We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character by Loch Ryan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
North West Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stranraer
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Character by Loch Ryan”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

A pleasure to stay here once again, even if it was for only one night on a hurried departure to N Ireland. My wife and I visited a few years ago, and were happy to find that the hotel had not changed in character in the interim. Indeed, there has been a great deal of upgrading and redecoration in the intervening years but this has all been to advantage with no loss of style etc.

We look forward to another visit soon when we might have more time to enjoy the welcome of staff, quiet location and unique ambience.

Room Tip: Loch view rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    126
    52
    25
    15
See reviews for
57
127
21
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

They just don't make hotels like this anymore and it is still run by the family who first opened it in 1962.
It is firmly established as the premier hotel in Stranraer, overlooking Loch Ryan and the now vacant former ferry terminal.
It is quirky and there's no doubt that both public rooms and bedrooms are a little dated - musty even - but it feels like patina or character rather than a bad thing.
The hotel has the usual 4 star trimmings and the evening meals are superb, although from a limited (but very well thought out) menu.
Service is warm and friendly and it feels relaxed. Some will not like the decor - a bit 1960s and 1970s - but those with an eye for a bit of history, and something out of the everyday ordinary, will surely love the place.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank BigBrightBlueSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

As a frequent visitor to the Cally Palace (a sister hotel) we decided to try the North West Castle. We had a more expensive sea view room on the second floor. The stairs had worn carpet and smelt damp. The room was dark, lacking anything on the walls and, for some reason, the two single beds were of differing widths (it was the last room in the hotel)! When booking I had told the hotel I was a Coeliac and needed a gluten free meal. At dinner I asked if it was possible to have a sorbet instead of the soup course (which is never a problem at the Cally) and was given ice cream instead. I complained and it was just taken away with no comment, and there was no gluten free bread either then or next morning at breakfast. But the biggest disappointment was the 'band' who didn't have a play list, spent 10 minutes talking between playing anything, despite our standing in the middle of the large dance floor waiting for the next number (we are regular dancers at the Cally). And this was on Burns Night, in a hotel in Dumfries & Galloway. Has this hotel forgotten where Robert Burns came from? And don't mention the white plastic bucket catching the drips at the entrance to one of the lounges!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SolwayView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely dinner here with friends.Could not fault the food in any way.Good choice of menu served by extremely attentive staff.However deducted a star ,reason being there was no butter on our table and had to ask for some,out of our party of six,two of the main meals were not what had been ordered,but this was soon rectified and the biscuits and cheese came without biscuits!!! The evening was rounded off with a wee 'jig' downstairs.A great time had by all.Will certainly be back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank doormatAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

From the moment we arrived the staff were extremely helpful and courteous. Room was warm and comfortable with usual refinements, Tea & Coffee, Freeview TV etc. En suite very clean. Beds comfortable. My colleague and I ate in the lounge bar overlooking the curling rink. Plenty of choice from the menu, food arrived promptly and cooked excellently.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014

A group of 50 people from 8 countries spent a grand curling weekend at the NW Castle. Words cant explain what a good time was had by all! The ice was great and the hospitality is second to none. Customer service is their priority. The meals are indescribably good, complete with white linen and a staff of extremely efficient servers. I highly recommend this property to those who are looking for a relaxing weekend get away. The McMillian family know how to keep the old Scottish world charm within their hotel. It is an immaculate facility, easy to get to right in the town of Stranraer. I would highly recommended this property for the hospitality, cleanliness, outstanding food and curling facility. Thank you to Gale and the McMillian family for all you did to make our weekend most successful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonistag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed again last weekend for a curling weekend, and once again had a terrific time. This hotel provides unbelievable value for money, with beautiful meals and terrific service. Staff could not be more helpful. The breakfast is a feast in itself and sets you up for the day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stranraer
9.0 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
5.7 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stranraer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
6.0 mi away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
5.8 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North West Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North West Castle Hotel

Property: North West Castle Hotel
Address: Portrodie, Stranraer DG9 8EH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stranraer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — North West Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional town centre hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, HRS, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your North West Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North West Castle Hotel Stranraer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing