We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hillcrest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Downshire Hotel(Portpatrick)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Crown Hotel(Newton Stewart)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bruce Hotel(Newton Stewart)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Galloway Arms Hotel(Newton Stewart)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Creebridge House Hotel(Newton Stewart)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kirroughtree House Hotel(Newton Stewart)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cally Palace Hotel(Gatehouse of Fleet)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bank of Fleet Hotel(Gatehouse of Fleet)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Murray Arms(Gatehouse of Fleet)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Selkirk Arms Hotel(Kirkcudbright)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
88
21
7
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
88
21
7
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast was excellentfull scottishbay windowlovely roomsolway firthcomfortable bedthe ownerb bdietary requirementsfamily roomlocal produceold victoriana wonderful staybiscuitslocal areaexcellent hoststwo night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

A beautiful old house packed full of charm. We stayed in the moray room which was very comfortable and had all the home comforts you could need! Andrew who is the owner/manager is a fantastic host who can't do enough for you and had great local knowledge! The full Scottish breakfast was beautiful but If you prefer something lighter of a morning there was plenty to choose from. In the local wigtown area there isn't a great deal to do, I would recommend a drive to the beautiful portpatrick about an hour away. We ate two evening meals in the local wigtown pub the ploughman inn which I can recommend highly for good food and friendly locals. I would very much recommend hillcrest house as a good base to explore the south west Scotland area and would have no problem returning in the future!

Dave and Rebecca

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DCart_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewwf1, Owner at Hillcrest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments. Galloway does cover a huge area and this does lead to a fair amount of driving to take in the "local" highlights but I do think we have some of the most beautiful roads to drive along and generally not a lot of traffic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed for two nights with another couple. Lovely house and some nice touches around the bedroom - biscuits supplied with hospitality tray, good quality soap, shower gel etc, hairdryer and very comfortable bed. It was also spotlessly clean. Our only complaint in the bedroom was that our 'en suite' was a very small section of the room which had been converted. Not sure how it passed building regulations as it had a bi-fold door which was about an inch from your knees when you were on the loo!!!
We had dinner on our first night and were quite disappointed (as we had previously read excellent reviews). There was no choice of menu. We were served a plate with a very solid and difficult to cut, pork chop, then served with carrot, turnip, parsnip and some fried potatoes. It was ok but nothing special. The dessert was a chocolate brownie and a small ball of ice cream, followed by coffee. We could have chosen to have dinner here the next night but as it was lamb chop on the menu and a cost of £21 per head we declined. We had breakfast both mornings and enjoyed it.
We got a good value deal but wouldn't have been pleased if we'd paid the normal rate of £65 for bed and breakfast!

Room Tip: Ask if you can have a room with a decent sized bathroom!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheenawm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This is a really lovely place to stay, with extremely accommodating hosts (who graciously and with good humour put up with my peculiar dietary requirements). It has a really nice atmosphere and strikes a good balance between the hosts being available but not hovering around all the time. It is so much prettier than it looks in photos. The breakfast is delicious; never thought I'd love haggis!
Our room was beautifully decorated and I loved the bathroom and the lavender-scented toiletries. The shower is awesome. I wasn't keen on the bed because I prefer a sofer bed, but my husband who isn't weird like me had a great nights'sleep every night. Besides you will never please everyone when you try to find a bed that suits everyone!
Hillcrest is in a good location and extremely close to the pub :) (FYI I'm talking about The Ploughman's Inn in Wigtown; we tried the Bladnoch Inn but the food was mediocre and the atmosphere decidedly chilly; go to the Ploughman's where you'll get a warm welcome, good food and a bit of banter with the locals if you want it)

They have 2 cats, a dog and some rabbits which would be enough to convince me of its merits for that alone; it feels like home.

If we return to Dumfries & Galloway, Hillcrest will be the first place we check for availability.

Room Tip: The Solway has a great view over the Wigtown Nature Reserve but lighter sleepers might prefer a room that doesn't face the sunrise as the curtains aren't black out ones. We were so pleased just to have sunshine that we would have happily slept there with no curtains, but that's just us :)
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smithwheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We only stayed for one night but it was a great stay. Friendly welcome, great breakfast. Our room had a very small bathroom, but this was perfectly fine given that the rest of the room was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I can't recommend these people enough. No manger in a stable here, but a right royal welcome. Minor problems solved, warmth of welcome guaranteed, and super value. Lovely old house, well converted. I'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheilaritchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews