We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class country house break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wigtown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ford Bank Country House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Wigtown B&B and Inns
home
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“first class country house break”
Reviewed 28 September 2010

we had one night here,what a lovely warm welcoming house,very tastefully decorated.Our room was fantastic with a jacuzzi bath.The owners and staff were so welcoming and attentive.The lounge was so relaxing for pre dinner drinks with a lovely real fire,Dinner was magnificent,the chef is obviosly highly skilled in sourcing local produce and making very different menus.Breakfast was again a great treat,All in all a super 1 night break,will recommend to friends and would not hesitate in returning.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    3
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
8
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Unless you are a lover of eccentric plumbing ,strange fittings and a very unpleasant view from the bedroom.then avoid Room 5! The rooms 1-4 are no doubt very pleasant at the front of the building. The new owners are short on management skills and no doubt they and their staff would benefit from some professional management training. Fortunately they are blessed with an excellent chef-the meals which we took on the two nights were superb.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas_walker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fordbankhotel, Owner at Ford Bank Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2010
Whilst we apprecite customers taking the time to give us feedback, we find it difficult to respond and proactively address issues when the complaints are not validated and are untrue. The issues raised were timely addressed in a manner appropriate to the issues raised. It is difficult to increase the time it takes for a toilet to flush, and also to alter the rear view drastically when our 2 children live on the premises, so I apologise that we were unable to rectify such problems during your stay. (UNfortunatley we are not landscape gardeners, and also prefer not to send our children to boarding school) We did offer to find you alternative accommodation as you expressed your general dissatisfaction throughout your stay. We would be more than happy to forward you details of other establishments in the area should you require them.
Thank you for the comments about the food, and about your suggestions re management training. I am sure they will be gratefully received by my staff. I can assume you did not read any of the (numerous) comment cards on display in the hotel where many guests have complimented us on our service, value for money and general hospitality.

Once again, many thanks for your comments, we truly value your opinion, and hope you find suitable quality accommodation ih the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle England
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We stopped here for an evening meal instead of the usual pub. So glad we did, the 4 of us enjoyed every mouthfull! It only cost us £4 more for 2 of the main courses than the pub, but what a big difference. I had 'Venison steaks on colcannon potato with peppercorn sauce, served also with a small plate of vegetables. One of our friends was on a diet and so she had a starter called 'seafood assiette' - smoked salmon, crab in filo pastry, cod mouse and crayfish which she said was 'divine' Another friend wanted the lunchtime 'haddock & chips' which they readily served, this came with mushy peas and 'real' chips. We stayed in the bar to eat but could have gone into the dining room.
The staff were helpful and eager for our views as they only took over a few months ago.
Go and try it out if you can.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MarieShields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfriesshire, Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

set in the gorgeous countyside near many local attractions this hotel is a real find. Intimate and family run, providing personal friendly service.
The building is beautiful, retaining many origional features and certainly welcoming. A cosy bar area for wine next to the roaring fire before supper. The dining room is a pleasant surprise. A high standard of locally sourced ingredients made for a delicious meal. We were so full we almost didnt have pudding-that would have been a shame-the sticky toffee pudding is a triumph!
The well appointed rooms are spotless and comfortable. Peace and quiet is the order of the day and I awoke to the sound of distant lambs in the surrounding fields.
Worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bob042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wigtown
0.5 mi away
Hillcrest House
Hillcrest House
#1 of 7 in Wigtown
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bladnoch Inn
The Bladnoch Inn
#13 of 17 in Newton Stewart
52 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glaisnock House
Glaisnock House
#3 of 7 in Wigtown
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Craft Hotel
#5 of 7 in Wigtown
2 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Ford Bank Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ford Bank Country House Hotel

Property: Ford Bank Country House Hotel
Address: Potato Mill Road, Wigtown DG8 9BT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Wigtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Wigtown
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Ford Bank Country House Hotel Wigtown, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing