We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant value - nice place to sleep”
Review of The Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan Inn
Ranked #12 of 24 Stranraer B&B and Inns
Hemel Hempstead
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant value - nice place to sleep”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I stayed here as a single business traveller for two nights. It was brilliant value and a nice place to stay. Had a full size fridge stocked with fruit and milk / juice and a toaster with fresh bread and pancakes in the room!!! Brilliant as I said :-) highly recommended and would return immediately if I need to travel to Stranraer again :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    5
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
7
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Only stayed the one night, after driving from West Cork, then Stena Llne Ferry. Had another 6 hours travelling after. Arrived fairly late at night, but that was no problem. Left early after having breakfast.

The room was really well decorated. It was above a pub, so continental breakfast. Everything catered for. Very impressive. Would definately recommend, and stay there again next time we go to West Cork.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed at the Swan as we were meeting the Ferry from Northern Ireland to pick up a puppy. We wanted a dog friendly B & B to take our dog with us. The atmosphere was fab, the family were lovely (especially Murphy the dog!!). I could not fault the place, the family feel was fantastic especially the well mannered children, the beer garden was lovely and very relaxed. The breakfast being in the room as continental was fab - no early alarm clocks!!! I would recommend the Swan to anyone who wants a friendly family orientated chill-out B& B. If you take a dog there is a fab park a few yards away which has lots of bins!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tinny10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the swan inn, the atmosphere is so relaxed and coming and going outside of opening hours was very easy, no "be back by 11 or we lock the doors"! :-) Would definately stay there again, staff are very accommodating and room was cosy and well equipped. 10/10 :-)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nicola-pearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, Ayrshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

I've stayed in various B&B's but the friendly welcoming atmosphere of this B&B surpasses all the rest the couple that run this place are very friendly and welcoming the rooms are very well equipped and very modern in decor I would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the area and I would stay again as it is very good value for money

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank huneyxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2009

we stayed for one night before going for the ferry to northern ireland the room was lovely and the couple who run the inn were very helpfull the breakfast left out for us was nice and the locals in the bar were very friendly

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bluebellsareblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stranraer
0.6 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
355 reviews
8.5 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
5.6 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
321 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stranraer
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Inn

Property: The Swan Inn
Address: 17 Sheuchan Street, Stranraer DG9 0EA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Stranraer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently acquired by new management The Swan Inn is perfectly located on Stranraer seafront offering great views of Loch Ryan , we currently have 2 rooms with en-suite available. Free parking and Free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Inn Stranraer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing