We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fernlea Guest House
Ranked #8 of 24 Stranraer B&B and Inns
Cupar
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly B&B”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Four of us stopped a night here before boarding the ferry to Ireland.Two had travelled from Scotland and the other two from Lancashire. Lynn and Kenny made us feel very welcome, giving us ideas for where to get a good evening meal in the town. We had lovely large,well decorated rooms and the breakfast was excellent. Great attention to detail with fresh fruit of all kinds and really whatever combination of the cooked breakfast you wanted.
It was so good that on our return from Eire we stayed another night rather than dash the long way back home. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
49
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighouse
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Very comfortable and beautifully decorated twin room; spotlessly clean. Lynn and her family are very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was delicious and filling - didn't need to eat again until evening meal. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Was greeted at the door by a friendly smiling Linda who showed me to my room,gave me a map of area advised me of eating places for that night,enquirer at what time I wanted breakfast and what I would like to eat. Room was comfortable and clean ,shower was working as described. Breakfast was served with a smile and very tasty

Room Tip: Had a front room and it was fairly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed in an en-suite twin for 2 nights. Lynn was extremely welcoming, friendly and accommodating despite our somewhat tardy arrival. The room was big, beautifully decorated, immaculately clean and had plenty of the small touches that make all the difference like biscuits with the tea and coffee, a hairdryer and even hot water bottles! The house itself is just off one of the main roads so easy to find and the main part of town is in easy walking distance but far enough for peace and quiet. There is off street parking behind the house so no worries there. We had breakfast the second day which was lovely and plentiful with vegetarian version available. All in all a gem of a B&B with a lovely hostess in the form of Lynn, we would definitely use this place again if we were coming to the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perthshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed here for only one night while attending a friend's wedding in Stranraer. Room was very nicely decorated. Nice comfy bed. Extra pillows if you need them. Everything in this lovely period house was spotlessly clean. En-suite was modern and stylish. Nice big towels...lovely. Off street parking at rear of the property is great. Lynn and her husband were most welcoming and friendly. Very good breakfast at a time to suit us. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FMMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallsend, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

A wonderful cosy little guest house. Made to feel very welcome. Breakfasts set me up for the day and kept me going until dinner time! Great advice given on where to eat in the town. Lynn, Ken and family very welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pinkangel1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABERDEENSHIRE
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We only spent 1 night in this house as we were crossing to Ireland the next morning and can honestly say it is the best we have ever stayed in. Beautiful big rooms with absolutely everything in them. Immaculately clean and the breakfast was scrumptious. Owners very friendly and very well priced for the quality of the premises. The only drawback was quite a steep stair so therefore would be no use for disabled persons.

Room Tip: There was six of us and all rooms were lovely and of a first class rating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stranraer
0.4 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
355 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
506 reviews
5.4 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stranraer
105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cross Haven Guest House
Cross Haven Guest House
#7 of 24 in Stranraer
89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour Lights Guest House
Harbour Lights Guest House
#3 of 24 in Stranraer
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernlea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernlea Guest House

Property: Fernlea Guest House
Address: Fernlea Lewis Street, Stranraer DG9 7AQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Stranraer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fernlea Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star bed and breakfast in Stranraer. This detached Victorian villa has been owned by the Drysdale family since 1997 and had been tastefully upgraded. A beautiful B & B offering a high standard of accommodation. Bedrooms boast Laura Ashley decor and Dorma bedding for that extra special feel. Fernlea offers a free private car park for guests. All rooms offer en-suite facilities with towels and flannels provided. Each room has flat screen digital TV, hospitality tray with hot chocolate, biscuits, tea and coffee. Only 5 minutes walk to the town centre and perfect for ferries to Northern Ireland. A non-smoking bed and breakfast. Free wi-fi in public areas upon request. The village of Cairnryan is only a 10 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fernlea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernlea Guest House Stranraer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing