We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful House. Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Manse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 24 Stranraer B&B and Inns
Devon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful House. Convenient”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed here for the weekend while we were in Stranraer visiting family. The house is beautiful with lots of 'old' features. The room we had booked was huge with a double bed and two singles and still so much room! We didn't have children with us but would be ideal for a family. Marilyn, the owner was very generous with the breakfasts - so much to choose from, fresh fruit, cereals yoghurts and of course a full cooked breakfast, as well! We were made to feel very welcome and when we left we were given some of Bill's favourite Scottish beers to sample!! Would definitely recommend and use again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
30
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2013

A positively beautiful building, both inside and out, with such attention to detail to create the period character.
Marilyn, the host, is so attentive and accommodating.
The sum of the building, internal decor, host, food etc make this venue both a delight and a bargain.
Cannot compliment enough.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hadfieldm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
workington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We had been travelling for 14 days, staying in a different place every night. This was definitely the best we had stayed in. The house was fascinating with lots of history and beautifully furnished. Our room was huge with a small lounge area where we were able to relax in the evening.
Marilyn and Bill made us very welcome and we immediately felt at home.
The breakfast the next day was delicious with lots of fresh fruit and tasty, well cooked hot breakfast.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bandbWorkington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I stayed here for the bank holiday with 2 friends. We had the family room which was really convenient. The Old Manse is a very beautiful house and it was lovely to stay there. Really comfortable and warm. We all enjoyed the breakfast and the choice was amazing. Fruit, cereals, yogurts and of course the full cooked breakfast. You can tailor the breakfast to suit.
Nothing was any trouble and we were sorry to leave. If we are in Stranraer we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We saw 2 of the rooms and they were both very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotty118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed here on our way to Ireland and I was travelling with my 8 month old baby. Marilyn made our stay so welcoming and had thought of everything to ensure we felt welcome, The B&B was very clean and so nice and warm, with a lovely fire on in our room. The presentation was beautiful and the room was as pleasant as Marilyn and full of charm! There was baby toys in the room for us and a travel cot, which just made travelling with my son so much more comfortable. The breakfast was amazing, with great variety, a cooked breakfast, fresh fruit, cereal, yoghurts and even petite filous for the baby!

I would recommend this B&B to anyone and it made our journey so relaxing. I will be back and thank you for having us.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 452Z_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We had a lovely overnight stay here when travelling to Ireland, Marilyn was so welcoming and kind our every need was met. When we arrived the warmth of the house was so welcoming as it was cold and miserable. We had a fire in our room with tea coffee and biscuits with fresh milk. The bathroom was wonderful full of charachter and lots of lovely bath products to soak in! After a relaxing night sleep we had an amazing breakfast with all options available including mangoes strawberries and blueberries.

I would recommend this to anyone who loves comfort and old world charm. Thank you for having us and we sill see you later in the year.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GK2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I stayed one night here with a friend recently. We had a fantastic time in the B&B with exceptional service at all times. I will go out of my way to stay there again and I would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stranraer
0.3 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
359 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
511 reviews
5.4 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Thornbank House
Thornbank House
#1 of 24 in Stranraer
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cross Haven Guest House
Cross Haven Guest House
#8 of 24 in Stranraer
89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakeview Guesthouse
Lakeview Guesthouse
#2 of 24 in Stranraer
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Manse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Manse Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Old Manse Bed and Breakfast
Address: Old Manse Lewis Street | Wigtownshire, Stranraer DG9 7AQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Stranraer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Old Manse Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Manse Bed And Breakfast Stranraer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing