We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fernlea Guest House
Ranked #5 of 25 Stranraer B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 October 2007

This was our third visit to Fernlea (1999, 2001, and 2007). Each time we have enjoyed a friendly welcome with clean and comfortable accomodations. Our hosts, Lynn and Kenny, are always most anxious to assist in any way needed. This time we had just spent the day on several trains coming down from Edinburg so we were very grateful for a nice place to relax. The addition of the room refrigerators and snack options hit the spot since we were too tired to go out looking for a place to eat. The breakfast the next morning was, as usual, top grade. Kenny graciously drove us to the ferry for our journey back to Belfast. We live in California, but travel to Belfast each year and always enjoy a trip by ferry to Stranrarer. Fernlea will always be our guesthouse choice when stopping in the area.

Stayed: September 2007
4  Thank Caligirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2007

A friendly reception, wonderful spacious accommodation, excellent food, what more can you ask for, but return again.
Definitely a base for touring South West Scotland.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Capedcrusader355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernleaStranraer, Owners at Fernlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2007

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We look forward to seeing you sometime in the future. All the best for 2008.
regards,
Lynn and Kenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2007

You'll receive a very warm welcome from Lynn & Kenny, a very lovely couple. We booked overnight stay only as we were catching the ferry the following afternoon. Great location for walking into town for an evening meal and also for visiting the local area.

Our room was immaculate and of very high standard and the breakfast was excellent and delicious and set us for the the ferry crossing - it was just a pity that we couldn't stay longer!

We would highly recommend a stay at Fernlea, and as we now have relatives in Ireland, I think that this will be a regular stop over from now on.

Kerry & Liam

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thewalshes_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fernleaguesthouse, Owners at Fernlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2007

Hi Kerry and Liam,
Thank you for your kind review of our home. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We both look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best wishes,
Lynn and Kenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2007

We stayed at the Fernlea Guest House, Stranraer on June 8th 2007. We were greeted with a smile at the door. We were treated as friends immediately. Although all hotel owners are friendly, Lynne made us feel so welcome in her home straight away.
Nothing was too much trouble for Lynne. In the room was a small fridge which was very welcome on such a hot day.
Lynne sent us in the right direction to all the local higher quality eateries, although she had provided maps in the rooms she still took the time to personally tell us.
We also saw a fellow guest ask for something for breakfast which was not actually on the menu, but instead of saying that this item was not available, she got in her car and went and got it. The gentleman wanting this said bigger hotels have never done that. Lynne is such a nice lady. Really enjoyed our stay. Would highly recommend The Fernlea Guest House to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank mopsey59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fernleaguesthouse, Owner at Fernlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2007

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. It is much appreciated. We hope to see you again sometime in the future.

best wishes,
The Drysdale Family,
Fernlea Guest House,
Stranraer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2007

..... that I stayed twice.
I enjoyed my two overnight stays at Fernlea. Yes, it may be graded 3-star but there are those little touches that make it a 5-star. Very convenient for the ferry terminal. And the town centre is a short walk away.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jazzroadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fernleaguesthouse, owner at Fernlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2007

Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed you 2 nights with us. We hope to see you again next year if you are coming this way.

best wishes,
The Drysdales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2007

I have never stayed at a B&B before and had no idea what to expect. Was greeted by Lynn upon arrival. A beautiful home, with very clean rooms, and a nice personal touch. I would certainly recommend Fernlea to anyone wanting a nice, quiet place who like being treated as an old friend rather than a guest.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank stayceeleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fernleaguesthouse, owner at Fernlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2007

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad your first bed and breakfast experience was a good one. Hope to see you again soon.
best wishes, Lynn and Kenny & Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2007

Had a really lovely stay. We chose this b & b because it had a private car park and our car was full to the brim as we were moving house. Our room was spotless and warm with a huge en-suite shower room. It even had an lcd tv. We opted for the full breakfast in the morning which was delicious. First time trying Haggis!! We would def be back to stay at this fab place. Totally recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hotpotato2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fernleaguesthouse, owner at Fernlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2007

Hello and thank you for taking time to leave a review for us. We are pleased you enjoyed our home. I hope all went well with the move.
best wishes, The Drysdales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stranraer hotels
0.4 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour Lights Guest House
Harbour Lights Guest House
#2 of 25 in Stranraer
193 reviews
1.2 mi away
Thornbank House
Thornbank House
#1 of 25 in Stranraer
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Old Manse Bed and Breakfast
4.8 mi away
Torrs Warren Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Marine House Hotel
Marine House Hotel
#4 of 25 in Stranraer
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernlea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernlea Guest House

Address: Fernlea Lewis Street, Stranraer DG9 7AQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Stranraer
Price Range: £55 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fernlea Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star bed and breakfast in Stranraer. This detached Victorian villa has been owned by the Drysdale family since 1997 and had been tastefully upgraded. A beautiful B & B offering a high standard of accommodation. Bedrooms boast Laura Ashley decor and Dorma bedding for that extra special feel. Fernlea offers a free private car park for guests. All rooms offer en-suite facilities with towels and flannels provided. Each room has flat screen digital TV, hospitality tray with hot chocolate, biscuits, tea and coffee. Only 5 minutes walk to the town centre and perfect for ferries to Northern Ireland. A non-smoking bed and breakfast. Free wi-fi in public areas upon request. The village of Cairnryan is only a 10 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Fernlea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernlea Guest House Stranraer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing