We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Manse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 24 Stranraer B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One night stay”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I stayed one night here with a friend recently. We had a fantastic time in the B&B with exceptional service at all times. I will go out of my way to stay there again and I would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
29
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

7 of us stayed in The Old Manse to break up journey from Belfast to Centreparcs. Was truly part of the holiday rather than just an overnight stop. Stunning Victorian B&B kept in character and full of collectors items. 2 large family rooms with lovely seating area in the bay window. Bathroom, although not en-suite, was for our sole use and worth stepping onto the landing for as it was spacious and beautiful. Our hosts Marilyn and Bill were so welcoming and nothing was any trouble. Breakfast was set out in true Victorian style and the table was laden with fresh fruit, cereal, yoghurt etc followed by a fantastic Scottish cooked breakfast which lasted us most of the day. Will definitely be back and recommend to anyone who wants somewhere special and unique to stay. Thank you Marilyn and Bill for your hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I have just spent a lovely weekend with my three children at The Old Manse, Stranraer. Marilyn and Bill were so welcoming and couldn't do enough for us~ even taking us to the train station for our homeward journey! The house is just as beautiful in "real life" as it is in the photos. The rooms are traditionally furnished and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice. I would whole-heartedly recommend The Old Manse to anyone who was looking for an exceptional value for money Bed and Breakfast. Already looking forward to a return visit!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare42186570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Cave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

a good overnight stop before the ferry next day with a great breakfast, nice hosts, quiet, but which was unfortunately ruined by the old style bed which sagged significantly in middle when I lay on it. Really ruined my back. A modern bed would be a must for me I'm afraid. Everything else was fine.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bpundyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester,
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I stayed here with my 3 sons for two nights, as we were going to Belfast for a day trip to the Titanic museam and this B and B was convienient for the ferry to Ireland.( The ferry port has moved about another 10 minutes drive around the coast from where it used to be and where our Sat Nav said it was). The house is beautiful and the family room was big and spacious with lovely victorian style furniture. There is seating in the bay of the room so we could relax and watch the television. The beds were really comfortable (quite soft) with lts of pillows.The bathroom was down a flight of stairs but very private and again beautiful furnished with lots of victorian touches. The house is immaculate and very clean. Breakfast was lovely, with so many choices on offer including cereal, fresh berries, youghurts, fresh fruit as well as a cooked breakfast which was delicious! Marilyn, our host was very welcoming , friendly and attentive to us, as were other family members we met during our stay. We would definately stay there again and recommend it to anyone looking for a B and B in Stranraer.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpma40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We only stayed for the one night as we were travelling to Belfast the following morning but we were very impressed in the short time we were there. We were made to feel very welcome by Marilyn whose house was absolutely immaculate with beautiful furniture throughout. Although the building is situated within a 5 minute walk of the town centre there is sufficient parking available within 100 yards. Nothing was too much hassle for our host and although we were leaving very early there was more than enough breakfast on offer to set us up for the next leg of our trip.

I would recommend The Old Manse to anyone and will definitely stay for longer the next time I am there.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkjambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My husband and I overnighted at The Old Manse in June the night before a ferry to Ireland. Marilyn, our host was kind enough to pick us up from our bus stop in Stranraer and bring us to her lovely home, just a few minutes away. We were given the front bedroom with the lovely bay windows. The room was comfortable and loaded with period furnishings. We had he best B&B breakfast of our two week trip at the Old Manse, including a bowl of fresh berries, wonderful rhubarb yogurt, eggs, sausage, a delicious flat bread, and more. Marilyn was also kind enough to deliver us to the Stena Line Ferry terminal in Cairnryan the following morning. We appreciated the small treasures found throughout the house, incuding the beautiful old glass bottles in various window ledges and nooks. In admiring them, Marilyn offered for us to take a few home. Her hospitality was outstanding. A very pleasant overnight stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrueSkyeBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stranraer
0.3 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
355 reviews
5.4 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
321 reviews
9.2 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stranraer
105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fernlea Guest House
Fernlea Guest House
#9 of 24 in Stranraer
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour Lights Guest House
Harbour Lights Guest House
#3 of 24 in Stranraer
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Manse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Manse Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Old Manse Bed and Breakfast
Address: Old Manse Lewis Street | Wigtownshire, Stranraer DG9 7AQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Stranraer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Manse Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Manse Bed And Breakfast Stranraer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing