We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Portpatrick Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Stay here for our 1st wedding anniversary and boy what a good decision! Hotel was first class it looks a big dirty on the outside but when you get in why a surprise! The decor was nice a modern, room was brilliant and the staff were so professional. We had a brill evening and day!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeharrison74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Congratulations on your first anniversary. Thanks for spending it with us and thanks for the review. I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    196
    77
    27
    15
See reviews for
47
310
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

went on a weekend break Friday 1st august till Monday 4th we had a single room for my mother in law which on our request was next door,all facilities suited her a she is 84 and has a 3 wheel walker,dining room staff were excellent and food was very good at all meals with a good choice,staff on reception and in the bar were so nice and informative,as it was RNLI gala week in the port we got a great view of the raft race on the Friday and a superb bonfire and fireworks display on the Saturday night .a bigger range of area wifi in the hotel would help

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thanks for the nice review. We are hoping to extend the range of the WI-FI within the hotel in the near future. Lifeboat week is always very popular with the bonfire and fireworks night being the busiest. If your looking to come again, the fireworks will be on the 8th of August next year. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We arrived on a very wet and windy evening at the Portpatrick hotel , met by a very polite man at reception we stayed in room no 1 , with patio doors out onto a lovely lawn , great views of the harbour below and the crashing waves against the rocks what a vantage point this hotel has.
The massive room and huge bed where warm on a cold August night -- the evening meal was lovely and breakfast the same , all in all it was a great value for money stay .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roppas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
I’m glad you really enjoyed your stay even when the weather was so poor. We have guests who come in the winter just to watch the crashing waves. The winter scenery can be just as spectacular as a beautiful summer sunset. Thanks for writing the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

From the moment I arrived on this Shearings holiday, it was fantastic...... check in went very smoothly, was allocated a single seaview room on the second floor (221) the room was big enough for me, tho it did have a slanted roof ..... but I am only five feet tall, so this didn't pose any problem for me. There was a shower head over the bath, found this a bit difficult to use. I have health issues, but the hotel was unaware of this. However, for two nights, I managed.
The meals were very tasty with great choices, all of the staff were very pleasant and courteous. The scenery in the surrounding area was second to none..... the bar also had a very varied selection of snacks and drinks.
I will certainly be back, and definitely recommending this hotel to my family and friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview.... simply stunning ......
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for the review. I have not met anyone yet who disagrees with you views on the scenery. Hopefully you will return this way sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel stands high above the village and looks down on the harbour. It is an impressive building, though up close one can see the need for maintenance and some repair - like the broken guttering just outside our room window. We took a 4 night DB&B break, which was a very reasonable price, which probably accounts for some of the shortcomings.
Staff are friendly and efficient, although the room cleaners failed to notice that our small supplies of shower gel had run out after one night and did not replace whilst we were there. The room was of 'standard' category and was clean, although a little dated with some paint flaking from the cornices and a very creaky old bed. At least we had a sea view, which most standard rooms do not have.
Meals are OK, but there's enough items missing to make a good score impossible. At breakfast time one doesn't see any sign of fresh fruit, croissants or pastries, whilst small bowls of grapefruit [presumably tinned] or prunes seem to be available only on request. Evening meals are from a basic menu which changes daily, whilst there is also an a la carte menu which one can choose from at a reduced price from that shown. Unfortunately the coffee resembles just brown water and had little or no taste.
Overall a reasonable package at a hotel in a fine location, but with enough shortcomings to make the whole experience less than wonderful.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room and one with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for the review. All rooms receive a complimentary toiletries pack. The guest information in the rooms explain these are replenished daily on request. Outside maintenance work will commence in the next week or so. This includes repairing guttering as well as painting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humshaugh,hexham United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We booked the hotels self catering apartments for our family holiday whilst our parents stayed in the main hotel,this was a most enjoyable stay,apartments beautifully re-furbished,well equipped with the most amazing views of port patrick harbour and out to sea.
The hotel is set high on the cliff top so maybe best suited to families with slightly older children however its only 5 mins in car down to the town.nearby sandhead beach is great with excellent amenities and brilliant restaurant tigh na marra would highly recommend this hotel to everyone .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you very much. Our selfcatering are becoming more popular. They seem to have been a secret for years. Their recent refurbishment has certainly helped with the growth of their popularity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh on sea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Recently stayed at this Hotelon a Shearings Coach holiday. Portpatrick was a very picturesque harbour,quite a little gem. The location of the hotel and the view from the hotel was perfect.
The hotel was excellent.The staff were very friendly and the meals,service and choice of menu were all very acceptable. Our bedroom ( room 110 ) had been refurbished, very smartly and modern and was spotlessly clean.We could have done with a little more hanging space in the wardrobe though.
Keith the Shearings driver was excellent, and we really enjoyed the included excursions. The weather was glorious all week.Sunny and sometimes too hot at times. We were able to go on some cliff walks and one that started right outside the hotel.and went to a lighthouse was amazing.( It was rather tricky in places and rather risky .You need to be fit and capable.
We would not hesitate to recommend this holiday

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janice b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you very much for the kind review. You are correct in saying that the walk to the lighthouse is not for everyone, but those who can manage it find it really worth while. I will pass your kind comments onto the staff. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
0.2 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
2.0 mi away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
11.4 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
5.8 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stranraer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portpatrick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portpatrick Hotel

Property: The Portpatrick Hotel
Address: Heugh Road, Portpatrick DG9 8TQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Portpatrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Portpatrick Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portpatrick is a small fishing village set in a peaceful and unspoilt corner of Southern Scotland. The Portpatrick Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore this delightful area. The Portpatrick Hotel is a spectacular property standing on Galloway’s clifftops in nine acres of grounds, overlooking the village and its secluded harbour. The area is a haven for lovers of sports and the outdoors, with its own tennis court and 9-hole golf course. You’ll also find a variety of wonderful opportunities for birdwatching and fishing. From the hotel you can enjoy day trips to nearby Stranraer, magnificent historical sites and gardens, or even a trip by ferry to Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Portpatrick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portpatrick Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing