We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent all round”
Review of Craignelder Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Craignelder Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stranraer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

my husband and I had our ruby wedding celebration here on 28th june 22 guests from the service meal to our guests accommodation everything was 100% I could not have asked for a better night special thanks to Kelly Karin dougie and Massimo your staff are to be commended well done hammy x

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cabardi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Craignelder Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just returned to england after a two night stay.
I would highly recommend this hotel to all and sundry.
Excellent service, polite staff, very polite owner.
I along with my father and brother were in Stranraer for my uncle's funeral, the staff were aware of this as we were having the wake on the Tuesday.
The Buffet was outstanding.
Rooms were spotless, could do with a little extra toiletries in the bathroom.
We sampled the menu, Lamb, I have never tasted better.
Breakfast, you do not have to eat for the rest of the day.
Stay at this hotel and you will be very happy and full.

Room Tip: Sea view is always an advantage
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmclean_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Went for an evening meal with family that knew the restaurant well and highly recommended it. I must admit the place is very popular with locals and the food was delicious. I had the pate starter, highly recommend that to anyone. Although like all pate dishes they never give you enough oatcakes. I had the macaroni cheese for my main and I would like to warn people that this is a hearty meal, I could not finish it. They allowed us to order a starter from the A la carte menu and the rest from their 'specials' menu which was good of them. My husband had the chicken and he said it was very dry so he was a bit disappointed with that. All in all it was a good restaurant and we would probably go back if we were treating ourselves. I thought the bill was a bit hefty given we also had a voucher to use. Next time I will check the bill very carefully.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Trouper9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner Came here on Sunday after our drive from portpatrick, a friend said it was good so decided to give it a try and she wasn't wrong. the food and staff were great we will definitely be back..

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodismylovex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I have been several times recently to the Craignelder for a meal and was never dissapointed. It has recently been taken over by a son (Hammy) of the McMillan Hotel dynasty (The North West Castle is next door) and since he has taken over and wisely kept on the recently employed Masimo Lisi of the now closed L'Aperatif restaurant for his welcome and determination to please you plus his expertise in cocktail making (previuos world champion I believe) it has got a whole lot better and it was good before. Pay it a visit you won't be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Get a cocktail
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CCCC67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Food on menu varied, spoiled for choice, really good and tasty on both occassions and reasonably priced, service efficient even although restaurant very busy, cheery staff and new owner very attentive. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Junie0628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Had a lovely evening meal here with friends.Lovely surroundings with a good choice of menu and reasonably priced.Staff were very friendly and more than attentive.Though restaurant was very busy service was quick.Could not fault the food in any way.What I would have liked was to have a jug of water on the table and also to have been given a fork along with the spoon for the dessert, otherwise it would have been hard to find fault with this place.Wishing the new owners every success .

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank doormatAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stranraer
0.1 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
371 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
336 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
258 reviews
9.1 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
12.5 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craignelder Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craignelder Hotel

Address: Cairnryan Road, Stranraer DG9 8HA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stranraer
Price Range: £84 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run hotel with a large restaurant and public bar. We pride ourselves in our customer service & cleanness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Craignelder Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craignelder Hotel Stranraer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing