We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and friendly atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harbour Lights Guest House
Ranked #2 of 25 Stranraer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2008

Collin and Rhona are terrific hosts. You won't be disappointed! We arrived by train and departed by Ferry. Both easly accessible to the BB. Collin suggested eating lunch/dinner in Portpatric, at Campbell's restaurant. WOW - beautiful village and even better food. It's just a short 15 minute ride on a local bus. In Stranraer Collin suggested "The Bay House" for dinner. He was spot on! We walked to the restaurant and took a taxi ride back. Avoid a disapointment - make reservations for both. The B&B itself is well located near the harbour, clean, comfortable and serves a delicious breakfast. I can't say enough good things about your hosts. They made traveling in Stranraer a pleasure.
Carrigan - Arizona, USA

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank LarryCTempe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2008

We stayed at the Harbour Lights just for one night to attend a wedding in Stranraer. From the moment we set foot in the place to the moment we left the staff were so genuienly friendly and helpful.

The room was large, comfortable, had an ensuite and was extremely clean. We had out own key for the front door so we could come and go as we pleased.

The breakfast was brilliant - just what a sore head needed. A big fry up as well as toast, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, tea, coffee (proper coffee).....fantastic.

Would have no hesitation recommending this property and would definetely go back.

Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TeamDMcP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2007

Nice clean b & b. Nice hosts and great rooms. Parking was in a public car park, good breakfasts. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkBenComberton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2007

This is an excellent B & B. The rooms are modern, and both room and the en-suite were immaculately clean. Also very comfortable beds. Hospitality tray included tea, coffee, hot chocolate,water, biscuits, tissues. Breakfast was excellent, and you can order snacks and packed lunches. Our room had a DVD player, and DVDs are available for a deposit. I believe bike hire may be on the cards, which would be great. There is a brilliant park opposite the house which the children loved.

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank eliekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2007

Stayed here over the May Bank Holiday weekend in a twin room overlooking the harbour.
The owners are very friendly & welcoming and are around if you need anything without being over fussy.
As we originally asked for a double but they were all booked, they very kindly pushed the two beds together. This worked out better as it gave us more space than you'd usually get in a double bed.
Room was well equiped and very tastefully decorated with a good choice of teas, coffee, bottled water & coffee drinks.
Room came with a DVD player & you could hire DVD's FOC with a deposit or an imprint of a credit card.
Bathroom roomy with a nice selection of goodies.
Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice on the menu to suit all fussy eaters & the fried Haggis was excellent.
Location was ideal with a free car park opposite and the HSS terminal under a 10 min walk away which was ideal for our day trip to Belfast.
Cost was £25.00pppn which was great value
Would recommend it as a great location for a short break or as a stopover en route ti Nortern Ireland

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apollo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2007

We stayed at the Harbour Lights Guest House under the fantastic care of Colin and Rhona when we were in Stranraer for a family funeral.

The standard of care we received was second to none.

The breakfast menu was to suit all needs and wishes, it was the best breakfast i have had in any of the hotels and guest houses that i have stayed in.

We will certainly visit again and next time for longer and for a holiday rather than such a sad occassion.

Thank you Colin and Rhona for making such a sad time so much easier.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Constantmoaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2006

After struggling to find accomodation in Stranraer we came across the Harbour Lights and were given a warm and friendly welcome by the landlady Rhona Brown. We were shown a lovely double room (with two good sized double beds). The room boasted a fantastic view over Loch Ryan and we had a great view of the Dublin Ferry coming and going out of the loch. The room was clean, bright and modern and the bedding was lovely and fresh. Oh and what a treat to have a double bed each!!. There was lots of stoarge space in the room and in the wardrobe lots of nice wooden hangers, not the usual 3 wire ones!! The bathroom was huge with a nice big bath and shower. There were lots of nice touches in the room:- the usual tea and coffee but also herbal teas, hot chocolate, horlicks, botlles of water, lovely biscuit and cookie selection and tissues. At breakfast we had a view of the Loch and were well looked after by Colin the other half of the team. To start with a lovely bowl of fresh fruit salad, cereal, fruit juice, yogurts etc. A lovely big tea pot full of tea and mugs!!. They have a novel idea for the main course where all the menu is listed on a blackboard, you then select which items like from the extensive selection which includes all the old favourites plus. blackpudding, potato scones, pancakes and haggis!!. There was also a nice touch with the landlady's homemade gooseberry jam, blackberry jam and marmalade which were all delicious. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts, they gave us lots of recommendations for local places to eat and drink, all within a couple of minutes walk from the Harbour Lights which is ideally situated about 5 minutes walk to the main town. We cannot recommend this B&B highly enough and consider ourselves very fortunate that all the other places we tried had "NO VACANCIES"

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yorsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stranraer hotels
0.4 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marine House Hotel
Marine House Hotel
#4 of 25 in Stranraer
66 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thornbank House
Thornbank House
#1 of 25 in Stranraer
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Torrs Warren Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stranraer
116 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Thistle Inn
The Thistle Inn
#21 of 25 in Stranraer
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Lights Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Lights Guest House

Address: 7 Agnew Crescent, Stranraer DG9 7JY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Stranraer
Price Range: £57 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Visit Scotland family run Guest House on the shores of Lochryan and only a 5 minute drive to the ferries for Ireland, Free parking in the car-park opposite, all rooms are en-suite with free 24 hour Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Harbour Lights Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Lights Guest House Stranraer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing