We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel with Lovely Hospitality to match”
Review of The Thistle Inn

The Thistle Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Thistle Inn
Ranked #21 of 24 Stranraer B&B and Inns
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel with Lovely Hospitality to match”
Reviewed 18 January 2011

We stayed in The Thistle Inn the night before our early ferry to Belfast. We stayed in the main hotel, not a chalet. On first sight to be honest I was slightly worried but I shouldnt have been. Our room, was spotless, and very large. There were 3 adults with 2 kids aged 4 & 6 in our party. There was ample space in the family room but the gentleman running the hotel still offered us an additional room which we declined. The price was brilliant and the hospitality not only shown to us but to the kids was brilliant especially after such a long journey to Stranraer. We go frequently to Belfast to visit family and we are now planning on staying at this hotel when we are booked on the early boat. The parking was free & we were offered a parking space for the duration of our visit to Belfast however we declined as we park at the main terminal but the offer was there. I felt they couldnt do enough to help. The rooms, bed & bathroom are all clean & spotless. The breakfast was included in the price and there was cereal, toast and a scottish breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AudreyG1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    25
    11
    6
    23
See reviews for
19
19
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Stayed here one night. Room was "chalet", very basic but seemed clean. Could hear neighbour rooms conversations. Karaoke ran until after 1am. Late night street noise. Wished we had skipped breakfast, served in a bar!!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigerlilyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We stayed at the hotel for only one night at the start of our holiday, it was to be a stop over to save travelling in the early hours to catch the ferry to Ireland. We did not realise it would be such a lovely start to our holiday, the staff in the Inn were totally warm and friendly and we really had a very enjoyable start to our holiday.
I would definitely use them again, we stayed in one of the chalets at the back and it was of a very high standard of cleanliness.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Had the misfortune to spend one night here thanks to flight cancellation during volcanic ash disruptions which necessitated last minute booking on final Belfast/Stranraer ferry of the day. Paid £58 for a 'chalet' with 2 single beds, and not much else. Tasteless, cheap decor and very, very, very basic. No bedside cabinets, only a child's 'wardrobe' too small to hang anything in and anyway no hangers for trousers, no surfaces to put anything on in the bedroom or bathroom, not even a hook (hence the sandpaper-like towels were on our beds), a hair dryer held together with sellotape etc etc and absolutely no sound proofing. Listened to the owner's karaoke attempts at Johnny Cash from the attached bar and then to our neighbours' amorous behaviour, but even without that I doubt I would have slept as it was just so horrid, uncomfortable and unappealing, and I did not open my suitcase, did not shower, and it was no hardship to have to leave at 6 am to catch a train without sampling the breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReviewerHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stranraer hotels

fife scotland
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2009

staff very friendly
very clean home from home
and XXXXcelent service
and billy cant do enough to help u any way he can

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misteque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2008

This is the most disgusting place I have ever stayed in. I agree with the last review, you had to wipe your feet on the way out. On arrival our beds had already been slept in. The room didn't look like they had been cleaned in months. We didn't see any good old scottish hospitality. The breakfast was a heart attack in the making. i would not recommend this hotel (what a joke) to anyone.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Uk123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2008

How anyone can even advertise this accomodation is beyond me. . What the picture on your website doesn't show is that the "rooms" are adjoining a rundown pub and oppoiste a disco. For a good part of the night all we heard was music coming from either the pub or the disco accross the room and people shouting and creating noise as they left both places. The room itself was at the top of a landing in what appeared to be an old house. The room was big but obviously hadn't refurbished in years. It was basically 3 beds in a grotty room. The rooms were reminiscent of a student squat.The carpet was so dirty I had tell my children to make sure to keep their shoes on when walking around. There were 2 bathrooms on the landing shared with 4 other rooms. However, looking at the bathrooms we decided not to risk having a shower. My children met other residents on the landing half-dressed so we had to go with the children to the bathroom. Plus the whole place was so dodgy that when we did go out that eveing we left the light on in our room - just in case- becaues the locks weren't very secure. For breakfast the next morning my husband and the children had a very small "Full Scottish Breakfast", I decided it was better to stick to something safe like toast. There was even dirt in the cereal bowls. We couldn't wait to get out of the place. The staff were quite friendly but then why wouldn't they when they had got £70 out of us for staying in a dump.

  • Liked — Nothing! Well except leaving!
  • Disliked — Everything!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nshotchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stranraer hotels
0.2 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stranraer
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cross Haven Guest House
Cross Haven Guest House
#8 of 24 in Stranraer
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ivy House Ferry Link
Ivy House Ferry Link
#13 of 24 in Stranraer
5 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Swan Inn
The Swan Inn
#12 of 24 in Stranraer
28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour Lights Guest House
Harbour Lights Guest House
#3 of 24 in Stranraer
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thistle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thistle Inn

Property: The Thistle Inn
Address: 47 Dalrymple Street, Stranraer DG9 7EY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Stranraer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thistle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Thistle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thistle Inn Stranraer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing