We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thornbank House part of marine house”
Review of Marine House Hotel

Marine House Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marine House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 24 Stranraer B&B and Inns
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thornbank House part of marine house”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stayed in Thornbank it is part of marine but is a two min drive from the main building .A lovely warm welcome from Fiona the owner and from start to finish excellent service .I had the deluxe King room with the sea view ,wonderful views over the Loch and over to Ailsa Craig .The room is large and airy and the bed was the comfiest I have every slept in .To top it all the use of a swimming pool hot ,hot tub and sauna and towels and bath robes are provided. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Both rooms have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    13
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
20
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

10/10
I have travelled all over the world and I have never experienced such a genuine welcome to such luxurious surroundings as this. Fiona met us on arrival and was very charming. The room was more like a suite in size and quality if furnishing. If that was not enough she made us a packed lunch as we had to leave early the next day. Did I mention that our 2 small cats were made feel very welcome?

This is how it's done.

Thank you

John and Angela K

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Just stayed 3 nights .Everything was first class . Room was spotless. enormous breakfast, -even the dog got one ! Susan made us very welcome and couldnt do enough for us.Would definitely stay again if travelling up to Stranraer and would recommend for anyone catching the ferry to Ireland.

Room Tip: Specify if stairs are a problem as some rooms are high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Had a lovely over night stay in Marine the room was warm and bed very comfortable.Room had everything you need flat screen tv ,tea and coffee wi- fi .Breakfast was first class and susan was very helpful .

Room Tip: Try and get a room to the front lovely views over loch and park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alex j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Stayed in marine the week end of the big snow ,room was warm and welcoming fresh clen and well layed out .The lady Susan was very freindly and couldnt do enough for us breakfast was first class..I believe the hotel has been just taken over the week before and has had a hugh overhaul.Thanks for a great stay will def be back.

Room Tip: Family room nice a big with wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Would stay in again if I needed a hotel in Stranraer. Friendly staff and owners, lovely homemade food and the rooms are spotless! What more can you ask for?

Views from and position of hotel are perfect. Just a drive along a straight road to get to stena or P&O.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thesecretlist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Booked in for a work assignment in the area. Reception closed, had to go in through a bar which was like a scene from a wild west movie - all went silent when I walked in. Shown to my room by a very, very nice lady (thanks). Into the room - wow, thought I'd walked into a time warp circa 1980. Family room. Squashy bed with the most hideous bedding. Filthy curtains which had obviously been shrunk at some point. Shower room that was very compact.
No food being served that night so had to go in search of somwhere that was open. Found a cafe which was lovely.
Only redeeming factors about this hotel? View from the room and the really nice staff
I will not go back again, I'm afraid. Was booked via work so I did not choose it
Only reason I'm not scoring as 1 is the staff

Room Tip: Top front room for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieMeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stranraer
0.4 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.6 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stranraer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
8.7 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Thornbank House
Thornbank House
#1 of 24 in Stranraer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cross Haven Guest House
Cross Haven Guest House
#9 of 24 in Stranraer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakeview Guesthouse
Lakeview Guesthouse
#3 of 24 in Stranraer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine House Hotel

Property: Marine House Hotel
Address: 23 Agnew Crescent, Stranraer DG9 7JZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Stranraer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Marine House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine House Hotel Stranraer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing