We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful House”

Cross Haven Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cross Haven Guest House
Ranked #9 of 27 Stranraer B&B and Inns
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Beautiful House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We arrived here on our motorbikes and as someone has previously said, the garage was opened and ready for us to store our bikes.......
The house is a stunning house and very well maintained.
The owners are very friendly. The rooms are spotless and very comfortable.
We didn't get to try the breakfast as we left very early to catch a ferry, but I am sure it would have been amazing judging by other peoples comments....

A lovely stay.... thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bay-Pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BandBStranraer, Owner at Cross Haven Guest House, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Cross Haven soon and hopefully next time you will get the chance to sample our delicious breakfast cooked fresh to order.
Gayle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    12
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
34
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

just returned from our 3rd short stay at the cross haven, usual warm friendly welcome, always spotlessly clean and cosy, breakfasts are amazing, we return here because of these features. and having recently spent a few days at easter in a larger port patrick hotel which we would not return to, it could certainly learn a thing or two from this lovely guest house.if your are looking for peace n quiet, cleanliness, and an amazing breakfast and like us just want some "us time" then this is the perfect place.

Room Tip: we have stayed in the twin downstairs room and in room 2, both excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BandBStranraer, Owner at Cross Haven Guest House, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your positive comments and thank you for returning to Cross Haven for your recent stay in Stranraer. We hope to welcome you again in the future too. Perhaps next time you should ask for room 3 which is actually our biggest room, then you can do a full comparison!
Thanks again
Gayle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay here - the room I had was beautiful, the bed was so comfy, the breakfast was great and set me up for a busy workday, and the owners were really lovely. I especially liked how many books there were in my room, really nice touch :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank loulop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BandBStranraer, Owner at Cross Haven Guest House, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Cross Haven. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments are greatly appreciated
Mick and Gayle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stopped off here during a weekend away on my motorbike. When I arrived, the garage was opened immediately for me to store my bike, which was great. The single room I had was very clean, had a VERY comfortable bed, decent-sized en-suite, TV, tea and coffee etc and more than adequate room for a single biker with hard motorcycle panniers. Breakfast in the morning was excellent; lots of choice and really well cooked.

I enjoyed my stay here and will certainly book again if I ever need a stop over in Stranraer in future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishTraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BandBStranraer, Owner at Cross Haven Guest House, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your very positive comments and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your tour.
Mick and Gayle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langholm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We have stayed with Gayle and her husband at least 5 or 6 times now - usually to catch a ferry the following day, and last July we stayed 4 nights for a holiday in the area. It is quiet, very comfortable, very clean - boh upstairs and downstairs. The breakfast is excellent with a good choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurts, plus cooked items. Parking is good and safe and is tucked away behind the guest house which is a real bonus. We can thoroughly recommend this Guest House to anyone. We are already booked for one night in April 2014.

Room Tip: The room downstairs is a twin - and good if you don't like climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BandBStranraer, Owner at Cross Haven Guest House, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for your positive comments and your loyalty. We are looking forward to seeing you again next month
Gayle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Warm welcome, rooms clean and comfortable, not noisy at all - indeed the town is not the most active I have ever been in! Had to catch the morning ferry so missed what Im sure was a good breakfast.Realistic value too.
Tip for other visitors, park behind the house up the alleyway to the left of the property.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BandBStranraer, Owner at Cross Haven Guest House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Cross Haven. We are glad you had a quiet and comfortable visit and maybe you could sample our delicious breakfast the next time you book.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Superb breakfast, lovely old house, former convent, rooms slightly small and a little dated, but very clean and comfy.
Plenty of information for tourists, close to ferry for Ireland and a short drive to beaches.
Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuart1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BandBStranraer, Owner at Cross Haven Guest House, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Hi
Thanks for your review and your positive comments. I believe you stayed in our single room which is slightly on the small side. Our doubles and twin rooms are generally larger than average.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stranraer
0.4 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stranraer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
9.1 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
5.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbour Lights Guest House
Harbour Lights Guest House
#2 of 27 in Stranraer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
4.9 mi away
Torrs Warren Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Lakeview Guesthouse
Lakeview Guesthouse
#3 of 27 in Stranraer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Haven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Haven Guest House

Property: Cross Haven Guest House
Address: Lewis Street, Stranraer DG9 7AL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Stranraer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cross Haven Guest House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cross Haven is a beautifully refurbished Victorian Villa which was formerly a convent. We are conveniently located for Stranraer town centre, ferries to Ireland and the surrounding countryside. We are easy to find being located directly opposite the Ryan Leisure Centre. We have a room on the ground floor which is easily accessed. All rooms are non-smoking and we have off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cross Haven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Haven Guest House Stranraer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing