We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abonny Guest House

Abonny Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abonny Guest House
Ranked #21 of 27 Stranraer B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Everything provided that was needed in a single room. Early start to catch ferry so `breakfast` was given as a packed lunch, which was very helpful. Good place to stay with no hassle at all. Would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
3
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed 1 night with my family as we were getting the ferry the next morning. Arrived very late which was no hassle to Elizabeth. The house was so warm & cosy after a 6hr journey. The rooms were very clean & warm with everything you could need from hairdryer to tea & biscuits. The breakfast was excellent we all had different things, it set us up for the day. Jim & Elizabeth are a great couple & we would certainly stay there again if we were getting the ferry.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent, some not ensuite but that's not essential for everyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madaleine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Just back from a few days in Stranraer where we stayed at the Abonny. We had a double room at the back of the house. The room, like the rest of the house was very well decorated and spotlessly clean. A nice sized en-suite unit complemented the room, which being at the back of the house was quiet. The room also had Tea & Coffee with complementary biscuits and sweets. Breakfast had a wide selection to choose from and the food was very well cooked with enough on the plate to set you up until well past lunch time. The dining room was very nicely laid out with lots of Naval brass-work on display (Jim's an ex RN man). We managed to park in the street outside the B&B (the street can be busy during the day) but there is a car park opposite if you need it. Academy Street is about a ten minute stroll to the town centre but at the end of the street is a local Newsagent / Grocer for any supplies you might need or forgotten to bring with you. Overall a very pleasant and comfortable stay helped by having two nice hosts. Stay again – you bet.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed here for a few nights, in the twin room on the first floor. It was a very nice room and en-suite. The owners, Jim and Elizabeth were very friendly and prepared a fabulous breakfast in the mornings. The Abonny is situated a short walk from the shops and sea front and I would definately recommend this B&B to anyone wanting a excellent nights sleep and a good brekky in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

This guest house is set in a great location for all local facilities. A very welcoming, friendly and helpful hostess, Elizabeth, made everything easy for my booking on behalf of my son. I felt every confidence in making a booking on the telephone and all promises were honoured. My son enjoyed his stay, felt well looked after and appreciated a warm welcome and hearty breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen_Glen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Stayed here for 1 night while we were waiting for the ferry the next morning.We were made very welcome by Elizabeth.The room was very nice as was the breakfast the next morning.Its very close to ferry terminal & shops etc.We'll stay here again the next time we are getting the ferry or in the aera.Thank you Elizabeth, Jimmy & Harvey (the dog)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKARLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

It's in a nice, quiet location and has got a very nice owner (an old lady), who really cares a lot about her visitors. The room (single) was small but comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FelixSternke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stranraer hotels
0.4 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stranraer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.3 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stranraer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Thistle Inn
The Thistle Inn
#23 of 27 in Stranraer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cross Haven Guest House
Cross Haven Guest House
#9 of 27 in Stranraer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fernlea Guest House
Fernlea Guest House
#7 of 27 in Stranraer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour Lights Guest House
Harbour Lights Guest House
#2 of 27 in Stranraer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abonny Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abonny Guest House

Property: Abonny Guest House
Address: 10 Academy Street, Stranraer DG9 7DR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Stranraer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abonny Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run guest house close to Stranraer town centre ferry and rail terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Abonny Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abonny Guest House Stranraer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing