We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Portpatrick Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh on sea
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent holiday”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Recently stayed at this Hotelon a Shearings Coach holiday. Portpatrick was a very picturesque harbour,quite a little gem. The location of the hotel and the view from the hotel was perfect.
The hotel was excellent.The staff were very friendly and the meals,service and choice of menu were all very acceptable. Our bedroom ( room 110 ) had been refurbished, very smartly and modern and was spotlessly clean.We could have done with a little more hanging space in the wardrobe though.
Keith the Shearings driver was excellent, and we really enjoyed the included excursions. The weather was glorious all week.Sunny and sometimes too hot at times. We were able to go on some cliff walks and one that started right outside the hotel.and went to a lighthouse was amazing.( It was rather tricky in places and rather risky .You need to be fit and capable.
We would not hesitate to recommend this holiday

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janice b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you very much for the kind review. You are correct in saying that the walk to the lighthouse is not for everyone, but those who can manage it find it really worth while. I will pass your kind comments onto the staff. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    205
    80
    27
    16
See reviews for
51
324
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very impressive when viewed from afar…. But when viewed close up it is a sad looking building, in need of an exterior face lift.
Interior was much better, seemed to have had a refurbishment in the dining room and the guest lounges. The hotel is in a fantastic situation.

Our room was on the second floor which was the top floor, we couldn’t get a wifi signal, but could in the reception area lounge. We had requested a high floor and got what we asked for. Unfortunately the room was on the small size with a slopping ceiling which made it feel even smaller. On the plus side it had been updated with new furniture and furnishings.

The bathroom however had only been half updated, it still had the old bath with rust around the bath handles and taps, areas of the bath had chips out of it. The over bath shower had a faulty temperature guide – the red arrow direction was cold and blue was hot! It also had a very noisy extractor fan. The tiles which were probably from the 1980’s judging by the design and colour had areas of new grouting and areas where there was no grout at all! Rusty metal tissue box.

Evening meals were ok but not very inspiring – would you really eat sprouts and carrots with a butternut squash and goat’s cheese patty? Desserts were acceptable but they ran out of vanilla ice cream . The breakfasts were fine if you want a full Scottish, personally I don’t! There were cereals and porridge, toast, you can have yoghurt – but only strawberry! Croissant – sorry we’ve run out, fresh fruit?- what would you like?- What have you got?- offered Banana, or an orange! – very disappointing not really encouraging healthy eating!

The staff we encountered were very helpful and pleasant and are an asset to the hotel. We would return as it is a lovely area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westmorland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for writing. Work on the outside will be starting in the next few weeks and some more internal upgrades are planned for the near future. These will include bathrooms. We can only do a little at a time on the budgets we have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in July 2014. Had last been there c30 years ago and what was good then is still good now - location, staff, service and general ambience of the hotel. Whilst it's now owned by Country Hotels and predominantly used by Shearings customers, we travelled under our own steam on a DB&B basis and had a very enjoyable stay. We had the benefit of a Superior Room and this was definitely a good option. Great views of the village and out to sea and very generous accommodation. Rooms are a tad dated but perfectly comfortable and whilst many of the windows of the property could do with being replaced and some coats of paint/varnish applied externally and in public areas, there seems to be an ongoing programme to do so. Only downside is that WiFi access, whilst free, is limited to only some areas of the ground floor - it would be useful if this were to be extended to all areas. Overall - no complaints, staff very helpful and both accommodation and cuisine more than acceptable.We would have no hesitation in returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Sea View - 1st floor or 2nd floor & consider that being a Superior one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMY71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for the review. We are about to commence some works on the outside of the building to repair/paint the areas you mentioned. With limited budgets to work with, some things take time to be done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have been to this village and this hotel a good few times but this month's visit was a good deal better than earlier ones which were by no means bad. Admittedly the glorious weather which was in train when we arrived made the spirits soar before we even stepped into the hotel. The grounds of the hotel had been tastefully set out with some good floral areas and the lawns were in top order. The room we had this time had been recently refurbished and to a generally high standard although a few more drawer spaces would not have gone amiss.
The staff in general are most helpful, friendly and both attentive and fast moving. The restaurant food was most pleasant and the menus more imaginative than on previous occasions.. The site of this hotel on the clifftop provides superb views of not only any activities on the water or in the village below but also at more distance one frequently can see the Irish coast and down towards the Mull of Galloway.
The village itself is both picturesque and peopled by friendly natives and many "regulars" among the holidaymakers. There are plenty of fascinating places to visit within a few miles--gorgeous parks and gardens, lovely seaside villages some with excellent sandy beaches, delightful rural eating places and to burn off the calories some excellent walks!
We have no hesitatation in recommending this area and the hotel is improving in many ways and provides a good place to base yourselves.

Room Tip: ASk for a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suntravellers65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you very much for the review. It is nice to read positive views of not only the hotel but also of the village and surrounding area. It’s also good to read you would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thanks again for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife and myself stayed here as part of an eight day Holiday with Shearings Coaches. We found it to be value for money, but the rooms themselves should be re-furbished they are a little worn out and very old fashioned, but considering the age of the building itself it is understandable. We both enjoyed our stay her, but both commented that we were glad that we did not pay the full advertised price for our stay here. Shearings need to look at doing work on many of their Hotels now as we have been to a lot in the past couple of years and find them mainly in old buildings that require up dating and refurbishment. Other Companies we have been with are beginning to give far better value for the money paid for such Holidays, and we think Shearings should take note of this. We received very good service in the Restaurant and in particular from our Waitress Hazel who really excelled in her service to us on our table whilst we were there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BALI2007BALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
It was good of you to take time and write a review. We have been refurbishing rooms a few at a time. We recently just completed a refurbishment which was 30% of the hotel accommodation. This on top of what we have already done means over half the hotel bedrooms and all public areas have been refurbished in recent years. It is a slower process than we would have hoped for but when we have to discount the holidays, the way we did for yourself, means much less profit to reinvest. I will pass your kind comments onto Hazel. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is our summer visit to the Portpatrick Hotel. We stayed in one of the newly refurbished bed rooms. it was very attractive and comfortable. Lovely to meet the happy, friendly staff again, also the holiday makers on the coach tours, usually from a very different part of the UK. making for interesting conversation. Fantastic scenery, gardens to visit and places to walk. to add to this we had red hot weather, Pure Bliss.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South side over look the beautiful harbour, but a small amount of noise can drift up to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Its good to hear that the newly refurbish rooms are being appreciated. We are hoping to get some more done just shortly. Thanks for the review and we do look forward to welcoming you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Just come back from a Shearing's Coach Trip to this hotel. Excellent hotel, clean and had just been updated. Our room had a wonderful view over the sea and harbour. Food excellent - good menu choice. Up to date best Shearing's hotel we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Paying extra for a sea view is a must as the hotel is on the hillside with views over the harbour an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fido00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for the review. I am so pleased you liked the hotel, staff and the holiday as a whole. I will pass your comments on to the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
0.2 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
245 reviews
2.0 mi away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
107 reviews
5.8 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
359 reviews
17.5 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portpatrick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portpatrick Hotel

Property: The Portpatrick Hotel
Address: Heugh Road, Portpatrick DG9 8TQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Portpatrick Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portpatrick is a small fishing village set in a peaceful and unspoilt corner of Southern Scotland. The Portpatrick Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore this delightful area. The Portpatrick Hotel is a spectacular property standing on Galloway’s clifftops in nine acres of grounds, overlooking the village and its secluded harbour. The area is a haven for lovers of sports and the outdoors, with its own tennis court and 9-hole golf course. You’ll also find a variety of wonderful opportunities for birdwatching and fishing. From the hotel you can enjoy day trips to nearby Stranraer, magnificent historical sites and gardens, or even a trip by ferry to Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Portpatrick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portpatrick Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing