We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Manse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 24 Stranraer B&B and Inns
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A home from home.”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

After cycling 94 miles in atrocious weather, I arrived at The Old Manse soaked and bedraggled, to be greeted like a long lost friend. The charming period ambience of the house reflects the warmth and generous spirit of the family; nothing was too much trouble for Marilyn, Bill & Nick, to all of whom many thanks for making my stay so comfortable. And they've got the biggest bath in the world; heaven for a 6'5" bloke with weary legs. After a really good night's sleep and a great breakfast, I was really sorry to leave in the morning. But I'll be back, for sure; dry, in a vehicle, and with my wife. If you're reading this with a view to staying, do so. To quote Bill Bryson; 'Do it now. Take my car!'.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
30
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Great, friendly people and a beatiful old building.
Comfortable and clean and a great full Scottish breakfast along with easy walking distance into town.
What more could I need - nothing.
Thanks folks

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

my sisters and I stayed on 21st April, Marilyn and her family are very accommodating and pleasant, the rooms are full of charm and spotlessly clean. I could have spent all evening admiring the Victorian furniture, ornaments and pictures. the family even moved their own car so we could all park our cars in a private and securely locked area behind the guest house. the breakfast offered was not only delicious and included, orange juice, tea,coffee, fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, toast and a full cooked English but we were told there was rush for us to leave and we could have breakfast as late as we liked! the bath is so deep it could easily hold 3! not only was a selection of expensive bubble bath, shampoos etc left for our use, there was also Johnsons baby shampoo n bath wash as we had a 3 year old with us, the 3 year old also had a choice of baby organic yogurt at breakfast! so many personal touches to make guests feel welcome I couldn't list them all! we will definitely return and I would recommend the Old Manse to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosie_carroll2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armadale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed in the family room on 9th April and it was really pleasant. We really enjoyed it all. Marylin and her husband were very friendly and they were really good with the children. The little puppy was delightful. We advised we were booked on the early Stena ferry to Belfast and they kindly left us cereal, fruit and fruit juice for the morning. Beautiful house and very nice people. Will definately recommend them to anyone and will use them again.

Room Tip: Beautiful big family room - bed a little soft for our liking but otherwise no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I recently stayed at the Old Manse on a business trip - I booked on the strength of the previous reviews and was not disappointed. Although many people now expect all rooms to be en suite, the lack of this facility did not detract from the stay; in fact the private faclities were larger and more extensive than usually offered. Likewise the bedroom was huge with lots of period character and personal touches. Breakfast was superb and set me up for the day.
Marilyn, Nicky and Barry could not have made me feel more at home if they tried and I promise I will drop in with a legendary 'Jock's Loaf' next time I'm down.
Stranraer sets the standards for me. See you all again soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HCM269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed over the Easter weekend and were so impressed over the quality of service and standard of the rooms and breakfast. We were recieved with a warm welcome and our room was beautiful and spotlessly clean. The owner has an excellent taste in decor if you like rustic elegance. Very central location in Stranraer and very accomodating with breakfast/checkout times. Fantastic value and a wonderful place to stay. Every room has tea and coffee facilities and toiletries were provided. We would recommend this to anyone and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merlot90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Arrived unannounced at 1700 and could not have received a warmer welcome.

Such a fantastic Bed and Breakfast and the just the antidote to someone who has to use chain hotels for business.

Great establishment

Room Tip: front room was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunbar2873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stranraer
5.5 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stranraer
108 reviews
5.4 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Thornbank House
Thornbank House
#1 of 24 in Stranraer
184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakeview Guesthouse
Lakeview Guesthouse
#3 of 24 in Stranraer
141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour Lights Guest House
Harbour Lights Guest House
#2 of 24 in Stranraer
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Manse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Manse Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Old Manse Bed and Breakfast
Address: Old Manse Lewis Street | Wigtownshire, Stranraer DG9 7AQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Stranraer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Old Manse Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Manse Bed And Breakfast Stranraer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing