We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Thistle Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fernhill Hotel(Portpatrick)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crown Hotel(Portpatrick)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Knockinaam Lodge(Portpatrick)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glenapp Castle(Ballantrae)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Newton Stewart)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bruce Hotel(Newton Stewart)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
10
27
11
6
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
27
11
6
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschalet stylebasic roomafter reading some of the reviewsfree wifitea and coffeeshower gelearly ferrywarm welcome
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a 5 hour journey with an 8 month old baby and 2 other young children. We had booked a family room and ensured the hotel was 'pet friendly' as we had our dog with us also. Upon arrival, a member of staff rang through to the owner as she was unsure where we were staying. The owner at best can be described as terribly rude! I was made to speak to her on the phone where she denied informing me the hotel was pet friendly (web site stated it was but I had enquired over the phone at the time of booking to be certain). She was awful to me on the phone and when I enquired as to whether or not she was going to allow us to stay I was rather abruptly told to put the other lady back on the phone! We were shattered and the baby had had enough. Eventually we were told we would be allowed to stay. Interestingly another couple were sat in the 'bar' (a gloomy room at best) having the exact same problem.

I would question the websites accuracy in its claims of great hospitality! We would certainly NEVER stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scnra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I was concerned before staying at the Thistle because of the other reviews however i found the place to be clean, the room adequately sized and everything worked fine. It is a basic B&B and should be reviewed as such. Overall i had a good nights sleep and found the staff extremely helpful and accomodating. Would definately recommend to anyone looking for a simple overnight stay in the area.

Room Tip: A colleague mentioned the single/twin chalet is poor so ask for a double.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurpleRonnieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012 via mobile

My partner and i booked here last minute+wished we had checked the reviews first! The room was small+reeked of smoke,bed was hard with one flat pillow each.bathroom was the tiniest i have ever seen!towels were tiny to match.tv was also tiny+my partner had to jiggle the aerial wire to get even basic channels.place was really noisy.breakfast room was dingy+cold+breakfast nothing special.the only good thing about the stay was the gorgeous weather which enabled us to stay out of the 'chalet'!will never go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maukatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Stayed one night which was more than enough, the only good thing I can say is that the room was clean. Other than that the place is terrible the room had way to much furniture in it . In the morning we were told to make our own toast but only after the lady had been to the shop to get some bread , no maramlade or jam available , she told us that if we wanted tea or coffee we were to make that yourselves also and in the corner of the breakfast room /bar was a jar of coffee a box of tea bag and a earn of hot water, cook breakfast was no better tasteless and no even cooked properly . No matter what we will never be staying again would sleep in the car before going here again .

Room Tip: There isn't a good one
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank littlebear63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed here August. Looked at some reviews before we set off and must admit got a little concerned...we shouldn't have. When we arrived we where met by Sandra who showed us our room. Rooms where basic but spotlessly clean. We where there as two couples and booked last minute cheapy so to be honest we weren't expecting much, we could have booked other hotels but all for a lot more money. We visited close by Port Patrick which was a gorgeous place then returned to be met again by Sandra, who was doing her ironing in the bar...but who cares?, just shows that she worked like a wee trojan. Serving us a drink she made recommendations of where to go for a drink and somewhere to eat in Stranraer. Everyone was really friendly. We returned to The Thistle Inn around 10pm where a Karaoke was in full swing, great atmosphere. Sandra, (although not working at this point) still came to talk to us and even bought us a drink! We have never experienced this hospitality from any other "short break hotels" we have stayed at. If we ever drive to this area of the country again I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews