We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marine House Hotel”
Review of Marine House Hotel

Marine House Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marine House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 25 Stranraer B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Had a lovely over night stay in Marine the room was warm and bed very comfortable.Room had everything you need flat screen tv ,tea and coffee wi- fi .Breakfast was first class and susan was very helpful .

Room Tip: Try and get a room to the front lovely views over loch and park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alex j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2013

Stayed in marine the week end of the big snow ,room was warm and welcoming fresh clen and well layed out .The lady Susan was very freindly and couldnt do enough for us breakfast was first class..I believe the hotel has been just taken over the week before and has had a hugh overhaul.Thanks for a great stay will def be back.

Room Tip: Family room nice a big with wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Would stay in again if I needed a hotel in Stranraer. Friendly staff and owners, lovely homemade food and the rooms are spotless! What more can you ask for?

Views from and position of hotel are perfect. Just a drive along a straight road to get to stena or P&O.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thesecretlist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Booked in for a work assignment in the area. Reception closed, had to go in through a bar which was like a scene from a wild west movie - all went silent when I walked in. Shown to my room by a very, very nice lady (thanks). Into the room - wow, thought I'd walked into a time warp circa 1980. Family room. Squashy bed with the most hideous bedding. Filthy curtains which had obviously been shrunk at some point. Shower room that was very compact.
No food being served that night so had to go in search of somwhere that was open. Found a cafe which was lovely.
Only redeeming factors about this hotel? View from the room and the really nice staff
I will not go back again, I'm afraid. Was booked via work so I did not choose it
Only reason I'm not scoring as 1 is the staff

Room Tip: Top front room for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieMeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The room was clean and bright, with a nice view over the loch, but the bathroom was a bit small. We were unlucky with the timing - on the evening we stayed there was a charity drive downstairs with lots of cheering and shouting. It didn't go on too late, but people with small children would have been worried. There was a full cooked breakfast in the morning, and the staff were great.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timboidicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Stayed one night at the hotel and arrived to a warm welcome. Was able to park my car free at the door of the hotel, and there is also a large free car park almost opposite on the waterfront. Room was ideal and comfortable with all the usual facilities and a modern ensuite bathroom and shower. The free wifi was very useful. Owner kindly drove me to my relatives home in Stranraer. Breakfast was well presented and enjoyable with a large cooked breakfast provided. I understand that the owners, Wendy & Stuart have only been running the Marine House Hotel for a few months, so well done for customer care.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanFaeFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I stayed here with my best friend and her two children for two nights due to a family party .we travelled for 4hours from skelmersdale and on our arrival we were made to feel really wecome.i believe its under new management now and only recently...the rooms were clean,tidy and looked to have recently been painted.we used the hotel bar,and had breakfast both mornings and was brilliant,very friendly.location was lovely right in front of the ocean were the ferries come in.beautiful.kids park over the road,and a shop down the road.they couldnt do enough for us and there children were lovely and polite.........thanks cheryl and kelly..

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chez02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stranraer hotels
0.5 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
393 reviews
0.6 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stranraer
116 reviews
5.4 mi away
Torrs Warren Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Thornbank House
Thornbank House
#1 of 25 in Stranraer
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour Lights Guest House
Harbour Lights Guest House
#2 of 25 in Stranraer
195 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Thistle Inn
The Thistle Inn
#21 of 25 in Stranraer
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine House Hotel

Address: 23 Agnew Crescent, Stranraer DG9 7JZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Stranraer
Price Range: £50 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marine House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marine House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine House Hotel Stranraer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing