We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Manse Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Manse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 27 Stranraer B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 star B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Went to Stranraer for a weekend and stayed for 3 nights. I was really pleased with everything hosts we're really friendly and really helpful. B&B is really nice and big and beautifully decorated and really nice room and nice comfy bed, fresh towels and tea and coffee facilities in room. Bathroom was lovely and big. Breakfast was really nice. So much to choose from and to top it off a nice fresh bowl of strawberries big Scottish raspberries and blueberries it was lovely. I'd definitely recommend this B&B and I would definitely stay here again. great establishment :) 11/10.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wesley Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
28
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

A great place to stay the staff are willing to help and nothing if to much trouble I would recommend the b and b to anyone it is definitely a five star service at a very reasonable price regards john brenda dad carol and princess

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluebird0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Booked this B&B at relatively short notice for an impromptu trip to Scotland. Could not have had nicer hosts, very accommodating and friendly, made us feel welcome even during what seemed to be a family weekend for them. The house is stunning. Huge, comfortable room, and a wonderful bathroom. We almost wanted to move in! The breakfast was lovely, kept us going well into the afternoon on our travels, and the location is just a short walk into the town for an evening meal. I don't know if I will be in that area again but I wish there was one of these everywhere I stayed!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItsCatherineM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Spent one night at this B&B when down in Stranraer for a night time football match with my father. We each had lovely big spacious well furnished rooms. Nice and clean toilet/bathroom facilities and a wonderful breakfast - at only £30pppn it was an absolute bargain. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clyde1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

My family stayed here last night and i cannot reccomend this beautiful friendly b&b highly enough! The owners were welcoming and could not do enough for us even suppling our children with toys! The house itself is stunning, beautifully decorated with huge rooms and the most comfortable sweet smelling beds! tea coffee water and biscuits supplied in the rooms which were spotlessly clean. big array of breakfast choices including fresh berries, yogurts, cereals, juices and best of all a gorgeous full scottish breakfast which after a heavy night was most welcome! Our hosts were brilliant and nothing was too much trouble. We had family staying in other b&bs nearby and they said it wasnt a patch on ours. fantastic value for money, thank you for a lovely stay we will definately be back :-)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kylaw82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stranraer is probably not on the usual path for tourists from the USA but it should be if for no other reason than the Old Manse. My husband, three adult children and I spent four great days there in September. The house is beautiful and filled with interesting antiques in every nook and cranny. The rooms are very generous in size and comfort. The bathroom is down the hall but Marilyn and Bill let rooms to only one couple or family at a time so you won't be sharing the bath with anyone else. And did I say that it is the size of many a bedroom in a NYC apartment? The 8 foot soaking tub is a real treat but not to worry there is also a shower! Breakfast was delicious and included everything from cold cereal to full Scottish breakfast cooked to order. It is within walking distance to the town center and the harbor. If you want to get the feel of a real Scottish town and its people, you have come to right spot. There are also other interesting places to visit nearby. Don't miss the picturesque seaside village of Portpatrick or the Castle Kennedy Gardens. If you are looking for Scottish ancestors as we were, you should visit Dumfries or Wigtown (which is also Scotland's National Book Town with its own book festival). Can you tell that we just loved the Old Manse and its hosts Marilyn and Bill. Can't recommend it enough!

Room Tip: There are only two rooms so there isn't a bad room in the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank CookieLaRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We spent one night before our ferry from Scotland to Ireland from Cairnryan nearby. Marilyn was most gracious and welcoming to this lovely old home. Big rooms and many antiques make it an interesting place to see as well as to stay. Excellent breakfast and hospitality! The only negative is the parking situation. One has to go to the corner and turn right at the 2nd turn and come around in through the very narrow alley. The advantage is that your vehicle is behind a locked gate and quite secure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fcspatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stranraer hotels
9.1 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
0.4 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stranraer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stranraer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harbour Lights Guest House
Harbour Lights Guest House
#2 of 27 in Stranraer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.1 mi away
Thornbank House
Thornbank House
#1 of 27 in Stranraer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
4.9 mi away
Torrs Warren Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Manse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Manse Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Old Manse Bed and Breakfast
Address: Old Manse Lewis Street | Wigtownshire, Stranraer DG9 7AQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Stranraer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Old Manse Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Manse Bed And Breakfast Stranraer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing