We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wigtown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ford Bank Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Wigtown B&B and Inns
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed 3 February 2011

This is a small but stylish and very comfortable hotel just on the outskirts of Wigtown with views over the Galloway countryside. The lounge is comfy and there was a log fire belting out a warm welcome. Food was great, much better and more varied than the usual pub type hotel food. I had local scallops for starters, followed by a game dish and a gorgeous tart au citron. Well cooked, beautifully plated up and served by enthusiastic and smiling staff. The rooms were comfortable and nicely decorated, breakfast was not only big in size but big in taste and I had a really great stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mairhaich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    3
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
8
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2010

It was getting late on a Sunday evening and looking to break my journey home, I was delighted to find this hotel - having rung most of the other numbers on the board at the Newton Stewart Tourist Information to find they were either full or didn't answer! It was a little bit of a trek to Wigtown but well worth it. Although the hotel was very quiet, I was welcomed in the bar and had an excellent dinner. Good standard of presentation and service. My room was very comfortable, and breakfast again well presented. Clearly the owners have put a lot of thought and effort into the recent renovation and deserve to do well

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank model6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We were very keen to try out the new restaurant and booked for 7.30pm on a Saturday night. We were greeted in a very friendly manner and have no issue with the staff. However, there seemed to be a severe shortage of menus. We were second to be seated, so there was no problem for us, but others who followed either got menus to share between two or had to wait a while. There was some chuntering to be heard! Our main course was superb and the chef obviously knows what he's doing. Before we had finished we heard that one of the mains was sold out and this was still before 8pm! We ordered our desserts and waited. After a while the waitress informed us that there would be quite a wait before we could be served. I suggested we choose another dessert, but she said that was not the problem...the chef was snowed under and didn't have time to serve the desserts! We said we wouldn't bother and went home.
In short, the potential is enormous, but they need to get their act together and maybe get that chef some help! I hope they do improve because the area really needs a good restaurant.
One other point, the lighting is very dim outside in the car park, and with uneven ground it could be dangerous.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2010

My mum and I were in the area looking for wedding venues. We decided to stay overnight in Newton Stewart but hadn't banked on the fact it was nearly the weekend of the bookfair in Wigtown and everywhere was booked up. We managed to get a room at the Ford bank Country House Hotel (just outside Newton Stewart on the way to Wigtown) and drove there, rather tired and hungry, expecting the worst if I'm honest.
We were warmly welcomed on arrival, shown to our very comfortable and clean room and honestly felt as though we had lucked out! After our absolutely delicious evening meal (it was was fantastic) I felt so pleased that the other hotels we'd stopped at had been fully booked. Mum and I had a brilliant night sleep and continued our search for wedding venues the following day after an amazing breakfast.

The owners might be new to the business but really made us welcome and deserve to do well with their venture. I'd absolutely recommend a stay here to anyone and if our wedding happens to be in the area I wouldn't hesitate to book friends and family in here. We wish the owners tonnes of success for the future.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurajaynehayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

we had one night here,what a lovely warm welcoming house,very tastefully decorated.Our room was fantastic with a jacuzzi bath.The owners and staff were so welcoming and attentive.The lounge was so relaxing for pre dinner drinks with a lovely real fire,Dinner was magnificent,the chef is obviosly highly skilled in sourcing local produce and making very different menus.Breakfast was again a great treat,All in all a super 1 night break,will recommend to friends and would not hesitate in returning.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Unless you are a lover of eccentric plumbing ,strange fittings and a very unpleasant view from the bedroom.then avoid Room 5! The rooms 1-4 are no doubt very pleasant at the front of the building. The new owners are short on management skills and no doubt they and their staff would benefit from some professional management training. Fortunately they are blessed with an excellent chef-the meals which we took on the two nights were superb.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas_walker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fordbankhotel, Owner at Ford Bank Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2010
Whilst we apprecite customers taking the time to give us feedback, we find it difficult to respond and proactively address issues when the complaints are not validated and are untrue. The issues raised were timely addressed in a manner appropriate to the issues raised. It is difficult to increase the time it takes for a toilet to flush, and also to alter the rear view drastically when our 2 children live on the premises, so I apologise that we were unable to rectify such problems during your stay. (UNfortunatley we are not landscape gardeners, and also prefer not to send our children to boarding school) We did offer to find you alternative accommodation as you expressed your general dissatisfaction throughout your stay. We would be more than happy to forward you details of other establishments in the area should you require them.
Thank you for the comments about the food, and about your suggestions re management training. I am sure they will be gratefully received by my staff. I can assume you did not read any of the (numerous) comment cards on display in the hotel where many guests have complimented us on our service, value for money and general hospitality.

Once again, many thanks for your comments, we truly value your opinion, and hope you find suitable quality accommodation ih the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We stopped here for an evening meal instead of the usual pub. So glad we did, the 4 of us enjoyed every mouthfull! It only cost us £4 more for 2 of the main courses than the pub, but what a big difference. I had 'Venison steaks on colcannon potato with peppercorn sauce, served also with a small plate of vegetables. One of our friends was on a diet and so she had a starter called 'seafood assiette' - smoked salmon, crab in filo pastry, cod mouse and crayfish which she said was 'divine' Another friend wanted the lunchtime 'haddock & chips' which they readily served, this came with mushy peas and 'real' chips. We stayed in the bar to eat but could have gone into the dining room.
The staff were helpful and eager for our views as they only took over a few months ago.
Go and try it out if you can.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MarieShields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wigtown
7.0 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hillcrest House
Hillcrest House
#1 of 7 in Wigtown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bladnoch Inn
The Bladnoch Inn
#14 of 17 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Glaisnock House
Glaisnock House
#3 of 7 in Wigtown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Craft Hotel
#4 of 7 in Wigtown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ford Bank Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ford Bank Country House Hotel

Property: Ford Bank Country House Hotel
Address: Potato Mill Road, Wigtown DG8 9BT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Wigtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Wigtown
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Ford Bank Country House Hotel Wigtown, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing