We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean tidy and efficient, excellent standard and very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harbour Lights Guest House
Ranked #2 of 24 Stranraer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lanarkshire
1 review
“Clean tidy and efficient, excellent standard and very friendly”
Reviewed 30 July 2009

This B & B is very good it is well positioned for all amenities and is very clean and comfortable, We were all made very welcome. Our room was on the second floor in the family room which was very spacious with two double beds in it. The bathroom ensuite was of a good size as well. The breakfast had everything that you could wish to eat and was delicous. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WallaceLanarkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    13
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
74
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wishaw
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2009

I had the pleasure of staying at the Harbour Lights with my friend in Nov. 06 we had a fab time. Rhona and Colin made us feel very welcome the family room was very clean and the decor was to a very high standard. The facilities in the room were great and the ensuite bathroom was of a good size. The breakfast was second to none and there was everything you could possibly want to eat. After breakfast we strolled along to the ferry terminal and went across to Belfast for the day it was fun and stress free. Later on we went out for a few drinks in Stranraer and we found that everyone we met were really friendly. We would definately go back again. Loved it.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynneHendry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2009

My partner and i enjoyed a weekend stay at The Harbour Lights guest house in stranraer, our room was comfortable and beautifully laid out with a sea view.
Mr and Mrs Brown were warm and friendly, making us feel welcome. My partner and i both agree that mrs brown's breakfast was second to none.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2008

Collin and Rhona are terrific hosts. You won't be disappointed! We arrived by train and departed by Ferry. Both easly accessible to the BB. Collin suggested eating lunch/dinner in Portpatric, at Campbell's restaurant. WOW - beautiful village and even better food. It's just a short 15 minute ride on a local bus. In Stranraer Collin suggested "The Bay House" for dinner. He was spot on! We walked to the restaurant and took a taxi ride back. Avoid a disapointment - make reservations for both. The B&B itself is well located near the harbour, clean, comfortable and serves a delicious breakfast. I can't say enough good things about your hosts. They made traveling in Stranraer a pleasure.
Carrigan - Arizona, USA

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LarryCTempe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2008

We stayed at the Harbour Lights just for one night to attend a wedding in Stranraer. From the moment we set foot in the place to the moment we left the staff were so genuienly friendly and helpful.

The room was large, comfortable, had an ensuite and was extremely clean. We had out own key for the front door so we could come and go as we pleased.

The breakfast was brilliant - just what a sore head needed. A big fry up as well as toast, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, tea, coffee (proper coffee).....fantastic.

Would have no hesitation recommending this property and would definetely go back.

Thanks for a great stay.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, staff, food.
  • Disliked — We only stayed one night!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TeamDMcP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comberton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2007

Nice clean b & b. Nice hosts and great rooms. Parking was in a public car park, good breakfasts. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkBenComberton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth (scotland)
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2007

This is an excellent B & B. The rooms are modern, and both room and the en-suite were immaculately clean. Also very comfortable beds. Hospitality tray included tea, coffee, hot chocolate,water, biscuits, tissues. Breakfast was excellent, and you can order snacks and packed lunches. Our room had a DVD player, and DVDs are available for a deposit. I believe bike hire may be on the cards, which would be great. There is a brilliant park opposite the house which the children loved.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank eliekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stranraer
0.4 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
8.8 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
0.5 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stranraer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Thornbank House
Thornbank House
#1 of 24 in Stranraer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakeview Guesthouse
Lakeview Guesthouse
#3 of 24 in Stranraer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Manse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Lights Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Lights Guest House

Property: Harbour Lights Guest House
Address: 7 Agnew Crescent, Stranraer DG9 7JY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Stranraer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Visit Scotland family run Guest House on the shores of Lochryan and only a 5 minute drive to the ferries for Ireland, Free parking in the car-park opposite, all rooms are en-suite with free 24 hour Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Harbour Lights Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Lights Guest House Stranraer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing