We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harbour Lights Guest House
Ranked #2 of 27 Stranraer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

This lovely B&B is perfectly position if you are catching the ferry from Sranraer to Ireland as we were. The lovely large room with two double beds was exceptional, it had facilities for a wee baby if required. The hosts were very friendly and obliging. This is a great value B&B, lovely breakfast and service. Lovely area for walking along the coastal walkway. 5 out of 5. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeandspock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    13
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
73
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

My family had to come to Stranraer for a funeral and could not have picked a better place to stay. Rhona and Colin were brilliant, couldn't have done any more for us. I have small children and they were delighted to be able to play with Rebekah and Rhianna (the owners children) which for us was really appreciated as we had lots to organise and its not easy with small children running around. We all hope to come back to the Harbour Lights at not such a sad time and thank our wonderful hosts for all they did for us, it made a very difficult time a little easier.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

Colin & Rhona are the friendliest hosts we encountered in Scotland, and that's saying quite a bit. Lots of friendly folks. The room was lovely, warm, tidy and quiet. Colin suggested we check with Stena right off to book a ferry, as there were some delays the day before. Good tip! His dining tip was bang-on too. We made new friends while there, fellow guests from Nottingham England. Outstanding homestyle breakfast in the morning. Rhona makes a Ginger-Rhubarb jam that is tops. Aye! Great stay.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank oakleyfiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

We stayed overnight at The Harbour Lights and were very impressed! It is very close to the ferry terminal so ideal for a stopover. We booked a family room and were delighted with the size of bedroom and the bathroom. Travelling with a six month old can be difficult but the owners had a cot ready for us and the bathroom had a changing unit and baby bath, there was even a moses basket in the wardrobe! At breakfast a high chair was ready for us so we could feed the little one.

The whole place was spotless and the owners were very friendly and so helpful. I would really recommend this guesthouse, especially if you have young children.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

Fantastic experience from start to finish, even offered to help take luggage up to our room on the top floor!
Room brilliant, spacious and amazing across Loch Ryan.
Perfectly central, access to free public carpark, restaurants, takeaways and ferry terminal and I suppose for us the Loch and local fishing spots!
Scrumptious breakfast, with lots of choice, comfy bed, the only downside was that we had to come back home...
We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chaznjim2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRBR, Owner at Harbour Lights Guest House, responded to this review, 6 October 2010
Thankyou so much for your wonderful comment, we really appreciate it. Next time I hope the weather is better and you won't need the water-proofs!!! Good luck with the wedding plans and we look forward to seeing you again next year.
Thankyou
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

I can only repeat what virtually every other review reads on here and that is that the Harbour Lights B & B was fantastic!

My partner and I stayed here for a week in August 2010 and I was a little apprehensive to say the least but thankfully,I was not disappointed!

Our coach got in at 2am and after travelling 14 hours I was grumpy! Colin, one of the owners, met us at the front door and took all of our bags to our room. He gave us our key, told us what time breakfast would be and left us to it which, after a long trip we were very greatful!

The room was huge! There was only me and my partner and we were given the family room which had 2 double beds so we had one each (would be rude not to!) We also had a fully stocked hospitality tray every day which was greatly appreciated. There was also a flat screen tv with freeview and ample storage space. Everything was spotless and modern..no complaints at all.

Breakfast was the highlight of my day for the whole week and I am now a fan of the full Scottish breakfast! As well as getting a fully cooked breakfast every day (if you wish) there were cereals, fruits, toast, jams, nuts... everything! It really was an all you can eat affair! I also liked the fact that the eggs came from Rhona and Colins own chickens!

Every morning we sat at the table by the window and looked out onto the harbour. We would have a chat with Colinand Rhona, who gave us some great ideas about local places to visit.

If I had 1 teeny tiny negative thing to say it would be that the wi-fi was not always on as it states on the website. However, all we had to do was ask and Rhona and Colin were more than happy to turn it on for us. When it did come on though, the signal was very weak but we found this was the same everywhere so, that couldnt be helped.

Overall we had an amazing time and we will definately be going back again!

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie_UK87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

we stayed in the harbour lights guest house one night,on our way home after a week traveling around scotland. we had to catch the morning ferry to belfast and it is across the road so very conveniant,we had stayed in b and b's all week and it was lovely to find such a lovely place on our last night.From the lovely welcome to the fantastic room and all the little extras provided, it really made our last nite special.Rhona and colin were lovely people,the breakfast was yummy! particulary enjoyed the fresh strawberries from the garden.would'int hesitate to recomend this place to anyone.Anne and Jimmy.co. wexford Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexisanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stranraer hotels
0.4 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stranraer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
8.7 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
0.5 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stranraer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Thornbank House
Thornbank House
#1 of 27 in Stranraer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakeview Guesthouse
Lakeview Guesthouse
#3 of 27 in Stranraer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Manse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Lights Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Lights Guest House

Property: Harbour Lights Guest House
Address: 7 Agnew Crescent, Stranraer DG9 7JY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Stranraer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Visit Scotland family run Guest House on the shores of Lochryan and only a 5 minute drive to the ferries for Ireland, Free parking in the car-park opposite, all rooms are en-suite with free 24 hour Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Harbour Lights Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Lights Guest House Stranraer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing