We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super cottage, especially with kids - hope to...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sky Cottage

Sky Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sky Cottage
Living room Fully equipped kitchen with everything you need
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Sky Cottage
Living room
Fully equipped kitchen with everything you need
Dining area
One of the double bedrooms overlooking Loch Ryan
Second double bedroom
Twin room which overlooks the garden
Tiered Garden
Play Area in Agnew Park
Stunning photo of the Island in Agnew Park
Taken from a pedal boat on the boating lake in Agnew Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MrsE-Edin...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Super cottage, especially with kids - hope to visit again”
Reviewed 4 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Sky Cottage is full of character, clean, quiet, cosy and equipped with everything you will ever need.
We have a 3 year old and an 18-month old and it was so nice to have everything in place for the wee ones, including a small playroom with toys, high chair, travel cot, stair gates and kids' cutlery, plates etc.
The area around Stranraer is a lovely place to explore, and the cottage's position in town means that everything is within walking distance.
Our stay was easy to arrange directly with the owners, and they provided a warm welcome, even with a few essentials in the fridge to greet us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Thank you for your positive response. We were delighted to accommodate you and your family in Sky Cottage and are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Having young children ourselves, we understand the importance of ensuring that the cottage is child friendly, welcoming and fully equipped for families. Thank you once again for choosing our cottage. We hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole M
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Sky Cottage was very well presented, very clean and tidy. I do feel that pics were slightly misleading. The rooms were all very small especially the staircase. The garden was overgrown so we didn't get to use it.
Sky Cottage is very well equipped, everything you might need. Ideally situated.
The only thing I was disappointed with was room sizes, it did feel very cramped.
I don't think I would return, I prefer a bit more space. More comfort.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2016
Sorry to hear you were disappointed with the cottage Carole. As a former Fisherman's cottage dating back to 1749, rooms were naturally smaller in those days. We try to make the most of the space available however appreciated that they may not have been as big as you were expecting. We hope that all other aspects of your stay were enjoyable, though you were very unlucky with the weather. Thank you once again for staying at Sky Cottage. Kindest regards, James & Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murdoch W
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good location pleasant stay”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Myself, wife and 4 family stayed at Sky cottage for 6 days 1st week in August,we enjoyed our visit and cottage was ideal.The welcome was great and facilities good, hope to return..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2016
Thank you for your review Murdoch. You and your family were a pleasure to accommodate and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We would be delighted to see you again in the future. Kindest regards, James & Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbie W
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We are a family of 6 with children of 6, 8, 13 & 14 and stayed in Sky cottage for 5 nights at the end of May/early June. The cottage is lovely and clean, well sized bedrooms and well located. We used it as a base whilst visiting family in the area so didn't spend a massive amount of time in the cottage but when we were there, everything was great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
Thank you for that really positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Sky Cottage and would welcome you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidIHut...
Eggleston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very welcoming”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Parking very good as there is a car park over the road as well as outside the cottage. The cottage was clean and tidy and we enjoyed our stay at Stranrear. We were up visiting friends for a wedding, we had a lovely weekend

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing