We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ford Bank Country House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wigtown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ford Bank Country House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Wigtown B&B and Inns
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Just got home from having a wonderful three days at the Fordbank.
Got told about this place by our friends who stayed a few times last year. I don't usually do reviews but we were so chuffed with the place, it only deserves one. A good write up. The room we had was very spacious and clean. When we got there, two more couples were staying but on our last night we were the only people in so the manager Scott upgraded us to room 2, massive bed and a just as big jacuzzi bath. Scott couldn't do enough for us while we stayed, he even dropped us off at the pub, which was a very nice gesture. We have already booked to go back in August and hope we get some more good weather.Breakfast was plentiful and good quality. All in all a great place to stop if you are in sw Scotland.

Room Tip: Great value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rubester666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    3
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
8
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland/Portugal
Level Contributor
225 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Unfortunately, this hotel is up for sale yet again and it shows in the service. Over an over it is sold, so there is no continuity. It is such a shame that this hotel does not seem able to make a go of it, even though it is in such a good spot - close to the river Bladnoch and the Distillery. Perhaps new owners will set it on its feet again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gavScotland_Portugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stopped over for 1 night on our way back from further up north. Scott was very helpful, letting us know where to go for food and showing us to our rooms(which we had the pick of as we were the only ones on that night!) lovely rooms, very comfortable beds, our little one thoroughly enjoyed the spa bath in room 2. Breakfast was great too. Overall a great B&B!

Room Tip: Room 2 was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaikoura
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Very warm and relaxed. Perfect for 5 busy blokes enjoying long days out in the field. Enjoyed a great Breakfast on our arrival, and freedom to come back at 03:30 next morning after a long day finished with 6 charlies to the lamp.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Booked two stalks one evening and one morning so late back after evening stalk and out before sunrise ,Scott gave me keys to come and go as i pleased FREE drink on my return after shoot to either celebrate or drown your sorrows, me i was celebrating my first stalk ever and my first Buck . So many thanks to Scott for arranging everything thanks to Paul for guiding me on both shoots and thanks to Les for his hospitality at the shoot. hope to be back.well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gerry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

lovely hotel in a great place scott the manager is very helpfull although the hotel does not do food the breakfast was lovely we had a meal in the bladnock inn a short walk from the hotel hope to visit the hotel again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland/Portugal
Level Contributor
225 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

This country hotel is open again under new management, after being for sale for some time. Price per night per person B&B at £27.50 is reasonable and the situation is quiet although right by the road. It no longer does meals, but it is within walking distance of the Bladenoch Inn. Also within walking distance of the Bladenoch brewery and lovely walks along the Cree River, where you can often see otters.
Let's hope that they can make a go of it.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gavScotland_Portugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wigtown
0.5 mi away
Hillcrest House
Hillcrest House
#1 of 8 in Wigtown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bladnoch Inn
The Bladnoch Inn
#13 of 19 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glaisnock House
Glaisnock House
#3 of 8 in Wigtown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Craft Hotel
#4 of 8 in Wigtown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Ford Bank Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ford Bank Country House Hotel

Property: Ford Bank Country House Hotel
Address: Potato Mill Road, Wigtown DG8 9BT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Wigtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Wigtown
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Ford Bank Country House Hotel Wigtown, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing