We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A gem of a place with everything you could...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hot Tub Holidays

Outside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside
Hot Tub Double
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Outside
Hot Tub
Double
Lounge
Kitchen
Bathroom
Infrared Sauna
Twin
Single Room
Hot Tub in the Snow
Hot Tub in the Snow
West Cottage in the Snow
West Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Auchtermuchty, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
vicks27
somerset uk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A gem of a place with everything you could possible need for a relaxing stay!”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I stayed here for a week with my two children whilst visiting family around Scotland and wow, what a place! Being self catering, it had everything you could possibly need and more, the lovely owners (who gave us a very warm welcome!) have possibly thought of everything and it is amazingly equipped! Easy to use laundry room with washing machine and condenser dryer, a dishwasher and unlimited amount of towels (which you do need if using the hot tub on a daily basis) and also the fact that the hot tub is sheltered leads to the wow factor! I also noted that there was a high chair to use in the games room if you were travelling with toddlers. There is lots of space and the hot tub is amazing and the surroundings are peaceful. The children were never bored with the games room! We will definitely be back! Thanks for a lovely stay!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for taking time to write this review, we are just glad you enjoyed your stay. You will be most welcome any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amy r
County Wicklow, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic break in beautiful quiet spot.”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Stayed for one week with my husband and two children. The cottage is lovely with lots of lovley little touches. It has everything you could need. Kitchen has equipment. There is a washer and dryer, two w/c, hot tub (which was well used by all the family!), suana, games room (including table football, games, rackets, Frisbee), garden for the children to play in and a hobby farm that has alpacas, pigs and sheep.

Cottage set in a very beautiful area and really does have that 'getaway from it all feel'. There's a nice place to eat in the village called cycle tavern. Nice and friendly and were happy to accomate the children.

The deer centre is 15 mins drive away and is well worth a visit. There is an outdoor swimming pool in Perth (about 20 min drive) which is great for kids. Inside there are slides and toddler splash area. My 13 yr old loved the big slides. There is a cafe and free parking.

We also headed to Edinburgh for the day. We drove to a park and ride and got the tram in. Does take longer to get in but saves trying to park in the centre and you can buy a family pass and hop on and off trams or buses throughout the city.

Overall I would recommend this cottage to families or couple's. Would come again as the owner's are very friendly and genuine, cottage is lovely and area is beautiful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Glad you enjoyed your stay thank you for the review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
argyllDun...
dunoon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Fantastic six days away, recovering from illnesses. Much needed Patrick and Margaret were great. Boys loved the hot tub and spa and mountain biking and going fishing. Will be back.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2015
Thank you for your comments, glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magsmum
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5th return trip - what better recommendation!”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Once again we enjoyed the respite and the luxury spa facilities at Pitmedden after the Christmas and New Year bustle. The huge hot tub was the perfect prescription for a warm and relaxing recovery from the seasonal viruses, and although the weather wasn't kind enough for our usual forest walks, we were also a feeling bit "under the weather" so were pleased to just relax and recuperate in comfort! As always Patrick and Margaret attend to every detail and the cottage and spa facilities are immaculate. The new extension which provides a utility /washing /drying area and additional WC are a great addition to the cottage and the resulting extra kitchen storage is an all round winner. We found that the wifi signal can be accessed better from the dining table and were able to download newspaper, emails etc.
The vista looking up the valley is still beautiful even with the drifting January sleet! We look forward to our sixth visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: The winter storm!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2015
Thank you for the wonderful review, again.
Visitors like you are especially welcome
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison F
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday Home”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

The house is very well equipped. Hot tub is amazing. Farm situated in a beautiful spot. Very cosy, fantastic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hot Tub
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2015
Glad you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiquidMoo...
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wondeful relaxing break!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I stayed at the cottage recently with my wife and we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The cottage was easy to find with our sat-nav which was a relief.
We received a friendly welcome from the owners and had a short but informative tour of the cottage, sauna and the hot-tub.
The cottage is lovely inside, modern and bright but very cosy in the evening.
The hot-tub is fantastic, very easy to use and super relaxing.
The surrounding area is beautiful, the road is very quiet so we walked down to the small hobby farm nearby and saw the animals, sheep, horses, alpacas and many others!
It was also possible to walk further around the area without needing to drive which is great.
The only small negative point was that the wi-fi had quite poor reception and was sometimes unusable, but there was so much else to do we really didn't care.
All in all we agreed this was a fantastic break, excellent value for money considering the 24/7 private use of the hot-tub and the beautiful scenery, we absolutely cannot wait to stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Wi-fi didn't work very well at all but we didn't really need it. Lots of other things to do!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2015
Thanks for review glad you enjoyed yourselves.
Re WIFI there is now a booster to improve coverage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magsmum
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thinking of moving in,”
Reviewed 23 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We have just had our fourth mid week break at this lovely hideaway and it never disappoints! We enjoyed lots more forest walks and again were rewarded when we walked up West Lomond with a view from the snow peaked Grampians in the north to the Bass rock and Arthur's seat in the south. It was amazing to see the Forth and the Tay at the same time. Call in at the Pillars of Hercules organic farm shop and cafe for a lovely warming veggie meal or soup afterwards....delicious!
Early Morning peace and yoga stretches are such a treat in the warmth of the hot tub, in the company of the little robin who comes to watch me......as is a pre-dinner soak after a day out.
We had a day walking along the length of the beach at St Andrews as far as Leuchie Air base and watched the jet fighters doing training manoeuvres. There is a lovely rustic cafe the top of North Street called North Point cafe for lunch but it seems to close mid afternoon so go before 3pm.

Margaret and Patrick the owners are so lovely and will attend to every detail to make your stay enjoyable and make you feel so welcome. You will love your time at Pitmedden. It just goes too quickly!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2014
Thank you for the review (again). You are perfect visitors and always very welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing