We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location for exploring the area”
other travellers have booked this property
Old Stables Kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old Stables Kitchen
Old Stables Cottage Bedroom The bedroom has dual-aspect windows
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Old Stables Kitchen
Old Stables Cottage Bedroom
The bedroom has dual-aspect windows
Old Stables Shower Room
The porch / sunroom looks out across the courtyard
The cottage looks across to our paddocks and surrounding countryside
A summer visitor to Wig Bay
Torrs Warren Forest, Stranraer
Ailsa Craig and the Isle of Arran are visible from Stranraer
The lighthouse at the Mull of Galloway
Sandhead Beach
Summer Sunset over Ardwell Bay
The old lighthouse at Port Logan Bay
The snow-capped mountains on the Isle of Arran, visible from the coast road
Black Loch, Galloway Forest Park
Grey Mare's Tail, Galloway Forest Park
Clatteringshaws Loch, Galloway Forest Park
Castle and Roundhouse at Dunure, Ayrshire
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
7LouK7
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect location for exploring the area”
Reviewed 26 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The stables is a lovely cottage in a perfect location for exploring the region. The cottage had everything we needed, although if you did need reliable Wifi, it was a bit intermittent. Recommend visiting Portpatrick, we fell in love with the place and had great meals. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2017
Hello Louise & thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. Unfortunately our location prevents us from obtaining a good internet signal despite boosters being installed in the cottages. However, I do hope it will not deter you from returning to enjoy the cottage & Portpatrick again at some point in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff B
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really nice accommodation for two - spacious and comfortable.”
Reviewed 23 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

A perfect cottage for two people to explore Western Galloway and up the coast. If and when we return to this area then we'd want to stay again at Old Stables Cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2017
Thank you very much for your review. I hope we will be able to welcome you again when you return to the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Jun 2017
Thank you very much for your review. I'm really pleased you were happy with the cottage & look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Trip66275...
1 review
“Really comfortable, very hospitable owners”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We booked late but the owner Martin replied to our request straight away securing our booking with ease. Upon arrival Martin showed us around highlighting a variety of places of interest to visit and enjoy. The cottage was well equipped and we thoruoghly enjoyed our time spent in a most beautiful part of Scotland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The area , its position and proximity to Port Partick a beautiful harbour.
Liked least: All good !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie F
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Cottage for a relaxing weekend”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was perfect for our relaxing weekend - it was comfortable and just the perfect size for 2, with the comfiest of beds! It's perfectly situated between Stranraer and Portpatrick so its an excellent base for doing a little sightseeing in that part of the country. Thanks again Viv.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely feel of the cottage
Liked least: Could not connect to the wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2016
Thankyou for your review Katie. I'm so glad you enjoyed the cottage & do hope you will come back to see us again at some point.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie s
1 review
“Relaxing place”
Reviewed 28 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Just what I needed for time out log fire would have made it five star very clean out of the way central for exploring the area

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary R
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
“Would definitely stay again”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Clean tidy attractive good surroundings very good hosts. Area very good for accessing all locations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House and location
Liked least: Intermittent wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing