We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family time.”
Horse Mill Cottage (left) and The Old Cart House (right)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Horse Mill Cottage (left) and The Old Cart House (right)
Heated Indoor Swimming Pool and Indoor Hot Tub Views from the Fabulous Outdoor Hot Tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Horse Mill Cottage (left) and The Old Cart House (right)
Heated Indoor Swimming Pool and Indoor Hot Tub
Views from the Fabulous Outdoor Hot Tub
Games Room and Gym
Tennis Court
Children's Play Area
Horse Mill Cottage Kitchen/Dining Area
Horse Mill Cottage Sitting Room
The Old Cart House Sitting Room
The Old Cart House Kitchen
The Old Cart House Dining Area
The Old Stables Open Plan Living Area/Kitchen Dining Room
The Old Stables Kitchen
Horse Mill Cottage Main Bedroom with King Size Bed
Horse Mill Cottage Main Bedroom Ensuite
The Old Cart House Main Bedroom with King Size Bed
The Old Stables Main Bedroom with King Size 4 Poster Bed
Horse Mill Cottage Double Bedroom
The Old Stables Twin Bedroom
Horse Mill Cottage Garden & Patio
The Old Cart House Garden Views
Forestry Walks from the Doorstep
Surrounding Countryside
Winter Wonderland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
7 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Auchtermuchty, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Terry S
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Family time.”
Reviewed 25 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

On arrival at newhill farm the first appearance is excellent, all very clean and tidy, great parking facilities for several cars and all close to the houses,so you don't have to lug your heavy bags far to your accommodation.
From the point you open the front door anyone would be more than happy with what you find, everywhere is exceptionally well appointed and very clean. The kitchen has way more than you would expect from a holiday let a very utensil you could imagine, loads of cupboard space and plenty of space for the whole family to congregate around the kitchen dining table, there's a dishwasher, washing machine, and tumble dryer and a good sized ovan to name a few appliances on offer.
The lounge is very cosy with its open fire and lovely comfy sofa's,
Upstairs you'll find 3 very nice bedrooms and a good sized bathroom, the master bedroom does have its own bathroom so everyone get ready at once which is great .
Outside there is a good sized indoor pool and an indoor jacuzzi which is great on a chilly day
We particularly enjoyed the outdoor hot tub in the evening while watching the stars with a glass or 2!
The recent addition of a tennis court is extremely good even for a non tennis player like me.
The indoor games room/gym is fab for evening entertainment for the family or on wet days.
There's plenty of great walks on the doorstep in Pitmedden woods which is also grest for mountain biking.The houses are pet friendly we took our 2 dogs who also had a great time. it's an excellent place to unwind and I'd highly recommended this place to anyone,
Kate and Ian are fantastic host's , nothing is a trouble should you need any help.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2017
Thank you for your kind comments. We're really pleased that your stay with us was so enjoyable and it was a pleasure to meet you all.
Kate & Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Absolutely stunningly beautiful well appointed cottages created with convenience and comfort in mind. The superb leisure facilities which include pool, jacuzzi, hot tub and games room make this place perfect. The setting of the cottages surrounded by hills with plenty of nearby walks are great if your taking your four legged friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
We're delighted that you and your family have enjoyed staying with us at Newhill Farm Cottages. Some beautiful September weather has certainly been a bonus for you to enjoy the facilities and to appreciate the gorgeous countryside round about. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon. Kate & Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitches
aberdeen scotland
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage and setting”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a wonderful holiday, cottage is lovely, spacious and well thought out.
It's in a stunning location with a forest on the door step.
We made use of all the excellent facilities and our dog enjoyed lots of walks in the woods.
We visited the lovely town of Falkland, Kinross, Loch Leven and Loch Ore.
Had a tasty takeaway from Raj Mahal in Kinross and the chipper in Auchtermuchty is good too.
We had one meal out with our dog at the Strathtavern in Strathmiglo, home made and really tasty.
Highly recommend the cottage and area and hope to return very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Standard of cottage
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments about your holiday at The Old Cart House. We're delighted that everything was such a success and also that you enjoyed the local area so much. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back another time.
Kate and Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsM511
Gordon, Scottish Borders
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“First family holiday”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our first family holiday at the Old Stables cottage. The place was immaculate and I can't think of anything that we felt hadn't been provided or thought of.
We all enjoyed the pool and games room. The fantastic weather meant we were able to enjoy lots of time in the garden and investigating the surrounding area on walks.
One tiny thing I might suggest is a baby swing in the play park.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for staying with us for your first family holiday. We're happy that everything was perfect, even the weather! Many thanks for your suggestion - we always like to try and add any improvements where we can. It would be lovely to see you again another time.
Kate & Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris T
Larkhall
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Will definitely be back!”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

What a great place! Kate was very welcoming when we arrived and the facilities here were brilliant. We were never bored: Pool, hot tub, tennis, games room and we were only 35 minute drive to Craigtoun Country park which was great for the kids, and adults .

We will definitely be back. Thanks for having us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
We're very pleased that your stay here was so enjoyable. Some wonderful sunny Scottish weather was certainly a bonus! We hope to see you all again soon. Kate & Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen m
Kirknewton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We are just back from this amazing holiday rental. It was my Husbands 60th Birthday so all family and dog came along. we booked all 3 cottages and I can't praise it enough. the cottages had everything you need including complimentary bottle of wine milk tea and coffee and many more handy extras. Kate (the owner) greeted us to make sure everything was as we wanted it. The swimming pool, outdoor hot tub, Jacuzzi tennis court and games room were perfect and so clean. The age group in our party ranged from 5 years old to 90 years old each decade covered and every one stated it was a perfect holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hot Tub
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2016
We're delighted that your birthday celebrations were such a success. It was lovely to meet you all and thank you for taking the time to write such kind comments. We hope to see you again another time.
Kate & Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carole d
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“5 Star cottages”
Reviewed 13 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The 3 cottages are stunning and the pool is the cleanest I've ever seen. The pool. outdoor hot tub and games room is first class . We had a great time didn't go out as we had plenty to do. Could fault anything .
Can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing