We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An Unusual Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
KILDROCHET HOUSE
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
KILDROCHET HOUSE
Bedroom Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
KILDROCHET HOUSE
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Shower Room
Shower Room
Shower Room
Shower Room
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Hallway
Hallway
Hallway
Hallway
Garden
KILDROCHET COTTAGE
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David S
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“An Unusual Cottage”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The accommodation is in what used to be the servants quarters of country house. It comprises a semi-basement kitchen, a living-room upstairs from thence, and a bed-room on a mezzanine above.
Heating is by night storage radiators. This is an old, and listed building. Insulation against inclement weather is limited. In a really cold weather, you may need to wear warm clothing.
Caveats aside, the accommodation is well presented, and very clean. Free WIFI is available, as is satellite TV. The countryside around is most pleasant, and if you go to port patrick, you can see Belfast Bay! There is a ferry service to Belfast, and Larne, but the prices for the service are ridiculous. The house grounds are pleasant to walk around, but our weather was not good, so we did not see the place in its best light.
Would we go back?
This is not a judgement upon the accommodation, rather it is upon the area. I am a coeliac. I need gluten free food. This are is not the best equipped to meet my needs.
There is a gluten-free chip shop in Stranraer, but I have to say, its products are not a near match to our favourite chip shop in Winterbourne.
We did enjoy our stay in the area, but I cannot see us returning. This is not a judgement of the accommodation.

Should anyone want to go to the area, then, yes, this is a good place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: So Quiet, And Dark Sky at night.
Liked least: The Kitchen plumbing is below ground level. This has a potential for slow draining.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corwin999
Catalina, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely tip-top”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely place in the southern Scottish countryside, every bit as nice as the pictures show. Philip the owner bent over backward to accommodate us, and the unit is well equipped with everything needed and a lot of extras, such as a collection of DVDs and player, a dishwasher and clothes washer, the latter a great convenience. The bed was very comfortable, the rooms large and pleasant.

The place is fabulous and a great value. The grounds are lovely if you wish to stay nearby, and the location provides easy access to Stranraer, Portpatrick, the Mull of Galloway and other nearby points of interest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable and cozy
Liked least: Internet a bit spotty
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shona F
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a wonderful 3 night break here. The apartment and grounds are beautiful. The owners made us very welcome and , as we had a personal reason for staying here, they had also gathered information for us which was hugely appreciated.
Over the 3 days we walked the first section of the Southern Upland Way from Portpatrick, which is beautiful, as well as exploring some of the Gardens in the area and drove as far as Kirkcudbright , which was easily done in a day, stopping off at various places as we made our way back.
Coming back to Kildrochet at the end of a busy day was so relaxing, you could not find a better place to stay in this area.
We hope to return at some point and explore the area even more.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizf7
GLASGOW
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I wish we could have stayed for longer!”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We were hoping to book a cottage last minute in Portpatrick but everything was taken as it was the September holiday weekend, We came across the advert for Kildrochet Cottage, only a few minutes drive from Portpatrick and are so glad we did. I can't tell you how beautiful this place is, and so peaceful. It is furnished and equipped to the highest standard with everything you could possibly need for a five star getaway. Our two little dogs had a great time wandering through the extensive gardens and surrounding wooded area too. There are so many places you can get to from there within a few minutes drive, and we shall definitely book to go back again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pip75
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Full of charm and so relaxing”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Fab,
We had some time off work due so at a bit of a loss booked the cottage for a four night break (long weekend) at the price it was I genuinely didn't expect too much. I was wrong. We arrived late, we're late for everything, an dPhil the owner waited for us saw us in, explained to us local amenities and had even got some milk and coffee in for us...!
The cottage is fab for a couple, big Kitchen/diner on the gnd floor, spacious and comfortable livivng room on the first and a big dressing room/bedroom and bathroom on the next floor..Spacious, homely and comfortable..We took our old dog who was also welcomed..around 6 miles from Portpatrick (try the Waterfront Resturant for Seafood..Yum) and around 5 miles from Stranraer (give the big Indian Restaurant a swerve, not the greatest)...Logan Botanical Gardens are about 11 miles (fab) and there are loads of other sights and things to do...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious, Gardens, Homely and Location, Everything Basically
Liked least: Has a bath, no shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharonS01
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed at Kildrochet cottage twice now and we think it is wonderful, immaculate,
lovely linen and toiletries and extra nice little touches that Lesley and Philip add to make your stay a bit more special, and they are certainly appreciated!!! The area is lovely and peaceful, good for walking or nice drives to the coast! Our little dog really enjoys herself too!!! We look forward to seeing you again Lesley and Philip!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulie2
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Having had a long journey, mostly in the rain, it was a joy to arrive at Kildrochet Cottage. It was warm and welcoming with nice personal touches making it very 'homely'. Due to weather conditions, we spent more time than we expected at the Cottage which was no hardship as there was a good stock of DVDs and books. Very cosy, very highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor and very comfortable bed
Liked least: Leaving at the end of the week
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing