We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ford Bank Country House Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Wigtown
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
The Downshire Hotel(Portpatrick)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Crown Hotel(Newton Stewart)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bruce Hotel(Newton Stewart)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Galloway Arms Hotel(Newton Stewart)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Creebridge House Hotel(Newton Stewart)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kirroughtree House Hotel(Newton Stewart)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cally Palace Hotel(Gatehouse of Fleet)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bank of Fleet Hotel(Gatehouse of Fleet)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Murray Arms(Gatehouse of Fleet)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Selkirk Arms Hotel(Kirkcudbright)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
15
3
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
3
2
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2010

My mum and I were in the area looking for wedding venues. We decided to stay overnight in Newton Stewart but hadn't banked on the fact it was nearly the weekend of the bookfair in Wigtown and everywhere was booked up. We managed to get a room at the Ford bank Country House Hotel (just outside Newton Stewart on the way to Wigtown) and drove there, rather tired and hungry, expecting the worst if I'm honest.
We were warmly welcomed on arrival, shown to our very comfortable and clean room and honestly felt as though we had lucked out! After our absolutely delicious evening meal (it was was fantastic) I felt so pleased that the other hotels we'd stopped at had been fully booked. Mum and I had a brilliant night sleep and continued our search for wedding venues the following day after an amazing breakfast.

The owners might be new to the business but really made us welcome and deserve to do well with their venture. I'd absolutely recommend a stay here to anyone and if our wedding happens to be in the area I wouldn't hesitate to book friends and family in here. We wish the owners tonnes of success for the future.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurajaynehayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

we had one night here,what a lovely warm welcoming house,very tastefully decorated.Our room was fantastic with a jacuzzi bath.The owners and staff were so welcoming and attentive.The lounge was so relaxing for pre dinner drinks with a lovely real fire,Dinner was magnificent,the chef is obviosly highly skilled in sourcing local produce and making very different menus.Breakfast was again a great treat,All in all a super 1 night break,will recommend to friends and would not hesitate in returning.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruth12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Unless you are a lover of eccentric plumbing ,strange fittings and a very unpleasant view from the bedroom.then avoid Room 5! The rooms 1-4 are no doubt very pleasant at the front of the building. The new owners are short on management skills and no doubt they and their staff would benefit from some professional management training. Fortunately they are blessed with an excellent chef-the meals which we took on the two nights were superb.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas_walker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fordbankhotel, Owner at Ford Bank Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2010

Whilst we apprecite customers taking the time to give us feedback, we find it difficult to respond and proactively address issues when the complaints are not validated and are untrue. The issues raised were timely addressed in a manner appropriate to the issues raised. It is difficult to increase the time it takes for a toilet to flush, and also to alter the rear view drastically when our 2 children live on the premises, so I apologise that we were unable to rectify such problems during your stay. (UNfortunatley we are not landscape gardeners, and also prefer not to send our children to boarding school) We did offer to find you alternative accommodation as you expressed your general dissatisfaction throughout your stay. We would be more than happy to forward you details of other establishments in the area should you require them.
Thank you for the comments about the food, and about your suggestions re management training. I am sure they will be gratefully received by my staff. I can assume you did not read any of the (numerous) comment cards on display in the hotel where many guests have complimented us on our service, value for money and general hospitality.

Once again, many thanks for your comments, we truly value your opinion, and hope you find suitable quality accommodation ih the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We stopped here for an evening meal instead of the usual pub. So glad we did, the 4 of us enjoyed every mouthfull! It only cost us £4 more for 2 of the main courses than the pub, but what a big difference. I had 'Venison steaks on colcannon potato with peppercorn sauce, served also with a small plate of vegetables. One of our friends was on a diet and so she had a starter called 'seafood assiette' - smoked salmon, crab in filo pastry, cod mouse and crayfish which she said was 'divine' Another friend wanted the lunchtime 'haddock & chips' which they readily served, this came with mushy peas and 'real' chips. We stayed in the bar to eat but could have gone into the dining room.
The staff were helpful and eager for our views as they only took over a few months ago.
Go and try it out if you can.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
Thank MarieShields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

set in the gorgeous countyside near many local attractions this hotel is a real find. Intimate and family run, providing personal friendly service.
The building is beautiful, retaining many origional features and certainly welcoming. A cosy bar area for wine next to the roaring fire before supper. The dining room is a pleasant surprise. A high standard of locally sourced ingredients made for a delicious meal. We were so full we almost didnt have pudding-that would have been a shame-the sticky toffee pudding is a triumph!
The well appointed rooms are spotless and comfortable. Peace and quiet is the order of the day and I awoke to the sound of distant lambs in the surrounding fields.
Worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bob042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews