We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harbour Lights Guest House
Ranked #3 of 24 Stranraer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had the pleasure of staying in this guest house for one night only. Service was faultless as was the room, the owners Colin and Rhona, and the breakfast - which was quite a feast. Would not hesitate to go back again and would be my first choice if needing to stay in Stranraer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    14
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
75
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My first time in a guest house for years, I normally opt for 4 star hotels. However what a treat the Harbour Lights was, this guest house would give a lot of 4 star hotels a run for there money. Loads of extra treats in the rooms including biscuits, water and chocolates. The owners have thought of everything. Room was clean and beautifully decorated and the bed was so comfy I nearly slept in. Although I had a ground floor room there was very little noise from outside. Breakfast was superb, with a great selection. I opted for the full Scottish and it was delicious, the owner coudn't be more attentive.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Brilliant place to stay. Very welcoming and they can't do enough to make you feel welcome - hence the emphasis on the "Guest" part. Lovely room, lovely view out over the harbour and great breakfast. Clean and cozy feel throughout. Really handy location and would stay here again quite happily. Recommend to anyone coming to the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Myself and my partner have stayed at Harbour Lights many times, including last weekend, (11/11/13) and always have a really nice stay, the room we always stay in (room 4) we stay there while visiting family in the area, and always looked after by Colin & Rhona... we like all the personal touches in the rooms, and would recommend Harbour Lights to anyone

Room Tip: we stay in room 4, its on top floor with a nice view over the water front, its a family roon with do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waynos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Overnight stay on way to pick up a puppy. Lovely warm welcome and felt they really took pleasure in their job. Room was clean and well equipped, breakfast was delicious with loads of choice. Would definitely book again if I was in the area

Room Tip: front ground floor room did have some noise when pubs nearby shut - but it was a Friday night and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Rooms are nice and clean. Area was pretty quiet. Owners very friendly and accommodating. Kindly let us check-in early to get ready for a wedding. Breakfast was lovely too. With the bright pink exterior, there's no chance you'll miss the place either. Worked even better than satnav.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niknikb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

My first experience of a guest house in nearly two decades! Victorian period terrace on the front a Stranraer. Street parking outside the door. Nice ensuite room with comfy bed, good standard of decoration and very clean. Thoughtful touches included bottled water and biscuits. Good breakfast and friendly helpful service. No issues.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequenter-50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stranraer
0.4 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
358 reviews
0.5 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stranraer
106 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Thornbank House
Thornbank House
#1 of 24 in Stranraer
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakeview Guesthouse
Lakeview Guesthouse
#2 of 24 in Stranraer
133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cross Haven Guest House
Cross Haven Guest House
#8 of 24 in Stranraer
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Lights Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Lights Guest House

Property: Harbour Lights Guest House
Address: 7 Agnew Crescent, Stranraer DG9 7JY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Stranraer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Visit Scotland family run Guest House on the shores of Lochryan and only a 5 minute drive to the ferries for Ireland, Free parking in the car-park opposite, all rooms are en-suite with free 24 hour Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Harbour Lights Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Lights Guest House Stranraer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing