakfast room ever,and the staff were very good too . As a small consideration , mobility is pretty important if you walk down to the harbour and back up . I was pretty puffed out when I got back up the cliff .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for writing. I’m glad Melvin was able to help you. He always does his best for all guests. The cliff is a bit of a hike, but as you say, the views when you get here are well worth it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Wow!!! What an amazing surprise. We went here for a 5 day break with Shearings, and what a break it was.
The Hotel is spectacular (although could do with a lick of paint) but thats a minor thing. The decor is up to date and very comfy, all rooms have been updated and new furniture installed. Staff are all very friendly and nothing is too much.
Food, well they deserve some recognition, as it was absolutely exceptional. I would recommend the 3 fish mousse and the 3 berry mousse, the taste was one to leave you wanting more, but on saying that, all the food was of an extremely high standard and presentation.
The coastal line is vast and spectacular views and hidden gems await to greet you around every bend of the coastal path, spectacular, and breath taking and so much to see, wild life, hidden coves, and coastal walks leave you with little time to explore the rest of the west coast.
Port Patrick itself is a delight, and relaxing, a wonderful place to destress.
Logan Gardens is well worth a visit, the plants, flowers and smells are exquisite.
As a 5 day break, not long enough, but my oh my.... it sure was fantastic. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you are one for taking in the views, pay extra for a sea view, well worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pelecara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you so much for the review. We have just finished refurbishing 16 rooms with a further 16 planned in the near future. We shall also be doing some repair work on the outside which will included painting. All the local gardens around us do extremely well with visitors normally highly praising them all. Thanks again and hopefully you’ll return this way soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I thought that I was never going to get to Portpatrick but when I did I found this perfect little bay with picturesque houses and the amazing Edwardian splendour of the Portpatrick Hotel commanding the best view over the idyllic harbour. The next delightful surprise was that I had been upgraded to a superior room with a perfect view over the harbour. This Edwardian
hotel has been extensively renovated so the bathroom is modern with good facilities, the bedroom was well proportioned and tastefully furnished. The original sash windows are in need of renovation but as the weather for our visit was warm and sunny we did not suffer any draughts.
The hotel is a good base for exploring the coastline of Dumfries and Galloway which is beautiful.
The hotel is very quiet after evening dinner but it is only a short walk away to the harbour where there is a lively pub serving real ales.

Room Tip: You must have a view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Very kind of you to write such a nice review. This is a beautiful area that is often missed when tourists visit Scotland, they seem to just want to go north. I do hope you visit again soon. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
0.2 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
266 reviews
5.8 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
109 reviews
11.5 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
5.9 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stranraer
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portpatrick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portpatrick Hotel

Address: Heugh Road, Portpatrick DG9 8TQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Price Range: £73 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Portpatrick Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portpatrick is a small fishing village set in a peaceful and unspoilt corner of Southern Scotland. The Portpatrick Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore this delightful area. The Portpatrick Hotel is a spectacular property standing on Galloway’s clifftops in nine acres of grounds, overlooking the village and its secluded harbour. The area is a haven for lovers of sports and the outdoors, with its own tennis court and 9-hole golf course. You’ll also find a variety of wonderful opportunities for birdwatching and fishing. From the hotel you can enjoy day trips to nearby Stranraer, magnificent historical sites and gardens, or even a trip by ferry to Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Portpatrick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portpatrick Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing