We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, touch of history, extra service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wigtown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ford Bank Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Wigtown B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Quiet, touch of history, extra service”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The charming old house reminded us of sceneries in Agatha Christie or gothic movies, in particular the wonderful lounge. Scott was a great host offering much extra service which made it not only a lovely place but also a great deal: a variety of free drinks and fruit, a great breakfast including free newspaper and much concern for individual wishes.
This is not the place for people who expect historic architecture / design but perfect renovation in all details (the building could need some renovation, e.g. carpets, but our room was very clean with comfortable bed and bathroom) or who love chats and entertainment (Scott and his staff do not live in the house but come in on demand or for services such as breakfast). But we loved the solitude and quietness in the house and its surrounding. A pub and a distillery are within walking distance, touristic attractions can easily be reached by car.





Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    3
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
8
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here 21st of June on a short break, we were impressed by the old house on arrival and Scott the owner was very inviting we were offered fruit, water and beer from the fridge anytime we wanted which was at no extra cost. The room was very impressive a Jacuzzi bath big enough for two and also a large shower, and also a very spacious bedroom with flat screen tv and settee. We were offered a full English breakfast in the morning with tea coffee and cereal but we only wanted a bacon sandwich as we were not that hungry. I cannot believe the quality of this bed and breakfast for £27.50 per person, I have stayed at hotels costing £230 per night that did not measure up to this one, if you are staying near this area give this one a go you'll not be disappointed it's a little gem.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 46tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I spent one night here and was totally impressed by not only the grand old house itself, but the quality of the rooms, the decor, the excellent breakfast and also the friendliness of Scott, the owner.
I had a choice of rooms as they were not particularly busy when I stayed and ended up in Room 2, which is located at the front of the building. There's a huge bed with plenty of wardrobe space, TV, tea/coffee making facilities etc and a fold down sofa if required. The bathroom is modern, clean and comes with shower cabinet and a spa bath designed for two. Unfortunately I didn't have anyone to share it with on this occasion!
Although a little bit out of Wigtown itself, it is only a ten minute walk to the nearest pub at Bladnoch, where they serve evening meals at a very reasonable price.
Cooked breakfast was made to order along with a selection of cereals and fruit juice.
Very comfortable and friendly B&B and one I hope continues to do well for the current owners. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 2 is the largest and comes with that made-for-2 spa bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank secret-agent-0021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Just got home from having a wonderful three days at the Fordbank.
Got told about this place by our friends who stayed a few times last year. I don't usually do reviews but we were so chuffed with the place, it only deserves one. A good write up. The room we had was very spacious and clean. When we got there, two more couples were staying but on our last night we were the only people in so the manager Scott upgraded us to room 2, massive bed and a just as big jacuzzi bath. Scott couldn't do enough for us while we stayed, he even dropped us off at the pub, which was a very nice gesture. We have already booked to go back in August and hope we get some more good weather.Breakfast was plentiful and good quality. All in all a great place to stop if you are in sw Scotland.

Room Tip: Great value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubester666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland/Portugal
Level Contributor
232 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Unfortunately, this hotel is up for sale yet again and it shows in the service. Over an over it is sold, so there is no continuity. It is such a shame that this hotel does not seem able to make a go of it, even though it is in such a good spot - close to the river Bladnoch and the Distillery. Perhaps new owners will set it on its feet again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gavScotland_Portugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stopped over for 1 night on our way back from further up north. Scott was very helpful, letting us know where to go for food and showing us to our rooms(which we had the pick of as we were the only ones on that night!) lovely rooms, very comfortable beds, our little one thoroughly enjoyed the spa bath in room 2. Breakfast was great too. Overall a great B&B!

Room Tip: Room 2 was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaikoura
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Very warm and relaxed. Perfect for 5 busy blokes enjoying long days out in the field. Enjoyed a great Breakfast on our arrival, and freedom to come back at 03:30 next morning after a long day finished with 6 charlies to the lamp.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wigtown
0.5 mi away
Hillcrest House
Hillcrest House
#1 of 7 in Wigtown
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bladnoch Inn
The Bladnoch Inn
#14 of 17 in Newton Stewart
49 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glaisnock House
Glaisnock House
#3 of 7 in Wigtown
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Craft Hotel
#4 of 7 in Wigtown
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Ford Bank Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ford Bank Country House Hotel

Property: Ford Bank Country House Hotel
Address: Potato Mill Road, Wigtown DG8 9BT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Wigtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Wigtown
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Ford Bank Country House Hotel Wigtown, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing