We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place To Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brora Lodge B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wigtown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brora Lodge B&B
Ranked #2 of 8 Wigtown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
durham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Place To Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

My wife and i got a warm greeting from Helen when we arrived for our three night stay in May.You have such a lovely view over breakfast made by Peter the full breakfast with haggis set you up for the day.We stayed in room four which was cleaned every day and spotless.There is nothing left to stay but you can't go any further than stay at Brora Lodge if you are i that part of the country

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ralph-ellis64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrparnold, Owner at Brora Lodge B&B, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thanks very much for your kind review, and you're the second reviewer to mention the haggis recently, which I must confirm is very good indeed.
Having said that, we do like to think all our breakfast items are very good. When we started some 6 years ago now, we spent a lot of time researching all the options around here going as far away as Dumfries, Stranraer, Castle Douglas and Dalbeattie, trying to find the best bacon, black pudding, sausage, and of course haggis, for our guests to enjoy.
During the summer we even grow our own tomatoes as we feel that's one item that can let us down a little being so variable during the year. Besides, you can't beat a tomato freshly picked from the vine.
We're glad you had a good time here, and we look forward to you both visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
72
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Had a great time here, when in this area again will surely come back here! It was superb! Great service an hospitality!

Great combination to visit the Bladnoch distillery and the lovely bookshops in Wigtown and see the beautiful coast. Great place to stay with great hosts!

Thanks for having us!
Thomas & Ansgar
The Netherlands

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whisky4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrparnold, Owner at Brora Lodge B&B, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thanks so much you whisky lovers, it was a pleasure and indeed an honour to have you experts stay here with us. The whisky chats (and sample) were very informative, we do hope you return so we can carry on where we left off.
Looking forward very much to your return one day, all the best to you both.
Peter and Helen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Lovely place to stay, great location for the book town, very quiet. Superb view from conservatory. Only an overnight stay back would make a great base to explore the area.Helen was very welcoming and looked after us, couldn't ask for more. Haggis was great at breakfast too!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Lovely place, lovely people. Feel like I have known Peter all my life. This place certainly offers the best service with the most accommodating hosts for many miles around. Our fifth time here and every time just as good as the last, cant wait to return. Tommo.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steveieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrparnold, Owner at Brora Lodge B&B, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Stevie Boy you old rascal, I still hurt after all your ribbing! Anyway looking forward to sharing a beer the next time you do stay here, and we'll once again reminisce about the good old days.
Thanks very much indeed for the kind words in your review, you are too kind as always, take care, good luck and see you soon, we hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alresford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Our second visit to Brora Lodge within 9 months speaks volumes.
With comfortable beds, lovely varied breakfasts, scenic views and welcoming hosts, is everything that you could wish.
An excellent base for exploring Galloway

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrparnold, Owner at Brora Lodge B&B, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you very much folks, it was so nice having you here, the banter goes down so well we should be charged by you for the performance. Trust the good lady had a fair to moderate dose of shopping therapy on the way home!
Looking forward to your next visit already when we will once again ensure that your holiday is a memorable one in the best possible place.
Take care till then, Pete & Helen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Well what can I say? Fabulous views, lovely accommodation, very friendly hosts, superb location, easy to find. Superb choice for breakfast, everything you could need in your room, a guest lounge and a conservatory where you can just sit a and drink in the view. Just an overnight stop this time but will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrparnold, Owner at Brora Lodge B&B, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Such praise from lovely people as you are, is over whelming and we thank you from the heart for your kind words and support, we are very touched and so pleased what we offer here is perfect for you.
We look forward to your return in the near future when we will have installed the extra hard standing area for your amazing motor bike.
Thank you very much, best regards Peter & Helen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Back to Wigtown and back to Brora Lodge. Working on the "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" train of thought, we've been back to Brora Lodge several times because we've found it offers the best service for bed and breakfast in the area - it's super clean, has hospitable and friendly hosts, comfortable rooms, great breakfasts and a great outlook in which to enjoy them. What's not to like, apart from the fact that to return you first have to leave? We are returning in a few weeks with other family members in tow and are convinced they will like it, too.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytraveller030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wigtown
6.9 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
10.4 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hillcrest House
Hillcrest House
#1 of 8 in Wigtown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
6.1 mi away
House O'Hill Hotel
House O'Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bargrennan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glaisnock House
Glaisnock House
#3 of 8 in Wigtown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brora Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brora Lodge B&B

Property: Brora Lodge B&B
Address: Brora Lodge Station Road, Wigtown DG8 9DZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Wigtown
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Wigtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brora Lodge B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Brora Lodge, a comfortable modern Visit Scotland 4 star graded bed and breakfast residence located in the historic town of Wigtown. Feel at home in this luxury base to explore the many sights and attractions of the Galloway area and beyond. A warm welcome, a pleasant stay, a delicious breakfast, and good bonhomie awaits you here. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brora Lodge B&B Wigtown, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing