We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillcrest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hillcrest House
Ranked #1 of 8 Wigtown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
The Sticks
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

My Wife and I stayed here one Sunday night in July. The hotel is in a nice and quiet area, good views from the front of the property to the marsh. Dinner was excellent and well presented, though check the wine prices before ordering!
Bladnoch distillery is within 30 minutes walking distance and there is a good pub there too, if you can catch the bus back it would be easier on the legs.
In general it was a pleasant stay. The hotel decor is due a revamp, likewise our ensuite bathroom. I couldn't fault the bedroom, `Moray` was furnished nicely and had a very comfy bed which was welcome after sleeping in a field for 3 days. In general it was a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Moray has best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SidSticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    20
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
69
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
United Kingom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

This B&B really suited us. Convenient location with regards to Wigtown and the house a perfect atmosphere - luxurious but not pretentious. Our room really was great and the big bed was extra comfortable. The owners were pleasant whenever we saw them and breakfast was served with a smile. The bacon was the best we had all holiday! Stay here and have no regrets.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thewalkerofhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

The attention to detail from the proprietors is appreciated. We had dinner, which was a very filling dinner. The breakfast in the morning was equally filling and set us up for the day. The proprietors have committed to using local products whenever possible, which I appreciated. Our room (the Moray) had a lovely view of the countryside. Everything was clean, bright and well appointed. I'd recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone staying in this area of the Scottish lowlands.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KristaHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed for three nights in July. On arrival we received a warm and genuine welcome from the friendly owner Andrew (who reminded me of Stephen Fry). During our stay the owners struck the perfect balance of being available when needed but leaving guests to come and go as they wished without feeling monitored.
We had the Moray room which was very clean and spacious. It had a comfortable bed and gorgeous quilt together with good en-suite facilities and high quality complimentary toiletries and bathrobes.
Hillcrest is an attractive older house with considerable character. Our room overlooked the garden which was very neat and tidy. The bay window had beautiful scenic views. The elegant lounge is very well furnished with a wide selection of books, games and useful maps. It would be very cosy in winter.
A good range of breakfast choices is offered and we found the cooked breakfast to be excellent. There is a wide choice of local jams and preserves to sample (a nice change from ubiquitous unimaginative plastic pots).
Hillcrest and the surrounding area is a perfect location for a peaceful and relaxing break.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FredAbberline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed two nights in July, the photos make it look lot better than it really is. The hosts; well we only really met one discounting the exit when Deborah appeared... so Andrew was a good host and clearly made an effort to meet our needs can't fault him at all. The accommodation is not 4 star more 2 and a half, as I say the photos make it look much better than it actually is, which is to say a bit on the grubby side. We booked the Moray room thinking we'd treat ourselves...disappointed to say the least. Most definitely not worth £78 more like £40. Additionally, I hope if you plan to stay that you don't mind sharing with a dozen or so large blue bottle flies which seem to get in despite closed windows. Spent a while killing them before we could settle down. we decided to take the evening meal on the first night for convenience; I have to say for £21 per person (£42 total) it is very overpriced. I found it to be quite basic and a more realistic price would be in the region of £10 - £12 per head for what we received. The lamb was fine, the potatoes were undercooked and no gravy only mint sauce was available which I hate... As for the location, it is pleasant enough, a very quiet place not sure I would call it a town as there is nothing in it... Good for a stroll then move on. On reflection should have only stayed the night.

Room Tip: Sorry but I would not return so no recommendation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewwf1, Owner at Hillcrest House, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations; we generally do not supply a gravy when serving the local salt-marsh lamb as it can overpower the flavour, which is why we also do not serve mint sauce but instead prefer the locally made apple and mint jelly which is far more complimentary. However, as with all dietary requirements or preferences we could have made you some gravy if you had mentioned it at the time.
With regards to the bluebottles I can only apologise for a very strange occurence. I cannot think why they should have descended into your room just for that one evening but I am glad they did not return for your second night, nor any night since.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

I stayed here 3 nights exploring the Gardens of the Rhins area, Stanraer and the Isle of Whithorn, all great places to visit and a welcome change in pace-of-life terms. Also, the attraction of Wigtown as Scotland's 'Book Town'. Found at least 3 very good shops from which I made some purchases. There aren't as many bookshops as Hay on Wye, only about 8 or 9 that I found, but the prices asked for books is much more reasonable.

Hillcrest is a large Victorian building with a large front garden, on-site parking and a very good Wi-Fi system. Rooms are large, very well appointed and comfortable. The attention from the hosts is excellent, as are their breakfasts. They do an optional evening meal, you can choose from a menu if you ask early enough.

If you don't fancy eating in, the Bladnoch Inn about 2 miles away is quite good and there are 2-3 places in Newton Stewart.

This is a very quiet part of the world and a good night's sleep is guaranteed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewwf1, Owner at Hillcrest House, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at Hillcrest and that you appreciated all our little town has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

I stayed at Hillcrest for 3 nights. Lovely property, the room was large and clean and had everything I could ask for (loved the hot water bottle), including a good view over fields. Breakfast was great too - the full Scottish really set me up for the day and the choice of fruit, nuts seeds and jams was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iamasingletraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wigtown
6.8 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
6.3 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
19.4 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hawthorn House
Hawthorn House
#1 of 1 in Port William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glaisnock House
Glaisnock House
#3 of 8 in Wigtown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest House

Property: Hillcrest House
Address: Hillcrest Maidland Place, Wigtown DG8 9EU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Wigtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Wigtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillcrest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious Victorian villa set on the edge of Scotland's Booktown. Short stroll from the centre of town with lovely open views over farmland to the sea. Excellent value B&B accommodation, with award-winning evening meals available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hillcrest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest House Wigtown, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing