We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cross Haven Guest House

Cross Haven Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cross Haven Guest House
Ranked #9 of 27 Stranraer B&B and Inns
Bradford England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2007

A very big thank you to Gail and Mick for making our stay in Stranraer a good one. Most people seemed to use this B&B as a stopping off point before or after taking the ferry to Ireland. We however used it as a base for exploring the beautiful surrounding area. It was very easy to find using the directions provided by the web site, and although on a main route in and out of the town, we were not disturbed by the sound of traffic despite being at the front of the house.

The room was clean and very well equipped with loads of storage space and useful things like hairdryer and hot water bottle provided (yes we needed one in August!- but only for medicinal reasons!)
The cooked breakfasts were very good, with a system of ordering your next meal by ticking a list of items, which I thought was very efficient. Fruit juice, cereal, tea and an unlimited supply of toast came as standard.
Overall it was just what we needed, a comfortable, welcoming B&B in a central position with a great breakfast to set you up for the day.

  • Liked — The breakfasts!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prettybullet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    12
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
34
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ashton u lyne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2007

Well what can i say "WOW" ecellent place to stay all what you need ,very nice room number 2 ,go for that one agian ,
very good parking off road ,,Mr & Mrs holmes make you very welcome in to there home .i am sure i will book the guest house agian ,also very low price.
Many thanks for my stay in stranraer,
MR lyons Manchester 10/08/07

  • Liked — the welcome
  • Disliked — all was ok
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank neoanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsey, Huntingdonshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2007

We stayed two nights, one before and one after our holiday in Ireland and we were made very welcome. Both Michael and Gayle made us feel at home and we will be recommending Cross Haven to family and friends. Their local knowledge is great and we took their advice and drove to Portpatrick for an evening meal. Excellent!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bke004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2007

Once again a most enjoyable stay at the Cross Haven Guest House. We were given the same room which had been redecorated since our previous visit 7 months ago - just as nice and still as comfortable! Breakfast as good and filling as ever. Gayle and hubby are extremely helpful and very obliging hosts - we would highly recommend their guest house whether it be for a long or short stay in Stranraer and wish them well for the future! - The Roebucks (Scotland)

  • Liked — Comfort/location and dog was welcome
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank meercat54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton. Lancs
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2007

A wonderful, friendly and comfortable place to stay.
The rooms a spotless with a lot of nice personal touches.
Breakfast excellent and Mick & Gayle a very friendly.
Will always stay there when we visit Stranraer.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank SWLEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purbrook, Waterlooville, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2007

We needed a B&B for a 2 night stay whilst visiting family in Stranraer. The Cross Haven was easy to find and far enough away from the centre of town to make it a quiet location, set well-back off the road, with off road parking and within easy walking distance of the town. It is a traditional-style building with a 'warm' ambience. The room was immaculate (linen and bedding smelt wonderfully fresh!) and although the shower-room/loo only had a small fan-light window, it was very clean and well maintained. The bedroom was of a very good size and well-appointed and comfortable..

Gayle and her husband were most welcoming and the hearty cooked breakfast set us up for the day!

We would have no hesitation in recommending the Cross Haven Guest House and will stay again when we next visit Stranraer.

Sharon and Nik Bryan
Purbrook, Waterlooville, Hampshire, England.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and comfort
  • Disliked — Tiny window in shower room - a minor issue
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ShazznNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Lincolnshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2007

Clean and comfortable accommodation. Initial communication problems with booking, but resolved without any fuss. Recommend accommodation, due to location and close proximity of all local amenities. Wishing proprietors every success for the future.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Booking communication
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueorbit20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stranraer
9.1 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
0.4 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stranraer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
5.4 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbour Lights Guest House
Harbour Lights Guest House
#2 of 27 in Stranraer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.1 mi away
Thornbank House
Thornbank House
#1 of 27 in Stranraer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lakeview Guesthouse
Lakeview Guesthouse
#3 of 27 in Stranraer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Haven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Haven Guest House

Property: Cross Haven Guest House
Address: Lewis Street, Stranraer DG9 7AL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Stranraer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cross Haven Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cross Haven is a beautifully refurbished Victorian Villa which was formerly a convent. We are conveniently located for Stranraer town centre, ferries to Ireland and the surrounding countryside. We are easy to find being located directly opposite the Ryan Leisure Centre. We have a room on the ground floor which is easily accessed. All rooms are non-smoking and we have off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Cross Haven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Haven Guest House Stranraer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing