We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back ASAP.”

The Blue Peter Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stranraer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Blue Peter Hotel
Ranked #19 of 24 Stranraer B&B and Inns
wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We'll be back ASAP.”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We have always enjoyed the great food and lovely atmosphere at The Blue Peter in recent years whilst enjoying previous breaks at nearby Portpatrick so when we fancied a weekend break we thought, lets give the BP a whirl. We met the very recent new owners, Alan & Jackie - they are a lovely, genuine and down to earth couple who made us very welcome indeed. The home cooked evening meals and full English breakfasts, as prepared by Jackie were fabulous quality and the service at all times was excellent. Our first floor ensuite room was comfortable, quiet and spotless. We would hapily recommend the BP to our family and friends for a similar break and is a great base to explore the local area and proved to be very good value! George&Debbie.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sychdyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    8
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
18
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We have just spent a lovely 3 nights at a really beautiful place. Ian and Ruth being the perfect hosts. Breakfast was absolutely fabulous,and Ruth`s Lamb in port and rosemary was a most delicious dish, chosen from a very varied menu. Ian keeps a really nice bar,with some good ales in a very friendly atmosphere. This lovely area of Scotland is worth a visit and we would recommend a stay here. We will return next year.Thank you again Ian and Ruth for your hospitality. Neil Hils and Andy.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilFrank_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2012

following a recent stay with Ian and Ruth at the blue peter hotel we have to say it was excellent great hosts and food couldn't ask for better hospitality. Hilary,Andy and Neil p.s. ask to see snowy the chicken !!!! all the best to them all !!!!

Room Tip: just stay here its great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed here on our way to Ireland with my family in July 2012 and had a great time. Brilliant food cooked by Ruth and REAL ALE! served by the ever congenial Ian.
This Hotel /pub/ restaurant does not have nor does it need a deep fat fryer. - Perfect.
Clean hotel with 2 bars and gets busy as it is the only quality place for several miles.
Nothing is too much trouble here - just ask.
Excellent breakfast served in the bar. Great place to stay rather than in Stranraer.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chepwinjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

we stayed at the blue peter on 24th june 2012 for one night as were on a business "rekkY". We had one double room for wify and me, and our mate stayed in a twin room alone. The rooms are not modern, but spotless clean, and the welcome from Ian and Ruth was very warm,,,, the breakfast in the morning was "superb" a full english... loads of toast, cereals, coffee and then the full englsh.... truly excellent. We were lucky enough???? to be the only English in the pub when England lost on penalties to Italy in Euro2012.... what a laugh... some great banter from the "scots" who truly like us wanted an England win... NOT... never the less a great night, and very funny with some real friendly characters. Anyway 1 nite stay, excellent pub, GREAT REAL ALES, and a great brekkie in the morning.. good on yer Ruth and Ian thanks again Tony Dawn and Jase Stoke

Room Tip: dont miss the breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tone2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Ian and Ruth are top drawer Hosts!

Food superb.

Rooms comfy and tidy.

Lots to see in the area and theres loads of intresting wee characters to be found close by, Very Rare to get so close to these wee fellas and their on the back doors step!!! Amazing.

Myself and 2 others stayed here while working in the area and we had a ball, Ruths a good laugh and Ian likes to make sure your Happy. Great team, Kevin behind the Bar was also good Craic!

If your in the area then you must stay here!! Simples!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2012

me and my wife booked in at the blue peter hotel for 3 nights liked it that much we stayed another night, Ruth and Ian are very welcoming they couldn’t do enough for us, the place is spotlessly clean . the food was first class , the breakfast was great got all the usual serials , juice toast and the cooked breakfast was to die for , couldn’t fault it , even better Ian has got cask conditioned beer in the bar , sampled a few of them on a evening , well worth a visit cannot wait to go back again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dale b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stranraer
9.2 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
511 reviews
4.5 mi away
Thornbank House
Thornbank House
#1 of 24 in Stranraer
178 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lakeview Guesthouse
Lakeview Guesthouse
#2 of 24 in Stranraer
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Harbour Lights Guest House
Harbour Lights Guest House
#3 of 24 in Stranraer
176 reviews
10.5 mi away
Torrs Warren Country House Hotel
5.3 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Peter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Peter Hotel

Property: The Blue Peter Hotel
Address: 23 Main Street | Kirkcolm, Stranraer DG9 0NL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Stranraer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Blue Peter Hotel Stranraer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing